We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cacao

Cacao
Calzada de los Frailes o calle 41 a X 48 esquina sisal, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
985 856 0833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Activities in Valladolid
Type: Factory Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are the only chocolate factory in the entire state of yucatan who rescue the mayan traditions of the cacao is for us an effort to be show to the people who visit us, and we are glad to share with them how cacao is convert in chocolate in a natural organic way. we give a free tour and free degustation.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

When you walk through the avenue of the friars (well worth it), chances are large that some friendly people ask you to join a small tour about chocolate and cacao . Go for it!
We learned a lot (and I am Belgian ;)), got a spontaneous guide, tried a lot of flavors and although he was a bit sad, we were not pushed to buy something. Prices are affordable if you keep in mind that it is artisanal. Ooh, a bit further you can also get a free tequila tour...

Always nice when these encounters happen...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Found this by accident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband, daughter and I were looking for a restaurant and saw this place. A young guy outside invited us to take a tour, so we told him we'd return after dinner. Dinner over, we returned and had a most interesting tour of the small facility. He offered us samples of every flavor they produce - which were excellent and we each had our favorites. There was really no pressure to buy, but the prices seemed fair and the products unique. We ended up with three different chocolate boxes and some chocolate conditioner too! Well worth the half hour we spent there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen, NH
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Tasty Diversion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

If you are wandering the lovely Avenue of the Friars in Valladolid, it will be worth your while to stop in to Cacao for an interesting short tour describing the process of making chocolate in the Yucatan. As a bonus, you will also get to sample the various chocolates made here. They even make a chocolate shampoo (the ultimate for chocolate lovers). The pleasant and friendly staff will answer any questions you may have about their operation.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of many charms in Valladolid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stumbled upon Cacao accidentally on my way back from Catedral San Bernardino. It is really easy to find and worth the walk, which is very pleasant anyway. Our guide was very personable and made the tour fun for my young daughters. We really learned a lot and enjoyed tasting the different flavors of chocolate made in the traditional Mayan way. The tour is free! No pressure to buy anything but, of course, we did. The chocolate is sooooo good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mexican chocolate is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Ariadna, our wonderful tour guide, we had a great experience at Cacao. It's a small chocolate museum and factory- they hand grind all the cocoa nibs into amazing (although rustic) candy.

A must when visiting Valladolid- a cute, quick detour that is totally worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cacao also viewed

 

Been to Cacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.