We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enthusiastic Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cacao

Cacao
Calzada de los Frailes o calle 41 a X 48 esquina sisal, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
985 856 0833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Activities in Valladolid
Type: Factory Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are the only chocolate factory in the entire state of yucatan who rescue the mayan traditions of the cacao is for us an effort to be show to the people who visit us, and we are glad to share with them how cacao is convert in chocolate in a natural organic way. we give a free tour and free degustation.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Enthusiastic Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I visited this chocolate factory with a friend after reading about it in the recent New York Times article about Valladolid. We got an awesome enthusiastic tour with a guide who was eager to show off her (very good) English. It's clean and bright and full of interesting things. I bought some chocolate to take home, and some chocolate based shampoo, conditioner, and soap as well! A must-see if you are in Valladolid.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delightful and unusual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

At the end of a long day of touring Mayan ruins, we stopped here. It is a small (3 room) establishment, but the shop keeper gave us a lovely history of chocolate and a tasting of 10 different flavors. The beans are crushed on site and mixed with honey instead of sugar for a delightfully different taste.

My 10 year old son thought this was the highlight of the day - it was better than hot, Chichen Itza for him!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Small and simple shop with very friendly staff who explained the process of making chocolate and let us try lots of different flavours. Around the back they have a little cafe with hot and cold chocolate, ice creams etc. So much better than supermarket hot chocolate!!
We were there with our 3 young children who were entertained by wooden games while we chatted to the owner's sister.

Cannot recommend this place enough. It is small but definitely worth a visit. We bought chocolate with cinnamon and 2 bottles of chocolate shampoo!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
“back to nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I were delighted to find this amazing chocolate store! We looked for a while as it was easy to pass by. The store was just being created and signs posted, the paint was still almost wet. A very friendly couple Astrid and Patrick who own the business, were so happy to show us around and take us behind the counter. We even had a chance to grate the cocoa beans and to hear the little lecture on the origins of cacao and it's history. Very interesting! Astrid and Patrick invited us to come the following day at 10 AM for an ice cold chocolate drink. Since the outside temperature at that time was about 85-90F with 85% humidity, you can only imagine how we welcomed this idea. Promptly at 10 AM the next day we were very enthusiastically greeted by Astrid and Patrick and we were handed two cups of the most delicious chocolate, ice cold as promised. We became great fans of this splendid idea of bringing back the ancient Mayan tradition and educating people about it. We will be back one day!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cacao also viewed

 

Been to Cacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.