We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, simple, clean. Perfect for my needs.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of hotel colonial la aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added hotel colonial la aurora to your Saves list
hotel colonial la aurora
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   42 # 192 x 35 y 37 col. candelaria, Valladolid 97780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Valladolid
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, simple, clean. Perfect for my needs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, perfect for my needs which were: quiet, close to bus station, clean. The staff was friendly, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean and came with AC, a fan, TV and a safe. Even tho' it overlooked the pool, it was quiet. I never heard any noise from the street, nor from the town square which was hosting a huge (and very loud) festival. They let me check in early, but even if my room hadn't been ready it looked like they had a place to store luggage.

I knew i wouldn't be spending much time at the hotel so i didn't care about extras like pools, courtyards, decor. That said, the pool and courtyard looked great- I would have been fine hanging out there for a few hours. Less so the room. It was perfectly fine, but basic and a bit dim due to just one window that overlooked a shaded courtyard.

i spent a long time deliberating between a place like the Colonial la Aura or a place like the Casa Tia Micha (more $$ but absolutely beautiful grounds- i didn't see any of the rooms, so can't comment on them). In the end, i decided on the budget option and was very happy. I spent some of the money saved on dinner at Taberna de los Frailes (yum!).

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor and a few rooms in from the street (interior). Very quiet despite the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    131
    39
    7
    9
See reviews for
39
126
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the Mexican January holiday time.

The hotels location is excellent only 2 blocks from the main square.

It is set around a courtyard with pool in the centre. Which is open to the sky. Great for cooling off after a long day.

The rooms are nice with AC, tv and 2 double beds. Clean bathrooms and balconies to half of them

There is also a roof top deck with bar , jacuzzi, and seats.

They don't serve breakfast here but that doesn't matter as plenty of places to go.

We only paid £30, $50 a night a real bargain

Ideal location for chitzen , cenotes , coba.

Worth a couple of nights of experience this gorgeous colonial town

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Reasonably priced, modest, comfortable, reasonably hospitable. Nothing fancy, but clean and workable. Nice indoor pool So-so as far English skills, but heh, it's a Spanish-speaking pays, no? Close to Iglesias. No real complaints.

Room Tip: We didn't order room service, but I can't figure out how to uncheck that rating. They servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel was conveniently located. The rooms were clean with pretty sinks in the bathroom. There is a nice area on the roof with two small pools and a sitting area. It was a bit noisy at night, primarily because of the chickens in a coop right nearby. There is a small parking lot right next to the hotel. No breakfast was included, but the hotel recommended a good place on the nearby square.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FLorida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is the best hotel I stayed at while on my Yukatan trip. You will get good value for the money, rooms are very clean, maid is super and does a great job (she also makes animals out of towels for you, charming). Reception staff is very helpful. Ask and they will make it happen. Breakfast not included; no free drinking water.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street (with balconies) are noisy. At night it's quiet. There is no traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We end up at this hotel because we heard about it from other travellers. The place look very nice a first sight. Price is 500$ pesos/night. The place is a two stages square with all the room around the pool. Mean the place is echo and seems to be crowded by a bunch of local talking very loud, having a drink and jump loudly in the pool till late. They finally stop around eleven pm and we can get some rest on our rocky mattress bed.

The next morning, the room just above ours has to be repair so they start kicking our ceiling with a hammer and cutting some stone with a buffer. All day long... We decide to quit the hotel for another one. I can understand that some maintenance as to be done but guys, don't put us in the room just below. And by the way, it could be professional to advise your customer about what you are going to do. At least, we could take a decision knowing all the fact. A discount can be proposed in this situation. Moreover your coffee next to the pool is terrible. Don't offer this crap to your customers, it's a shame!
I understand the situation is unusual and maybe we had a bad luck on this one, the place is not so bad, free parking, great location and the crew is polite but we will not return to this hotel. Adios!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived without a reservation, and were able to secure a room after a few minutes of discussion. This isn't a high end hotel, but the price seemed reasonably fair. The room was pretty basic, and really could have used a better cleaning prior to our checkin. The prior occupant had long black hair -- I know this because it was still on the pillow. The air conditioning worked, and the bathroom was relatively modern. Never got hot water, but didn't try for very long. Got a decent night's rest, and that was worth the price. There are other hotels in this price point within a couple blocks walk, I'll probably try one of those instead next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to hotel colonial la aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotel colonial la aurora

Address: 42 # 192 x 35 y 37 col. candelaria, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — hotel colonial la aurora 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your hotel colonial la aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonial La Aurora Hotel Valladolid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage hotel colonial la aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.