We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avarage Mexican town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Valladolid

Valladolid
Calle 40 #200, Centro Historico, Valladolid, Mexico
9858562529
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Attractions in Valladolid
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: t: Valladolid, colorful and safe colonial city, where yucatecan gastronomy was born and the Mayan culture is still alive. Is located in the east side of Yucatan, between Merida and Cancun. Ideal place to visit archeological sites like Chichén Itzá (New 7 wonders) at 50Km, Ek-Balam at 27km and Coba at 60km. Also you can visit natural reserves like the Biosphere of Ría Lagartos, to observe flamingos and birds; and Punta Laguna sanctuary of spider monkey.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“avarage Mexican town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

i would stop only in order to arrive early to Chichen-Itza. Not much to see, not good restaurants. Stay at the center of town

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    221
    71
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Such serenity!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

As part of our tour this was a great place to visit we were driven to the centre with our tour guide Jerry. We had a whistle-stop tour of the place, from an old hand-made leather shop to the town hall and a renovated house turned restaurant. Good to see the difference of Spanish influence as opposed to typical Mexican town. Steeped in history and had to buy some hand made leather sandles from the shop! It is vastly different from Cancun's wealth as this is the real type of Mexico to experience! We loved the experience!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spanish colonial city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We visited on the way to Chichen Itza, but plan to go back and stay for a few days. What a great town with really friendly people. Beautiful churches, good shopping. We can't wait to go back and explore more of this lovely place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful, small town feel, friendly people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I really liked visiting places nearby and hanging out in the plaza at night eating a markecita and maybe a corn on the cob.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“very old city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

very hot as usual in Mexico, but it's a hold historic city with Maya website very close.
It's a nice stop on the road between Cancun and Merida

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valladolid also viewed

 
Valladolid, Yucatan
Valladolid, Yucatan
 

Been to Valladolid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valladolid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.