We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious mayan fusion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taberna de los Frailes

Taberna de los Frailes
Calle 49 #235 | Next to the Convent of San Bernardino de Siena, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
+52 985 856 0689
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 45 restaurants in Valladolid
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Calzada de los Frailes y el Convento de San Bernardino de Siena
Description:    Overlooking the ancient stonework of the Convent of San Bernardino de Siena dating to 1552, one of the most important structures of colonial Mexico, Taberna de los Frailes sits exactly above Cenote SisHa, the most historic Cenote of Yucatan.   It is precisely this truly privileged location which forms the basis for a exceptional culinary and cultural experience.   Rare ingredients of traditional Maya cuisine and secret recipes of Yucatecan Colonial origin form the heart of our contemporary fusion dishes. We invite you to come and give us a try, because after all, it will be your palate, your sense of beauty and your appreciation of history that will decide. No Pets. Non smoking area.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“delicious mayan fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

the menu based on Mayan recipes and ingredients was very impressive. Staff's English is limited, but menu is bi-lingual. service & ambiance excellent. Entree Shrimp al pastor was interesting combination of shrimp in a light sauce over a slice of grilled pineapple, the appetizer of cheese sandwiched between grilled slices of watermelon with pumpkin puree sauce were particular standouts.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    187
    53
    18
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Extremely pleasant meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice setting, right next to the ex-convent of San Bernardino de Siena. Good, creative menu. Attentive service. We loved the risotto, the Maya snapper, the tamales, and the sopa de lima. The tables are set under a palapa in a pretty garden. The restaurant has its own parking. Make sure to step into the convent for a short visit after your midday meal!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited this restaurant on a recommendation from Denis Larsen at Casa Hamaca and also on the advice of trip advisor reviews. Even after reading the positive reviews it surpassed my expectations. Some of the reviews mentioned that it was hard to find and I found that to not be the case. Because of the street numbering system in Valladolid nothing is hard to find. We drove there from the Casa Hamaca in about 7 minutes - very easy. If you go and find the restaurant nearly empty (as we did), do not take that as an indicator of quality. This place is exceptional and I only hope it will still be operating the next time we are in Valladolid.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Among the best in the Yucatan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The manager who spoke very good English guided us towards the right wine for our meal. The starters were superb, freshly prepared, professionally served and beyond our expectations. The main courses were generous, seasoned to reflect Mayan cuisine. The open dining room was set like a first class restaurant. Our best dining experience in the Yucatan.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of Valladolid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This was an incredible experience, some of the best food and best service of our trip so far. The atmosphere is superb. It is a little pricey but for the quality of the food and service it seems cheap. I highly recommend this little gem!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna de los Frailes also viewed

 

Been to Taberna de los Frailes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taberna de los Frailes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.