We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“William (the younger]” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Uxmal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Uxmal to your Saves list
The Lodge at Uxmal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   In the heart of the archaeological park of Uxmal, Uxmal 99844, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“William (the younger]”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

4 excellent nights spent in this hotel which was placed in walking distance to the historic Mayan temple at Uzmal was made more wonderful and charming by the staff.
William along with Freddy and Oscar, along with everyone of the hotel staff, they were always smiling, always attentative, produced beautiful and appetizing food.
Well done William and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    62
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
50
112
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a wonderful 4 days there while we visited various Mayan sites. The food was excellent as was the service. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful especially William, who treated us like royalty.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were booked into a sister hotel but were moved to this one when we arrived and were a little worried. This turned out to be a great hotel with lots of character and all the amenities just a couple stones throw from the ruins. The A/C in our room had been well used and is due to be replaced but it did the job a little noisier than we would have liked. We thought the netting over the beds was very quaint and tropical not realizing that it is also very functional as we found out. From the veranda outside the room you get a good view of the gardens, pool and restaurant. We thought the thatched roof really added to the charm. The beds were comfortable and for the most part clean. My wife, however, found some droppings in her bed and our travel partners said they had the same also. The staff acted quickly and stripped the beds advising us that they did have a persistent "bat" problem. With netting over the beds, we're unclear how it could be bats. The restaurant under an open palapa was clean and the food excellent and the service great. This hotel is not wheelchair friendly and there are no elevators. The bellmen are happy to lug your bags up and down the many stairs but one of our party has a slight disability and struggled to manage all the stairs. The manager paid us a visit at breakfast and invited us to see a traditional Mayan kitchen a short walk from the reception area where we were treated to tortilla's that we made ourselves with the assistance of a Mayan lady who was in charge of the little kitchen and a fruit drink while we were given a little tour and explanation of how life was. Regardless of the "bat" problem, I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation but I would stay on the bottom floor that has a wooden ceiling instead of a grass thatched roof. It's hard to tell what critters are living up there.

Room Tip: Take a room on the bottom floor or any room that doesn't have a thatched roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Gracias. The Lodge is an inspiration of old Yucatan, With its ample corridors and open verandahs it truly respects our environment and welcomes visitors to enjoy our surroundings in a unique way.
I am personally grateful for your comment. A friend of yours was not so kind. Although our manager, Bersain, went out of his way to please her and her husband, regarding the incident with an animal they never saw in their room. We look forward to having you with us again. Until then, safe and happy travels !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umatilla, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The lodge at Uxmal was a wonderful surprise, not only was it very tropical and oh so beautiful but it has Pedro the head waiter. This man really made our vacation one to remember. His table side food prep was a work of art. (and yummy) We loved the whole Yucatan experience very quiet and peaceful. I hope we can go back someday and hope Pedro is still there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Your comment is a delight ! You are so right !! Yes it is all about our people.
Our location is the endowment from having had this property for 340 years in our family... but the people ! They are everything to us !! Yes, we are blest with their company. We all look forward to your return! Muchas Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were sent here to stay as the Hacienda (as well as nearby Villa Arqueologica) was closed. They did honor our lower reservation price with the Hacienda. The layout is nice, pool great, location can't be beat. We stayed 2 nights. Our air conditioning never worked and apparently they were unable to repair it. We had no hot water the second night, and actually had no water at all for a while. As opposed to every other hotel during our 3 week trip, drinking water was not supplied for free. There were bottles for sale for 35 pesos (about $3) per 600 ml. The restaurant food, the only place to eat, was adequate and very expensive. Unfortunately, there is not really another choice to stay if you want to be near the ruins. If we had had to pay their going rate, I would have been even more irritated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
How sad that we were unable to please you... We gave you an upgrade... not satisfied...
Though the room you stayed in cost 3 + times what you paid for the original room... you still rate our value as very poor...
Yes, our neighboring hotels all went bankrupt. The Mission, a couple of years ago. The Villas, 5 months ago... Our rates are similar to what they were 16 years ago. We have not raise them a penny. Though times ! Made extremely though by clients that no matter what upgrades and considerations they receive are still considering our efforts of little or no value. Miserable.
Thank god we have clients that truly appreciate the effort, as reflected on comments that predate and postdate yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Being on the one week 'Yucatan Explorer' holiday we didn't actually stay here (were in the Hacienda opposite) but did have two lunches in the restaurant. William, our waiter was excellent. When he heard we were vegetarian, he arranged with the chef something special to be cooked for us. We are most grateful to him and the chef for this. Food was good and tasty, the staff very helpful and the setting overlooking the ancient site a most pleasant one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
What a great comment ! Thank you so much for sharing it with the world!
Yes, we are blessed by the company we keep... Kind and gentle, happy and laborious collaborators! We look forward to having you back with us ! Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Similar to other reviewers we got upgraded from the Hacienda Hotel to here as low season .
We only stayed one night to see the ruins with the excellent hotel guide Jorge.
The hotel ,at the entrance to the archeological site , could not be in a better position and we had a enjoyable stay there with good service and food.
In saying this if we had paid the full Lodge price I think we would have been disappointed as the rooms (especially bathroom) could do with an update ,a non functioning tv and a few minor quibbles on general maintenance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! Yes, we are honored to be in the location the we are... thanks to our ancestors, who bought these lands over 339 years ago!

The Lodge at Uxmal is on the original grounds of the Old Hacienda Uxmal, dating back to 1673, thus it's unbeatable location!

We look forward to being of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Uxmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Uxmal

Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Uxmal, Uxmal 99844, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Uxmal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Uxmal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest, most luxurious and best located of all Uxmal hotels, right across the main pyramids and entrance to the Temples at Uxmal. The Lodge at Uxmal features rooms distributed among five, two story bungalows built with materials native to the region. They overlook a central courtyards that incorporate and two large swimming pools rimmed with sun beds. All accommodations have air conditioning, ceiling fans, servibars, SAT TV; Suites include private jacuzzis and king size beds. Some have Lofts. The Lodge is the perfect base for exploring the real Yucatan, It's living Maya villages, Caves, Colonial monasteries, cathedrals and convents, Cenotes, and Haciendas. Our neighboring, new Chocolate Museum at Uxmal is a short walk from our gardens. A nightly light and sound spectacle is featured inside the archeological park.Guests may enjoy access to all facilities at our neighboring sister property, The Hacienda Uxmal Plantation and Museum, and the miles of it's jogging, walking and horse back ridding trails & Free Temazcal Experience (reservation required). You may also enjoy Free access to the Hacienda's Gallery of Historical Events and Personalities that Enhanced Our Knowledge of Uxmal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Uxmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Uxmal Hotel Uxmal
Hotel Uxmal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Uxmal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.