We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not a great hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Uxmal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Uxmal to your Saves list
The Lodge at Uxmal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   In the heart of the archaeological park of Uxmal, Uxmal 99844, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, not a great hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were sent here to stay as the Hacienda (as well as nearby Villa Arqueologica) was closed. They did honor our lower reservation price with the Hacienda. The layout is nice, pool great, location can't be beat. We stayed 2 nights. Our air conditioning never worked and apparently they were unable to repair it. We had no hot water the second night, and actually had no water at all for a while. As opposed to every other hotel during our 3 week trip, drinking water was not supplied for free. There were bottles for sale for 35 pesos (about $3) per 600 ml. The restaurant food, the only place to eat, was adequate and very expensive. Unfortunately, there is not really another choice to stay if you want to be near the ruins. If we had had to pay their going rate, I would have been even more irritated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
How sad that we were unable to please you... We gave you an upgrade... not satisfied...
Though the room you stayed in cost 3 + times what you paid for the original room... you still rate our value as very poor...
Yes, our neighboring hotels all went bankrupt. The Mission, a couple of years ago. The Villas, 5 months ago... Our rates are similar to what they were 16 years ago. We have not raise them a penny. Though times ! Made extremely though by clients that no matter what upgrades and considerations they receive are still considering our efforts of little or no value. Miserable.
Thank god we have clients that truly appreciate the effort, as reflected on comments that predate and postdate yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    61
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
49
112
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Being on the one week 'Yucatan Explorer' holiday we didn't actually stay here (were in the Hacienda opposite) but did have two lunches in the restaurant. William, our waiter was excellent. When he heard we were vegetarian, he arranged with the chef something special to be cooked for us. We are most grateful to him and the chef for this. Food was good and tasty, the staff very helpful and the setting overlooking the ancient site a most pleasant one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
What a great comment ! Thank you so much for sharing it with the world!
Yes, we are blessed by the company we keep... Kind and gentle, happy and laborious collaborators! We look forward to having you back with us ! Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Similar to other reviewers we got upgraded from the Hacienda Hotel to here as low season .
We only stayed one night to see the ruins with the excellent hotel guide Jorge.
The hotel ,at the entrance to the archeological site , could not be in a better position and we had a enjoyable stay there with good service and food.
In saying this if we had paid the full Lodge price I think we would have been disappointed as the rooms (especially bathroom) could do with an update ,a non functioning tv and a few minor quibbles on general maintenance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! Yes, we are honored to be in the location the we are... thanks to our ancestors, who bought these lands over 339 years ago!

The Lodge at Uxmal is on the original grounds of the Old Hacienda Uxmal, dating back to 1673, thus it's unbeatable location!

We look forward to being of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Lodge in Uxmal, Yucatan.
Most guest are staying just one night, visit the piramid of Uxmal and move on to the next destination. It was so nice to stay longer in this hotel and visit more things in the area.
we went to 2 cenotes in San Antonio on the way to Merida. It was a incredible place. also we visit 3 cenotes in Cuzama, one of the most beautiful nature I have ever seen. we also visted the Cacao mueum, which was so well presented and interesting and the caves of Loltun.
There is so much to see around Uxmal. The lodge of Uxmal is an excellent hotel to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Although they are so used to cater for big groups, they are able to gives us excellcent personal service. Mr. William took so well care of us. we had a dinner in front of our room, on a beautiful terrace with a stunning view. It was so special !
I would highly recommend to stay a couple of nights at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for making our collaborators feel as special as they made you feel !

We are all blessed to work with such a fantastic group of people ! They are the best !

We look forward to being your host again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and was happy every second. Bersain, Julio, William ( just to mention a few) went out of their way to make my stay Perfecto! A special Gracias to Irma for my cooking class and to Margarita for finding my flag.
The most special part of my stay was a visit to Kabah. My guide was Carlos Solis. We spent a long time sitting at the top on a wall under a tree. The energy I felt will be in my heart forever.

Room Tip: I was in room 1-C. I had a hammock out front that overlooked the swimming pool and beautiful gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Perfecto! I s what we strive to provide... in service, comfort and your overall experience with us,
no,needless to say, we are delighted with you comment! We thank you much and relly look forward to your next visit. Until then, may you enjoy safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights as part of our 7 day Yucatan Explorer Tour. We had booked with The Lodge but others in our tour were upgraded from the Hacienda, (as other reviews have stated) so in turn they upgraded our rooms and from full board to all inclusive - and we couldn't have asked for better service!! I am easily disappointed normally but we couldn't fault the hotel on anything! I even borrowed 2 adapter plugs (one for our electric toothbrush as they didn't have a shaver point in our bathroom) and they didn't charge or take a holding deposit (which other hotels had done). On our last night we were treated to a private dinner on our balcony with the other couple that were upgraded with us. The table and chairs and all the food & wine were brought up to our balcony and Pedro cooked us amazing crepes for dessert - thanks Pedro. Special thanks to William (Will - I - am) who made us amazing Mojito cocktails, even though he wasn't a bar man any longer and looked after all our needs in the restaurant and didn't mind even when we asked to see all the different wines in the cabinets over the bar!!
I would recommend this hotel to anybody that wishes to travel to Uxmal and the local area, we were more than satisfied with our experience of The Lodge.

Room Tip: We had an end room which was slightly larger and had a super king sized bed which was overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review!
You state tat you looked for faults... and found none worth commenting on, that everything was to your liking... and really, that is what our goal is! To exceed your expectations with our service and facilities. Everyone you mentioned in your review is grateful and we all look forward to having you back to the Lodge at Uxmal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

While we didn't stay at The Lodge (we will next time), we did enjoy the beautiful pool and dining on the property. After a morning exploring the ruins, what a treat to walk next door to be greeted with a refreshing glass of chilled juice. Then to change clothes and swim in the beautiful pool followed up by a lovely lunch. The staff at the reception and the restaurant were so friendly and nice. Pedro took care of us both days that we enjoyed the restaurant and pool. Towels are available for a small fee at reception and the changing area is right next to the pool. We returned a second time after a day exploring the Ruta Puuc to the same level of service and friendliness by the staff. Cocktails and fresh guacamole poolside can't be beat. Staff showed me the rooms and they are very nice. Very large bathrooms. We shared a lovely conversation with Jorge, a guide at Uxmal and welcomed driving directions from another guide sitting at reception. The hospitality and setting can't be beat. We would definitely visit again and would stay at The Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
What a nice review!
All of us at The Lodge at Uxmal really look forward to hosting you and your family and friends in the near future. During your visit, we'll show you the Old Hacienda Uxmal, circa 1673, and the wonderful things we are doing in it's surroundings, as well as the NEW Choco Story Uxmal, a world class museum dedicated to chocolate/cacao that will enrich your vacation !
See you soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Uxmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Uxmal

Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Uxmal, Uxmal 99844, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Uxmal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Uxmal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest, most luxurious and best located of all Uxmal hotels, right across the main pyramids and entrance to the Temples at Uxmal. The Lodge at Uxmal features rooms distributed among five, two story bungalows built with materials native to the region. They overlook a central courtyards that incorporate and two large swimming pools rimmed with sun beds. All accommodations have air conditioning, ceiling fans, servibars, SAT TV; Suites include private jacuzzis and king size beds. Some have Lofts. The Lodge is the perfect base for exploring the real Yucatan, It's living Maya villages, Caves, Colonial monasteries, cathedrals and convents, Cenotes, and Haciendas. Our neighboring, new Chocolate Museum at Uxmal is a short walk from our gardens. A nightly light and sound spectacle is featured inside the archeological park.Guests may enjoy access to all facilities at our neighboring sister property, The Hacienda Uxmal Plantation and Museum, and the miles of it's jogging, walking and horse back ridding trails & Free Temazcal Experience (reservation required). You may also enjoy Free access to the Hacienda's Gallery of Historical Events and Personalities that Enhanced Our Knowledge of Uxmal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Uxmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Uxmal Hotel Uxmal
Hotel Uxmal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Uxmal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.