We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay at the Reef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reef Yucatan - All Inclusive & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Reef Yucatan - All Inclusive & Convention Center to your Saves list
Hotel Reef Yucatan - All Inclusive & Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 32 Carretera Progreso - Telchac Puerto, Telchac Puerto 97407, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Telchac Puerto
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at the Reef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

My two daughters and I spent 2 weeks in the Yucatan and the last 4 nights at the Reef Resort. We had a very busy vacation in Merida and Campeche and many points in between. The idea when we booked this hotel was to unwind for a few days at the beach before heading home. I can see why some would not like it here but for us it was perfect. Yes the resort is isolated but I did not want to go anywhere after all of our touring. The beach is almost deserted and since it was low season, there were very few people at the hotel. The ones that were there were mostly mexican families from Merida that gave me a great opportunity to practice my Spanish. ( Hola mi amiga Ally ) My 11 year old found the pool and childrens areas entertaining and we collected dozens of shells on the beach. The staff were great and I found the food to be very nice with a good variety at almost every meal. If you are looking to party the night away you should be 4 hours east of here at Cancun. If you are looking for tranquility, long uninterupted natural beaches, decent accomadations and friendly staff then this might be the place for you. P.S. I did find the wind too much the first day but on the rest it was better and if you spend early mornings on the beach when it is calm, you can always have a siesta in the afternoon when it picks up.

  • Liked — Remote beach with all inclusive conveniences
  • Disliked — Had to pay $5 U.S. for 1 hour internet acess
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    27
    17
    11
See reviews for
30
26
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan Ontario
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

I went with my boyfriend back in January 2007. I would go back, especially for the money we paid. The real great thing was the staff - extreamly outgoing and friendly. We even got a towel folded animal every day we were there! The food is fantastic (very Mexican - not for those on the "ZONE" diet). The not so good part of this resort, is the beach and the water. Lots of shells and seaweed. The water is not clear. But you can tan by the pool - which on hot days, is rather nice actually. The water by the beach is not recomended if you want to do water sports. the resort is highly recommended if you just want to sit around, take a few trips (which are endless if you do it right), and just RELAX! Not for those wanting a club scene, or many other singles. You are better off going to Cancun if you are in Mexico. But I loved Reef Club Yucatan Hotel and Spa Resort. The drinks were great - we got wasted a lot. The main secret for this place to remember is to tip. And tip a lot. Not like $10 each time - but $3 day or so, $1 each time you go to eat, and a couple of bucks to the bartenders - then you won't get the watered downed drinks. The night entertainment is not that great until the last night...then it is pretty cool. The shopping trips are a must, and don't forget to haggle - it's fun actually. With this resort you go to this place to relax, get absorbed in Mayan Culture, survey the abandonned hotels next door, tan by the pool and if you are as lucky as we were, meet some great people!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2007

The Reef Yucatan it is not to be recommended except to your worse enemies. We got a great beach front room, large, with a veranda, AC, 2 double beds, and the employees were invariably courteous and helpful.
However, the place has 2 big problems: first, the wind, that increases during the day , reaching hurricane speed around 4-5pm, and only abates in the evening. So the beach is an option only in the morning, otherwise one gets sandblasted. Secondly, and worse, it is not only a hotel, but also a beach club. Anyone can pay a fee and spend the day. So, at 9 am every day, 10-15 buses arrive and disgorge dozens of day-trippers at the entrance, and the hotel turns on the very loud loudspeakers by the pool. Mayhem ensues. The music is elderly-e.g. Petula Clark's "Downtown", The Village People's "YMCA", BeeGees- and deafening. The day-trippers are either loud spring break kids from the US or equally loud local families. The food is bland and generic buffet fare -almost nothing local-, except for the excellent fruits, and the all-included drinks, as well as the coffee, are watered down. At least the beer is not adulterated.
Fortunately we had rented a car, so we left the hotel after breakfast, did lots of quiet tourism on our own, ate delicious food along the coast, and returned only after the hordes were gone.

  • Liked — courteous and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

Despite reading reviews prior to our departure, we had an excellent experience at the Reef. Staff was amazing as far as going out of their way to please. Took three tours from the Reef and they were all very good experiences. Beach was beautiful & easy to walk as it was firm sand. Would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2007

We have stayed at this resort twice. Once just my husband and I and once with our 6 year old son. Both times we had a great time! Keep in mind this is not a resort for those who are beach people. The ocean is not crystal clear but the sand is beautiful and white. My family spent most of our vacation on the go. The Cenote (underwater caves) trip was by far the best! You can swim in crystal clear water. Just getting to the cenotes if half the fun. You are taken to the cenotes by antique wooden buggy type cart pulled by a horse. It's about an 1/2 trip into the woods but you are rewarded by a refreshing swim in three different cenotes. What a great day!
When you first get to the hotel make sure you book a car for a few days. The resort is in a remote area and a 1/2 hour car ride to Progreso (which is a nice small town that the cruise ships come into port 2 times a week). Back to the cenote trip, you really got to hook up with Manuel, Noel and Oscar, they run a home grown tour group that run out of the hotel "La Iguana Maya Tours" these guys are fantasic. They will show you true Mexico. Tell them Kim send you, lol. They took me fishing too.
Anyhow, on our rented car we put over 700km on it and went everywhere. We saw ruins, Loltun Caves, small villages and felt very safe. The people in this area of Mexico are very friendly. They do not speak much English in this area which is half the fun. We came knowning just where we wanted to go. Had lots of maps and started early in the morning out on our adventures.
The hotel itself is very nice, service is fantasic! Many people both times when we were there did not like how remote the resort is and the ocean but if you want to see true Mexico this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Seeing true Mexico
  • Disliked — Ocean is not crystal clear but sand is nice.
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago/suburbs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2007

We went there to get away from it all and we found exactly what we wanted.
You can't beat the views ,streches of unspoiled beaches or the personalized, friendly service
They go out of their way to please their guests.

If you like fighting crowds on the beach and spending tons of money on overpriced souvenirs makes you feel like wealthy Gringo - this is not the place for you.
If you got spoiled kids that can't entertain themselves and constantly whine that they are bored - this is not the place for you.
If you are afraid of pool water that is a touch cooler than a bathtub - this is not the place for you.
If you are used / or pretend that you are/ to dine on caviar and champagne - don't go. Their food is just regular food ,buffet or a'la carte , with local twist to all the dishes.
So if you don't like Mexican food - this is not the place for you.

Better yet - don't go there at all !!!
We want to be sure that the next time we go they will have a room for us .

  • Liked — Views,service,friendly helpful management
  • Disliked — Having to pay for Inernet use
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington,Ont.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

HAHA,its Dave, I was the guy that was taking the pictures of all 27 of you guys before you left,glad you had fun.

Myself,wife and 6 year old son had a great 2 week holiday there dec.25-jan 8,very relaxing.

Food was great,the best i've had at any all inclusive i've stayed in Mex.,Jamaica and of course Cuba, even better then most i ate in Waikiki,but not Maui....so that says alot about this place.

The staff and my wife hit it off well,she was even on the staff teams for sports and stuff,even greeting the new years eve crowd with the staff,tears when we left,those handfull of girls work hard there,but are always happy,Morales,Belanne,Fernanda,Sonya,Abby,JayZ,etc.. won't forget them

Weather was hot,the wind was a nice break actually.

Oceanview upgrade is cheap and highly recommended,we had to stay in a non oceanview on the first night and then switched,much better room as well as view.

The kids club is fantastic,my son had a great time hanging out there and let my wife and I relax,really great.

The only complaint i have is the main bar closing at 7pm,have not seen such before at a resort,poor Jose at the bar even compained with me as he said the tips were better then at the disco bar which he got switched over to after 7.

For the Cancun party crowd this is not the place,but for the crowd looking for a relaxing holiday with great food and a fantastic staff,you can't beat the reef yucatan,great holiday!

  • Liked — The staff and the food and the beer!
  • Disliked — The main bar closing at 7pm
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Reef Yucatan - All Inclusive & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reef Yucatan - All Inclusive & Convention Center

Address: Km 32 Carretera Progreso - Telchac Puerto, Telchac Puerto 97407, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Telchac Puerto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Telchac Puerto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Reef Yucatan - All Inclusive & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Reef Yucatan - All Inclusive & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef Yucatan - All Inclusive Telchac Puerto
Hotel Reef Yucatan - All Inclusive And Convention Center
Reef Hotel Yucatan Beach
Hotel Reef Yucatan - All Inclusive & Convention Center Mexico - Telchac Puerto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reef Yucatan - All Inclusive & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.