We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return trip even better than the 1st” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Beach Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mayan Beach Garden to your Saves list
Mayan Beach Garden
20.5 km N Camino Costera | Mahahual-Uvero, Mahahual 77940, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 19 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bentonville, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Return trip even better than the 1st”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

MBG is quite simply on a par with the best hotels anywhere. The accomodations are superb, the staff is efficient and courteous, and the food (and service) are top of the line. Be careful or Marcia and Kim will become close friends for a lifetime!

Room Tip: Suggest the second floor if available, overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
We just had a wonderful cooling squall come through and I ran out to experience it and I reflected on how beautiful the sea is. I know you love the same things that brought all of us here to this place. Its so lovely to be this close to nature and to see the starts at night with the naked eye. I think of you fondly and hope you can find a way to become our permanent neighbor. Until next time. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    20
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
143
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

As "newbies" to MBG we didn't know what to expect for our 4 night stay, but we've had good luck from Tripadvisor ratings before and that was enough for us. Marcia, Kim, and all the staff were outstanding. They went out of our way to learn our interests and do everything they could to make our stay memorable. Following their recommendations we headed north on the beach road to the tiny fishing village at Punta Herrero. Lots of wildife and endless beaches with nobody around. Another day we went south to the Mayan ruins of Kohunlich. Hardly anyone else there when we visited. Away from the tourist hordes which was exactly what we wanted.

Back at MBG we spent time in our 2nd story room on the balcony in the comfortable hammocks, reading and watching the pelicans float by in formation at very close range. It's nice to see 2 hammocks per room instead of just one that you find in most places. The extra touches in the spacious rooms were great also. Conch shell faucets and personalized tile work for example. In the main building Marcia's undersea mosaics made out of beachcombed footwear are another example of her artistic flair and talent.

Now to the food. Superb! Every dish was excellent and portions were enough to fill without overdoing it. Marcia made sure the dietary needs of one of us were looked after. Tequila night with Fernando was amazing! I learned a lot about Tequila and put that knowledge to good use later in our trip. If you go try to time your visit for Tequila night - you won't be disappointed.

The mote in God's eye is the garbage on the beaches. It's cleaned up in front of the MBG and Marcia hands out bags so guests can do their part. But it's a real shame that humans can't stop dumping their trash in the ocean. The more remote beaches are marred with windrows of plastic and other refuse. At least it's clean. Marcia said that garbage scientists come every few years to see where it all comes from, and Columbia is the main culprit. I look forward to the day when we all stop treating the earth like a dumping ground.

Our last accolade was the camraderie with the owners and the other guests especailly at mealtimes. We enjoy talking with fellow travellers and conversations were engaging and interesting. Bravo to places like MBG that deliberately set up their operation to encourage this. So much better than an impersonal hotel room.

Shuck your shoes and let the sand between your toes take over for good times at MBG.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have pelicans flying by at close range. I spent quite awhile trying to get a good ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
I loved this review - so accurate about the environment and location. I'm so glad you came our way. Its true about the plastic, it keeps coming up onto the beach. It is a never ending battle, but we'll continue the good fight, especially with help from great guests and a new international awareness. I also want to apologize for waiting until May to write a response to this wonderful review. Shame on me! Hope to see you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We just returned from our 6th year in a row @MBG; the experience just improves each time.
Marcia and Kim are always adding new dishes to their awesome menu, Martin has mastered the margarita, and Fernando took us to new heights in tequila tasting! On Marcia's recommendation, we went diving with Dr. Dive in Mahahual and were so happy we did. The reefs are in great shape, the water is clear and everyone is so eager to make your time with them perfect. We've already made our reservation for 2015.

Room Tip: We love the beach cabanas. Starry skies, inspiring sunrises, surf crashing on the beach. Heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
As always, we loved having you here. We have a special place in our hearts for some of out guests and you are way at the top. I loved snorkeling with you and taking you out to see the coral. Can't wait to do it with you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clawson, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We traveled north out Mahahual around February 18th on the bumpy but beautiful beach road-still better than some of the roads in Michigan. We did not have a reservation and had heard very nice things about small, intimate boutique resort right on the beach. We lucked out-there had been a cancellation-2 bedroom looking out on the beach and great front porch with hammocks. Excellent breakfast is included and Marcia and Kim go the extra to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Marcia helped my wife call our son in Michigan. Kim gave us insight from his extensive exploration of Mayan ruins. I was directed up the beach a bit where there was some very nice snorkeling just off the beach. My wife enjoyed playing in the waves out front of our room-water was very comfortable for her-near Akumal it is too cold for her. Stars at night were spectacular. Met some very nice people from U.S., Canada and Italy. Dinners were very good and reasonable-we had "small plates" one night prepared by Marcia and I had the best Ceviche ever. If you are looking to relax and enjoy the sea I highly recemmend this gem-all that we hoped for. Blake and Kathie

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know the things you enjoyed at Mayan Beach Garden. Comments like that help us to know that we are on the right track. I love your comments about the road - I know its rough, but I never get tired of driving it and looking at the stunning Caribbean during the journey. I'll pass your comments along to our staff, they will enjoy them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

All we have done for two days is sit in the sun, swim in the sea, walk along the beach and watch pelicans. We have a lovely airy room with a balcony, sea view and a beautiful mosaic bedhead that gave the room real style. We went for the meal plan option and have been delighted with every meal, especially Chris's veggie options, and have enjoyed eating 'en famille' for dinner, and chatting with other guests.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
I love the title of your review and I'm honored to be reviewed by someone who has actually written 164 reviews, I know what an art that is. It was such a pleasure to have you visit us and we hope at some point in the future our paths might cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

we arrived from the beach road to find an oasis on the beach run by Marcia and Kim. The rooms are divine, the food fabulous and the guests, many who return yearly to be friendly and good company. Awesome snorkeling and the reefs are in great shape. A wonderful place to return to over and over.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you and to all the wonderful Canadian guests who visited us this Winter. I know it was cold in Canada and I hope we brought some warmth to your life during your visit. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

A solo traveler looking for a remote inn surrounded by natural beauty and great snorkeling, I was so lucky to find the Mayan Beach Garden, where I stayed for almost four weeks during January/February 2014. I can’t thank the hosts and proprietors, Marcia and Kim, enough for providing me with such a wonderful experience. In need of checking out from the hustle and bustle of Chicago (and its harsh winter), I arrived to find what I would describe as the ideal traveler’s inn.

Having stayed in four of the rooms while there, I don’t think you can go wrong staying in any of them. They are quite comfortable—more than I would have expected for an inn located so remotely—and are kept tidy on a daily basis by the staff (all of whom were very friendly and happy to accommodate me). The rooms, like the property itself, are very well maintained, with Marcia’s artistic touches apparent in the hung artwork and room details.

Set on an expansive beach, the front of the inn provided me with opportunities to sip a tequila before dinner and watch the sun set (I suggest that tequila drinkers ask for Mayan Beach’s own-barreled tequila—it was very good). Meal times proved to be one of my favorite experiences: Kim, who usually joined us guests for dinner, is such an easy to like, affable man—I think he (and Marcia, via her everyday interactions) sets a relaxed informal tone that welcomes everyone, no matter who they are or where they come from (dinners are communal, which, despite my preconceptions, I very thoroughly enjoyed). I had a great many interesting conversations with my fellow guests at that table.

It didn’t hurt that the food was FANTASTIC. I couldn’t believe it. I’m a bachelor, not a chef, but I spend half of my income eating out in Chicago, and I thought the food was great. And the meal plan I signed up for was very, very reasonable. I also drank 4-5 cups of coffee a day—it’s French pressed and very good. Those kind of touches, in the middle of that remote area, that helped make this a really special place: it’s not the Ritz Carlton—but how could it be and still maintain its place as an environmentally friendly, small, independently run inn? From this context, it provides fantastic comfort and amenities.

But my favorite experience was snorkeling—wow!!! The reef is a long way out, so there is a lot to explore between the beach and that reef. The first time, alone, and went out a bit, but not far (unfortunately, I saw “Jaws” when I was eight years old). But the next time I went out, I went with Marcia, who had generously asked if I’d like to go with her. I got out farther this time, and for two hours we went through some amazing coral formations and saw all different types of fish and a few rays. I went out snorkeling with her for three hours another time—which may have been one of the best experiences of my life (I hope I’m not setting her up to readers as an expected guide—she just happened to be going and I tagged along). The key is getting near the reef. Where I went, water is no more than 10 feet deep, all the way out to the reef.

I didn’t see a lot of solo traveler reviews, so I do want to say that I found being on my own at Mayan Beach perfect. In retrospect, I'm not sure what I would have done staying at a "regular hotel" or rental property for a month. The meal times provided me with an opportunity meet other guests, which led to opportunities to do things with others, and make some friends, too. And I had plenty of opportunity to soak up privacy and solitude, and even worked 35+ hours a week from my computer while I was there.

Having stayed at Mayan Beach for almost four weeks, I saw both how hard it must be to run a place like this so well and how successfully the proprietors strove to make their guests’ experiences there positive ones. I was also fortunate to get to know Marca and Kim a little bit during this period of time, and I found them to be absolutely wonderful people. I don't know how they do it. I can’t thank them enough for making my stay one I will never forget. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
When people stay with us for a month's time, we get the opportunity to bond with our guests. When you left, there was a hole that won't be filled until you return again. I loved snorkeling with you and showing you the beauties of the reef and of nature. May you always remember us as we will remember you until you return again to us. See you next year!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayan Beach Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Beach Garden

Address: 20.5 km N Camino Costera | Mahahual-Uvero, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded off the grid solar powered beach front Inn, nestled on sandy white beach on the Mexican Caribbean. Walk for miles in either direction, swim or snorkel from shore. This is the closest Hotel to the Sian Ka'an Biosphere- maps and independent traveler's guidance are available. King sized beds, fans and large bathrooms in each room. Hot Breakfast included. To protect the tranquility and quiet of the hotel, only children over the age of 12 are allowed during the months of January, February, March and April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mayan Beach Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Beach Garden Hotel Mahahual
Mayan Beach Garden Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Beach Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.