We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top of the line” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Beach Garden

Save Saved
You added Mayan Beach Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mayan Beach Garden
20.5 km N Camino Costera | Mahahual-Uvero, Mahahual 77940, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 21 Mahahual B&B and Inns
post falls
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“top of the line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

2 couples stayed for 4 nights 2 weeks ago marcia and kim are 1st class people no doubt, the facilities are top of the line, the beach and bay are outstanding great walks and beachcombing, martin and rafael are also so helpful the food is to die for.....delicious every meal, snorkeling out front outstanding also up the coast aways if you want a stress free vacation in an incredible setting with the best hosts you could ever want this is the place

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Mayan Beach Garden with others. Just a note, Martin just got married on June 9th, and says "HI!" Please find your way to this stretch of beach again - we'll be here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
117
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St-Ours, Quebec
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Well this was our last stop before crossing to Cozumel, we stayed 2 nights in this fantastic, out of the way, paradise. This, for us, is the ultimate in traveling and discovering a country in accomodations that you would expect in a city but sitting on the beach, in the jungle. The rooms are spotless, meals are divine and the setting is breathtaking. Just imagine getting out of the cars and your feet are feeling the soft sand for the rest of your stay. If you think you may enjoy this type of travel, don't hesitate, you'll love it. We took the car up to a lobster fishing village that Marcia proposed we should visit, we took the sandy road looking at the sea all along the way, we felt like we were living a Discovery channel episode. What a feeling of being part of nature. If we would go back? FOR SURE!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Because you wrote such an insightful review of MBG, and you appear to like the same things I like in a vacation, I decided to look up some of your other reviews. Now I'm going to stay at one of them! (I won't mention my competitor in another city, but needless to say, it is similar to here!) Thanks for the unintended tip and also the nice comments about Mayan Beach Garden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from our stay at MBG and it was every thing we'd hoped for and more.   We were sad to leave, can't wait to return, and feel lucky to have had the experience.

The only piece of advice I'll give is to make sure you know what to expect and to know what type of experience you're looking for.  Other then that, take the few challenges in stride, and enjoy every second there.

My fiancé and I like the creature comforts, but dislike crowds, concrete jungles, tourist traps, etc. We love some adventure and feel that a vacation can be more enjoyable if you earn it (ie: finding the MGB and the drive there).

This may be one of the coolest places in Mexico.

We were greeted warmly by the owner who then took us to their last vacant room to show us around.

Rooms- quaint, beautifully mosaic-ed by the owner, lots of space, amazing view, inviting porch with hammock and chairs, gorgeous bed, etc. I will offer a head's up about the saloon-style doors being the only privacy regarding the toilet. They may not be in every room, and it certainly was no big deal.   When we arrived, our room had been closed up and was quite stuffy. We were worried we'd be too hot to sleep, as we are fans of ac. But after opening all the windows and turning on the fan, the room cooled right down and was very comfortable.

Food- Amazing. We weren't sure what to expect with the 'family style' dinners, but it was fun and definitely added to the experience.  Funny when you travel all that way and sit a cross from two charming fishermen, and they end up being from your home town!  Food was delicious, traditionally prepared, healthy, and beautifully presented. For breakfast, get the banana-vanilla pancakes. They are half the reason my fiancé wants to go back.

Activity- we plan our trips around snorkeling, so we don't need a whole lot else.  We were advised to head up just a little ways to The Point which was terrific snorkeling right off the beach. Tons of brightly colored fish, beautiful coral, shells, etc, and a grassy bottom, which was new for us.  The beach does have a lot of garbage from the tides, so be careful where you walk and set your things. We grabbed a piece of floating sea wood and cleared off a place to sit. You're still surrounded by some funky stuff, so for beach time, head back to the MBG.  There are lots of cool conch-type shells along the beach, so keep your eyes open for them mixed in the grass and rubbish.  As a side note, notice the mosaic art above the bar- Marcia made this entirely from flip-flops she picked up that washed up on shore. Very cool!

The drive to MGB- stop in Fillipe Carillo for gas, 3 peso restrooms, and some jicama and mango with chili from a street vendor. Once you're through Mahahual, on the small road to MGB, be VERY careful of some huge potholes that could flatten a tire if hit fast. They have spray painted around them in red to help with visibly, but you're smart to go slowly. This road is pretty beat up, so be prepared to drive carefully.

MGB- gorgeous garden setting, beautifully landscaped, constructed, and decorated. It is truly a paradise in the jungle. Know what to expect- a bit of a challenge to get to, very quiet, pretty rustic compared to resort-type vacations, and grass and garbage on the beaches outside the grounds. But it was really a magical place with a heart and soul that you don't find many places. We can't wait to go back!  

Though they do not include tip in the room rental, please take into consideration all the work and care that go into running this place. The staff work from sun up well into the night, then may have a long drive home. Marcia and Kim are devoted to this labor of love, but also have an off season to support. In my opinion, a minimum 10% tip should be added. I know some people are funny about this kind of thing, but I feel if we don't help support unique places like this, we may not have unique experiences like this to return to.


  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
This has to be a first! Guests who only stay one night seldom appreciate the uniqueness of Mayan Beach Garden, but you certainly did and I am overwhelmed at the the thoughtful review you took the time to write - any still on your vacation too! Please return and stay a week - especially if you are snorkelers. I just found another spot yesterday, and it rocks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was my first beach vacation, and for a landlocked son of the plains from Kansas, the prospect of so many new experiences was daunting at first. Marcia made planning this trip easy, and the Web site is chocked full of helpful information (http://www.mayanbeachgarden.com/). I was the "Entertainment Coordinator" for four couples, some experienced international travelers, some novices, and Marcia's competent assistance made me look like a pro! She helped us plan a guided tour of spectacular Mayan ruins, a snorkel/boogyboard excursion to the Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve, snorkeling at the Mesoamerican Reef just off the beach, and even led a guided snorkel to an incredible city of Elkhorn Coral.
You'll love the comfortable rooms (constructed and kept in top shape by Kim), the delicious food, the warm, welcoming atmosphere, and the friendly, professional staff. Don't miss a beach massage by Trish! Dinners on the screened porch were a chance to share the day's activities with new friends, and relax as Southern Cross rises in the southeast. At the end of a fantastic day, fall asleep to the rhythmic swish of the ocean and the caress of the cool tropical breeze. Skip the crowds of the Mexican Riviera, and make the drive to Jardin Playa Maya...you'll be glad you did. We are!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are quieter, but all are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
You did such a great job planning the vacation for you and your friends that I had no clue that this was your first Beach Vacation! Pat yourself on the back. I hope it won't be your last. We all had so much fun with your group here. Thank you so much for spending your vacation with us and thanks even more for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review. May our paths cross again. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was our first trip to the Yucatan. We were blown away by the relaxed and beautiful Inn. Our accomodations were lovely with an environmentally friendly design.The food was one delicious meal after another. Kim and Marcia helped us plan our adventures and packed a picnic lunch for us that was very good. The outings included Mayan ruins, ziplining over the jungle, horseback on a Mayan ranch, snorkling and nature hikes. Then, back to the Inn in the evenings for a chat with the guests and a glass of wine and dinner. The dinners were a delight because we could talk with others guests over good food to learn what they did on their outings. We will definately be going back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite that included a separate screened area with two single beds for our two teenage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
I have to comment on the beautiful photos you took, especially of the water coming out of the shell faucet. How did you do that? I loved it, and if you don't mind will try and duplicate it. Your comments were lovely and I enjoyed reading them and thinking of your family and their artistic projects during the "not so good" weather. Please return . . . we look forward to another visit with all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This little piece of heaven is 4.5 hours south of Cancun. So, it requires some planning to get here, but it’s so worth it. Imagine if you had family that owned a really cool hotel on the coast, and invited you to come stay with them. That’s what staying here feels like – visiting family, in all the good ways. The owners are wonderful people and do a great job with this little resort. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome. If you are in need of anything, just ask!

We stayed in two different rooms during our visit. First, we had a cabana, which is really a cute little house, right on the beach. Real concrete floor and real roof – not thatched. It has a kitchenette including small refrigerator. We didn’t use the kitchen other than keeping a few drinks in the fridge. Then we switched rooms, and the second room was actually the one my husband preferred. It was a second floor room with multiple windows that overlooked the beach and was actually closer to the water than the cabana, although the cabana was really very close. The second floor room was smaller, without the kitchenette, but newer and really beautiful. I liked the space to spread out in the first cabana, but really liked the second one too. The sound of the ocean and the breezes were wonderful in both rooms, but the ocean was definitely louder in the 2nd floor room. There is no bad room at MBG. Both had covered porches, 2 chairs and 2 hammocks on the porch. Lights 24/7 (110 outlet on only part of the time), large container of drinking water in the room, hot water. High quality construction, beautifully decorated, lots of hooks for towels and swimsuits, very clean.

Food – great food served on a screened-in porch. Full breakfast (many choices including huevos rancheros with green sauce to die for), a big plate of fresh fruit including the best mango I’ve ever had, fresh squeezed OJ. We purchased the meal plan which added on lunch and dinner each day for a reasonable price.

Dinner/happy hour was really great. Everyone starts to gather some time before dinner. There’s a bartender that will make your drinks and all the guests chat. There is ample seating and room in the main “home” for chatting, lounging, mingling. Around 7:15 everyone is called to dinner in the screened in porch where a long table has been set. Chips, yummy bean dip and pico de gallo are served as an appetizer. Then a 3 course meal – soup or salad, main dish with sides, then dessert. Everything we had was wonderful. Chicken mole, cochinita pibil (pork), fish filet cooked in banana leaf, etc. It’s really nice to chat about your day and find out what activities others are doing. Everyone we met was really interesting and fun.

Wi-fi – in the main “house”, so we’d bring the iPad when we went for meals and happy hour. You can’t really get a cell phone signal although supposedly you can get one upstairs of the main house. The wi-fi was great though so we skyped every day to call home.
For activities, Mayan Beach Garden is near the Sian Ka’an, Mahahual (Costa Maya), great snorkeling, Mayan ruins. They also have ocean kayaking and massages on the beach. They have kayaks to use for free. Mayan Beach Garden has calm water right in front, but the best snorkeling is found by walking a little ways north because the beach curves out to a point and meets the reef. We went snorkeling from there and it was gorgeous! An incredible stand of elkhorn coral and many other varieties of coral and fish. Mayan Beach Garden has snorkel vests and equipment you can rent. We visited the Sian Ka’an preserve while we were there and it’s definitely worth it. It’s just a short drive from Mayan Beach Garden. We also visited three Mayan ruin sites.

We broke up the drive by staying one night in Akumal on the way down, and Tulum on the way back – both nice places to visit as well. I would highly recommend Mayan Beach Garden if you like relaxing, being away from crowds, snorkeling, beautiful accommodations, great food, friendly people, as we do. It was perfect for us. If you are looking for nightlife, a wide variety of restaurants, or lots of activities for children, then it might not be for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Wow - what an amazing review you have taken the time to write for us. We can't thank you enough. We really enjoyed your visit - you were always so smiling and pleasant - a pleasure and a joy to have here as guests. If you aren't already, you should consider being a travel writer. ;-) Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soutnern Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

It's a long way from Tulum, not so far from Chetumal. The property is somewhat remote...but lovely. Great owners, Marcia and Kim, great food and great company in the other guests. It is 25+/- km north of Mahaual, in a spot called Placer, off the grid and on a fabulous beach on the many colors of blue Caribe. The long, somewhat bumpy, beach road to get there just makes the journey's end all the sweeter. Not for everyone, it is a quiet paradise, lovely.

Room Tip: At least 5 of 7 rooms are on the beach, waterfront. I believe the other 2 have Ocean views for less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
The road less traveled is certainly the road here - and we are so pleased you found your way along the beach road to our bit of Paradise. Some day the town will reach as far as Mayan Beach Garden and it won't be so quiet and peaceful. . . but until that time, we are happy there are guests like you who appreciate it! Have a great summer and thank you for taking a few minutes to write this a review for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayan Beach Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Beach Garden

Address: 20.5 km N Camino Costera | Mahahual-Uvero, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded off the grid solar powered beach front Inn, nestled on sandy white beach on the Mexican Caribbean. Walk for miles in either direction, swim or snorkel from shore. This is the closest Hotel to the Sian Ka'an Biosphere- maps and independent traveler's guidance are available. King sized beds, fans and large bathrooms in each room. Hot Breakfast included. To protect the tranquility and quiet of the hotel, only children over the age of 12 are allowed during the months of January, February, March and April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Mayan Beach Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Beach Garden Hotel Mahahual
Mayan Beach Garden Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Beach Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.