We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Day of the Cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Chan Beach

Maya Chan Beach
K.M. 6.5 Carretera Majahual-Xcalak, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
+52 1 983 101 2585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Mahahual
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private beach resort for cruise ship passengers.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Day of the Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Words can not express how spectacular our day was at Maya Chan. We wish that we could have stayed all day and let our cruise leave without us!! It is a slight drive from the Port but Maya Chan had a taxi waiting for us. When we arrived we were escorted to our private Palapa which had chairs, tables, a day bed, a swinging chair and a hammock. We were given chips and salsa and Mimosas upon arrival. Then we had a wonderful breakfast. Everything was brought to us personally. Part of the family went snorkeling and the kids used the kayaks. There are also floating beach chairs. Lunch was magnificent. If you can only do one excursion on a cruise, please make it to May Chan Beach. You will not regret it!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    30
    11
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Many of our friends have recommended this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had reservations on July 2013 to visit Maya Chan and were excited to visit for the first time. On the morning of our arrival, we were met with a terrible storm. Since we had small children that were looking forward to snorkeling we decided to cancel because of lightning and stormy conditions. We contacted owners Mark & Jane and they promptly refunded our payment! I am looking forward to my next year visit----great people to do business!
Thank you, Pat Frizzell

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Would have stayed all day if I could!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a fun morning! Our ship was in port from 7-2, so this was an early one. The Maya Chan rep was waiting for us outside the port, as promised, and got us loaded into a taxi (which they cover) for the trip to the beach. About 15 minutes, and quite a ride. This is a poor area, and a lot of the areas passed were reminiscent of Call Of Duty battlegrounds. Pretty sure it made my parents a little nervous. But once you get to the beach road, and to Maya Chan, that's all forgotten. A beautiful little stretch of beach, and restaurant. You're greeted warmly and shown to your private palapa (thatched hut, open, with chairs, hammocks and a bed!). The beach has kayaks and floating chairs. You have drinks and food within minutes of arriving, and it never stops. All-inclusive- the barbecue lunch was incredible, the beer was ice cold, the margaritas and pina coladas are made with fruit and coconuts they're literally taking off the trees. The kayaking and snorkeling is also included, and there's a very nice reef about 200 yards offshore. A highlight for us was the house cat, Stella, who slept in our palapa with us for awhile, and loved to lick your nose, and the house mutt, Winston, who wandered around and begged for food with those soulful eyes. It was a gray day with a little misting rain, but that's no one's fault, and didn't keep us from enjoying ourselves. Everyone could not have been friendlier; just a beautiful little corner of Mexico!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best shore excursion ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Maya Chan beach is a great way to spend the afternoon. We were met by David right out of the port. Within a few minutes we were loaded into a taxi and soon arrived at the beach. We were greeted and given drinks, chips and salsa. While waiting for lunch we kayaked and relaxed. The food is excellent. After lunch we snorkeled out at a coral reef. Everyone who works here, including David, Hugo, and Stella the cat, were friendly and a easy to deal with. Do not miss a chance to spend the afternoon here!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Paradise - Best excursion ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was the best excursion ever and the best day of my cruise. I would plan future cruises around being able to spend the day at Maya Chan. From the minute they pick you up to the minute you are leaving they pamper you. This was so relaxing. We got our own little thatched roof area with daybed, chairs, hammock. Food was delicious. Service friendly, impeccable and fabulous. Hugo makes the best bloody marys (I need to get the recipe.)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Chan Beach also viewed

 

Been to Maya Chan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Chan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.