We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Chan Beach

Maya Chan Beach
K.M. 6.5 Carretera Majahual-Xcalak, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
+52 1 983 101 2585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Mahahual
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private beach resort for cruise ship passengers.
Fortson, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First of all I booked this through their website a couple of days before a cruise after our cruise switched ports last minute. When arriving in Costa Maya I felt like the island was destroyed and trashy, you can tell it had been damaged by hurricanes is recent years. The drive to Mayan Beach Club did not leave me feeeling like I was gonna have a good day but I was wrong. When you pull up you are greeted right away by friendly staff, they take you to your pallata which is a couple of lounge chairs, umbrella and bed on the beach. We did not like the one they assigned us to because a guy was cleaning up the beach right in fron of us but we asked to move and they let us. We were given some great chips and dip and cocktails of our choice. My wife had sangrias and I had some oreo concoction that was awesome. We laid out a while and then I kayaked out to the reef. I shoulda brought the snorkel gear out with me but didnt. However I spoke with one of the staff members about taking me out snorkeling and he agreed to do so after lunch. We laid out in the floating chairs for a while until the best lunch ever was served. Great mexican fresh cuisine, best I have ever had. Then as promised I was taken out to snorkel and it was great, we held lobster, saw eels and fish etc. The service of this place was great and although the island itself is a bit dirty and destroyed this place makes you forget all of that. They are cleaning and rebuilding alot on this island but Maya Chan has it together already. I loved it and will return if I ever cruise to Costa Maya again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    36
    13
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break from our Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a great time at this mini-resort! The individual palapas were wonderful along with the never ending guac and salsa! My kids used the kayaks and sand equipment. The lunch was so yummy and drinks were plentiful. Just wish we could have stayed longer! Def. on my return list!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Second time not the charm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The first time I visited, good friday in march 2010, this place was wonderful. There were 12 people total that day. The service was great, the food and drinks were great.

But... Just visited on Good Friday this year. Such a different experience. The first issue was that they had only reserved four people instead of the 6 we paid for. this created 2 issues- first, the local transportation were refusing to take the extra 2 people to maya chan! we had to fight to get all six of us on the bus. then, they had put us in a small palapa for 4 rather than one that would accommodate six.

The biggest issue was that They had terribly overbooked. They claim they only take 30 people a day, but I counted over 60! You couldn't even walk around, there were bodies and stuff everywhere you tried to walk. We tried to order a drink from one of the beach servers, but after half an hour of waiting for the drinks we gave up and walked over the bodies and stuff to the main area about 2 blocks away it felt like.

Also, there was a piece of glass in the sand INSIDE my palapa and I seriously cut my foot. This was not a washed up piece of glass- it was inside the palapa so most likely left behind by prior guests.

Due to my serious foot injury, as well as the overcrowded conditions, I ended up leaving soon after arriving and did it get to eat so cannot comment on the food.

The owner did refund my money, which was a nice gesture. But the overcrowding really ruined what had been a wonderful memory of our prior trip. We won't be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaChanBeach, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Glad you appreciated the full refund. We are very sorry about the cut. But its the beach. We did remove all sand in all palapas and raked out the entire beach. After our first year of operation, we expanded and have never changed our daily self imposed limit since 2009. Very tough to please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best day of cruise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Absolutely loved Maya Chan! Totally relaxing day, loved the floating chairs!! Excellent food and drinks, can't wait to go back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“I hear it was awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was terribly ill today so I didn't get to enjoy this as much as I would have liked. Having said that, the staff went out of their way to make sure I was okay and that my friends had a great time.

They tell me the drinks were strong and free flowing and the the buffet was yummy. The location is a bit of a distance from the boat and when I went back early they charged me $15 for a taxi. I'm not sure that was a fair amount when roundtrip transfers were supposed to be included...

The property was pretty and right out on the water but not much of a big sandy beach. Overall it is a good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Chan Beach also viewed

 

Been to Maya Chan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Chan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.