We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mahahual Beach

Mahahual Beach
Mahahual, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 22 things to do in Mahahual
Attraction details
Ojai, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

white sand, clear water, lots of beach clubs, massages, restaurants, sandbar protects beaches from rough surf or you can go out past them and romp in the waves. good snorkeling.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    73
    16
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rising Sun, Maryland
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
“Clean, not overly developed.........yet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

After our tour of the ruins, we had time to enjoy the beach, and after a short taxi ride that cost but $2.00, we arrived at a very nice beach location that included a row of small shops, open bars, jet ski rentals, etc.
The beach area was clean and offered plenty of lounges, chairs, and umbrellas for cheap and free use.
the water was warm, and amazingly blue!
The highlight was the massages being offered by the local ladies for a very reasonable price on actual professional tables located under shade in the sand!
Would we go again? most definately, as we considered this port to have one of the better beach's on our itinerary!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, USA
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
144 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
1,796 helpful votes 1,796 helpful votes
“Pretty beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We visited Costa Maya on a cruise. We were hoping for a setup like Mahogany Bay, since both are cruiseline-owned ports, but we found there wasn’t much to do in the crowded port area except shop and use the pool. So we decided to visit Mahahual.

There was a bus running to Mahahual for $3 per person. We walked just outside the port gates to the taxi stand and caught a ride for $2 per person with no waiting. We walked along the boardwalk and saw the same merchandise as in the port. The vendors were fairly aggressive, and not as willing to bargain as those in the port. I would recommend shopping at the port, not at Mahahual. We saw a lot of people getting massages.

Mahahual beach is beautiful - a long, white beach with soft sand and palm trees. The surf was rough, good for Skidoos but not for snorkeling or swimming. Most of the beach clubs seemed to offer similar amenities. We picked the Krazy Lobster for lunch, and it was pretty good. They had a special on a bucket of 10 beers for $10, which was too many for us, but looked like a popular deal. US dollars were accepted everywhere. If you are stopping at Costa Maya and don't want to go on an excursion, visiting Mahahual beach is more interesting than the small cruise port.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa az
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Mahahual Beach Costa Maya Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A few years ago we visited Costa Maya and found it very limited with a handful of
shops at the pier. This time we took a taxi to Mahahual Beach, just 10 minutes away
and an absolutely terrific family beach day. As usual, avoid the ship's beach tour and
save 50% by doing it yourself! Just walk through the shopping center and follow the taxi signs.
Taxis are $3 per person each way to the beach and there is a restaurant there. You may
want to consider the all-inclusive offer from the taxi/tour operator which will run about
$35 per adult (kids free) and will include transportation to the beach, lunch from the restaurant
unlimited drinks (including alcohol) and use of beach chairs and umbrellas. The water is
warm, clear and shallow for kids and the beach is uncrowded. You can stay all day until
its time to return to your ship.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“What's better than a relaxing day in the sun at the beach?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My family went to Mahahual beach from the cruise ship terminal. We were planning on grabbing a cab down to the beach on our own.

Instead of walking out of the port area and down the street to the taxi stand we payed $3 a person to board a shuttle (bus) that took us. We were 7, so it made more sense then to try and stack into a small cab. We did not have to wait long because a lot of people were coming off the ship at the moment and the bus filled fast.

The drive to the beach is maybe 10 minutes. They dropped us off at the beginning or north end of the beach and tried to get us to stay there. We walked down (southward) the malecon and came across many nice spots. Every location will try and talk you into staying on "their" beach with "free shade, free chairs" just so you buy their food from them. We walked passed much of that and found some isolation and beautiful sand further southward.

The water was terrific, the sun inviting, the sand gorgeous, and it is quite easy to relax as many are ready to serve you--all you have to do is ask.

It is easy to catch a taxi back, just walk off the beach (inland) towards the road and any number of taxis will want your business. At $2 a person for the ride back, it's a steal.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahahual Beach also viewed

Mahahual, Costa Maya
Costa Maya, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Mahahual Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahahual Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.