We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool spot to land in hot paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Pearl - CLOSED

The Black Pearl
Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $17
Description: Beach front restaurant/bar with an extensive drink menu served by one of the best bartenders in town! Buy an open bar pass, try our "Amberita margarita", cheese garlic salsa, ceviches, schedule a snorkel excursion or diving from our beach, go for a swim, use the free WI-FI or read a good book and listen to music while lying on a padded lounger. Do you prefer shade or sun? We also have live music jam nights and am looking forward to el primer Festival Internacional Mahahual: Cruzando Fronteras Mexico-Italia. During our temporary transition, we are referring some patrons to Oxtankah located in the center of the malecon. Snorkeling excursions start at $25 per person.
Restaurant details
Description: Beach front restaurant/bar with an extensive drink menu served by one of the best bartenders in town! Buy an open bar pass, try our "Amberita margarita", cheese garlic salsa, ceviches, schedule a snorkel excursion or diving from our beach, go for a swim, use the free WI-FI or read a good book and listen to music while lying on a padded lounger. Do you prefer shade or sun? We also have live music jam nights and am looking forward to el primer Festival Internacional Mahahual: Cruzando Fronteras Mexico-Italia. During our temporary transition, we are referring some patrons to Oxtankah located in the center of the malecon. Snorkeling excursions start at $25 per person.
Tallinn
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cool spot to land in hot paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just walk past the blaring music at Senior Frogs and a couple of local huts, land under thatched umbrellas by the sea or inside, overlooking the beach and do not forget to say hi to the owners, Amber and Christina. While waiting for the smiling pirate at the bar counter to prepare your mean margarita, snack on some nachos (and if you love garlic ask for garlic sauce). Then enjoy seafood nachos or whole-fried fish with garlic sauce (highly recommend both), have another look at the beach and dare not to say life is beautiful.
Full account here: http://www.2tamsalu.blogspot.fr/2013/06/costa-maya.html

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome..food..drinks..service..comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our few hours of complete paradise..for starters our cushyloungers right in the beach..margaritas..food..and sammie whi made sure we were well taken care of..anber came and thanked us for coming and made sure we all was ok..which it was!!! Highly recommend this place..we definitely will stop again if we are at costa maya!! Thabk you black pearl..me and hubby got our food..drinks and beautiful liungers all for $29..oh ya..had the best massage there too!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thursday night jammin' and beach dancing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Coconut margarita and an amazing jam session with guitar, harmonica, drums and african drum - the session rocked with Santana, Eric Clapton, Van Morrison (Into the Mystic), and much more! Dancing on the malecon in the wind off the Carribean Sea; toes in the sand - pure joy!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Island attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had amazing margaritas and great guacamole here while doing a paddleboard excursion. The owners are very friendly and relaxed. They have beach furniture with waiter service out front, but it is free to use. We had 4 delicious margaritas and a huge plate of guacamole (we shared for lunch) for $26US. Beers were $2, everything else was likewise inexpensive. We will definitely come back here on our next stop in Costa Maya.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome. Good drinks, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Definitely put this place down for one of your evenings out on the town! You can sit on the beach or inside in the open air seating. They are located right on the main, touristy beach stretch. The food is spectacular. Make an effort to talk to the chef because his story is amazing and he's just a sweet guy. The ladies are lovely and give off a proper piratey feel. Whatever nights they have dancing attract a fun, unique crowd. All of the food is top notch and if you want a drink I definitely suggest you try a margarita.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Pearl also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.