We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreaming of a Corona commercial?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Pearl - CLOSED

The Black Pearl
Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $17
Description: Beach front restaurant/bar with an extensive drink menu served by one of the best bartenders in town! Buy an open bar pass, try our "Amberita margarita", cheese garlic salsa, ceviches, schedule a snorkel excursion or diving from our beach, go for a swim, use the free WI-FI or read a good book and listen to music while lying on a padded lounger. Do you prefer shade or sun? We also have live music jam nights and am looking forward to el primer Festival Internacional Mahahual: Cruzando Fronteras Mexico-Italia. During our temporary transition, we are referring some patrons to Oxtankah located in the center of the malecon. Snorkeling excursions start at $25 per person.
Restaurant details
Description: Beach front restaurant/bar with an extensive drink menu served by one of the best bartenders in town! Buy an open bar pass, try our "Amberita margarita", cheese garlic salsa, ceviches, schedule a snorkel excursion or diving from our beach, go for a swim, use the free WI-FI or read a good book and listen to music while lying on a padded lounger. Do you prefer shade or sun? We also have live music jam nights and am looking forward to el primer Festival Internacional Mahahual: Cruzando Fronteras Mexico-Italia. During our temporary transition, we are referring some patrons to Oxtankah located in the center of the malecon. Snorkeling excursions start at $25 per person.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dreaming of a Corona commercial?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Picture yourself in a Corona commercial, complete with a white sandy beach, crystal clear water, and wonderful hospitality. That’s the Black Pearl restaurant, just a short cab ride away from the cruise port in Costa Maya. My husband and I spent the day using the Black Pearl as a base camp for relaxing on the beach, playing in the water, and enjoying Mexican beer. They have tables, hammocks, and lounge chairs right on the sand for patrons to use at their leisure. The delicious food and authentic mecheladas were the perfect snack after paddle boarding the coast (check out UnderToe Mexico for rentals, next door to the Black Pearl). The staff was very attentive but gave us plenty of space to sit back and enjoy the view. Did I mention you can get an inexpensive massage on their beach as well? It was definitely worth exploring outside of the Disneyesque Costa Maya cruise port to spend the day at the Black Pearl.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun and so delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Well this is definitely the tastiest food we had in Mexico. The chef is really talented! We had a prawn dish that was just incredible. The fajitas were great too. The waitresses are soo friendly and theres even some dancing later on! They are doing a great job in this new place and I think it should continue to be really successful, especially when the food is so yummy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
2 reviews
“You don't want to miss The Black Pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My brother and I caught a cab for 2 bucks each and went to the city in Costa Maya. We stopped at one restaurant and had a drink and was very disappointed. We walked down the beach and happened upon "The Black Pearl." Instantly we were greeted by Amber and Christina the owners. They both made us feel right at home. The drinks were the best and my brother had the fish tacos and loved them. The only problem was the fact that we did not have more time to spend at the Black Pearl, we almost missed the ship!!! Do not miss the chance to visit the Black Pearl, by far the best time we had on the cruise.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, Fl.
1 review
“Pleasant and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Visited the Black Pearl on our cruise excursion to Costa Maya, we had a great time the staff/owners were delightful and friendly, let us sample the Tequila, ask to try the Tequila in the tall blue bottle that stuff was amazing. It was either vanilla or cream, the establishment was clean and we could actually communicate with them! Also, when I asked about Wi-Fi they let me tap into their for FREE, without pressure to purchase anything from their business, this may not seem like a big deal unless you're in Mexico trying to get Wi-Fi., but we appreciated their kindness some much we bought two bottles of tequila ( only because my wife broke the first bottle we bought) looking forward to our return visit to Costa Maya and spending time at the Black Pearl. Thank you again for your hospitality! Wess & Jody

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great time at The Black Pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stumbled up on this place by accident. We had a great time, great food and excellent service. The two owners are lovely ladies who make sure everything is perfect for you. The massage was wonderful!! If coming in off the cruise ship, take the bus to town and it is down a few doors. Check them out, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Pearl also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.