We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Costa Maya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Pearl - CLOSED

The Black Pearl
Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $17
Description: Beach front restaurant/bar with an extensive drink menu served by one of the best bartenders in town! Buy an open bar pass, try our "Amberita margarita", cheese garlic salsa, ceviches, schedule a snorkel excursion or diving from our beach, go for a swim, use the free WI-FI or read a good book and listen to music while lying on a padded lounger. Do you prefer shade or sun? We also have live music jam nights and am looking forward to el primer Festival Internacional Mahahual: Cruzando Fronteras Mexico-Italia. During our temporary transition, we are referring some patrons to Oxtankah located in the center of the malecon. Snorkeling excursions start at $25 per person.
Restaurant details
Description: Beach front restaurant/bar with an extensive drink menu served by one of the best bartenders in town! Buy an open bar pass, try our "Amberita margarita", cheese garlic salsa, ceviches, schedule a snorkel excursion or diving from our beach, go for a swim, use the free WI-FI or read a good book and listen to music while lying on a padded lounger. Do you prefer shade or sun? We also have live music jam nights and am looking forward to el primer Festival Internacional Mahahual: Cruzando Fronteras Mexico-Italia. During our temporary transition, we are referring some patrons to Oxtankah located in the center of the malecon. Snorkeling excursions start at $25 per person.
Edgewood, Kentucky, United States
1 review
“Great time in Costa Maya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is s MUST for anyone visiting Costa Maya. We found The Black Pearl while beach combing. The food was wonderful, the drinks strong and tasty, and an added perk, the place is very CLEAN. Amber and Christina, the owners, quickly start to feel like family as they share the journey that brought them to Costa Maya and The Black Pearl. We relaxed, enjoyed the beautiful ocean views and tropical breezes, and maybe a few more margaritas than we had initially planned.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahahual, Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great New Restaurant and Beach Bar in Mahahual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Black Pearl has new owners and a GREAT chef! They are in a good location on the beach with unobstructed views of the beautiful blue waters. Chef Juan has his own salsa creations that are really flavorful. Best place in town for fresh chips and 3 killer salsas - a red, a green, and a guajillo oil salsa that leaves a little after burn with a really interesting flavor of secret spices. The Black Pearl is a wonderful addition for locals and vacationers - the kind of place to hang out on the beach on a padded lounger with a good book and "made-from-scratch" margaritas (and I am VERY picky about my 'ritas). Food is fresh and tastey. Amber and Christina, the new owners, really know how to provide top notch customer service and are "freaky" about cleanliness and quality. Give them a try - you will be glad you did.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Mexican food/ service ever!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stumbled upon The Black Pearl while visiting costa maya on our cruise. We immediately met the owner, Amber. She is American, and one of the nicest people we met on the entire cruise. We ate on the beach in front of the restaurant. The food was unbelievable!!! We got some kind of shrimp cocktail with salsa that was the BEST thing we ate on our whole vacation, including everything we ate on the ship! The fajitas were phenomenal, tacos were amazing, quesadillas were delicious! The service was superb, and our waiter spoke perfect English. I can't say enough about The Black Pearl. Great food, service, atmosphere, and value! If you're going to Costa Maya...STOP HERE!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal Town, Belize
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I passed through Mahahual on my way down the coast, and happend upon the Black Pearl. I just loved it! I would definitely recommend Black Pearl to anyone who happens to be in the area. The food was fresh and flavorful. The service was friendly and courteous. The atmosphere was laid back and fun!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Relaxing Time in Mahahual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I were on a cruise ship and made an unexpected port call in Costa Maya. We decided to take a shuttle bus ($3 per person) to the village of Mahahual after reading reviews of the beach there. We were dropped off along a strip of beach with many beachfront restaurants all haggling for the tourists to relax at their part of the beach. We kept walking until we saw a beautiful strip of beach with padded chairs. The restaurant that owned that strip of beach was called The Black Pearl, and the waiter enticed us to relax there with a complimentary shot of tequila and use of the lounge chairs for free with purchase of a drink. We lounged on the beach for hours and our waiter treated us very well, replenishing our drinks and making sure we had everything we needed. Eventually we moved to a table and ordered nachos, and they were the best we had ever tasted. The Black Pearl was a wonderful surprise and a great place to spend our day in Costa Maya.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Pearl also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.