We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Hotelito

Save Saved
You added El Hotelito to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Hotelito
Av. Mahahual manzana 22 lote 13, Mahahual 77940, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Mahahual
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful little boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is our 2nd trip to Mahahual, and we decided to try one of the smaller hotels. El Hotelito is a beautiful little boutique hotel, just steps off the beach. The beds are comfy, the room is clean & tastefully decorated, they have A/C, a fan, satellite TV, there are huge windows & a small balcony with a view of the sea... What more can you ask for?? We arrived late in the evening (as we drove from Cancun), and we were greeted warmly by Ivan when we arrived. In the morning, there is coffee, tea, juice & toast in the hotel lobby, which was just enough to get my kids started for the day. A charming little place, such a nice break from the hustle of Cancun & Playa del Carmen! We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Mahahual!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    21
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
39
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were traveling from Cancun to Mahahual staying at hotels on the way with the similar budget like El Hotelito and could say honestly, this one was the best. We liked the location of the hotel plus they have car parking convenient to drive in. Comfortable nicely decorated clean rooms and bathroom (with hot shower whenever you need). Clean and fresh towels provided every day in different shapes (elephants, turtles, rabbits etc.)
Breakfast is simple: coffee and toast, but in a few steps from the hotel there are places you could get tasty food. As, for example, restaurant “Nohoch Kay” could be highly recommended.
Special thanks to Mateo, the owner of hotel. For us, not speaking Spanish, he was a rescue. We got all information we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelem, MXl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I just came back from spending 4 night at El Hotelito in Mahahual. We were greeted by Hanna who was so nice! We also spent time with Ivan and Candy who were tremendous too. We had a room up the first flight of steps, room 3. It had a queen bed and a single, there was ac and a ceiling fan, very nice bathroom and a small terrace. While not luxurious by any means our room was spotlessly clean and tidy. There was daily maid service and lots of fresh clean towels. The owner Mateo gave us lots of local tips and told us where we could get discounts at local restaurants. Our favorite places to eat while there were Nohoch Kay, just a few steps from the hotel for the most delicious seafood along with fabulous service, Luna de Plata for pasta and Popi's Pizza for the best thin crust pizza ever.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at El Hotelito and will definitely be going back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A group of friends stayed at this hotel in June 2013. My husband and I chose the top floor room facing the ocean and had an awesome 180* ocean view. Although it was June, there was enough breeze that it was not necessary to use the AC.
The bed was very comfortable and the shower was awesome. The water pressure was really good and water temp was hot! I'd have to say it was one of the best showers I've had in a long time (we live in Mexico).
The hotel is not directly beach front as another hotel has been built right in front of it, but the ocean view was still very nice.
Breakfast consisted of bread that you toast yourself, coffee and juice. That was fine with us, we enjoyed it and were glad we didn't have to go out to eat breakfast.
We received discounts at several restaurants and had the use of beach chairs, kayaks, etc at several restaurants just down the street.
The owner, Matthew, was around and was very friendly, speaks excellent English and offered great suggestions on where to go. He even helped arrange fishing for the guys two days at very reasonable rates.
We'd return to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Mahahual was the last stop on our Mexican trip. We got the best room on the last floor. although birds wake you up as well as construction site nearby, sun sets and the sea view compensates that fully. i definetely recommend that hotel to you.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Whatever you need ... you’ll find it at EL HOTELITO .

We went to Mahahual for a few days and we stayed at EL HOTELITO, we spent only 4 nights but it is not enough , you have to stay there at least 1 week to enjoy the hotel and Mahahual.

The beach is literally 2 steps from the hotel ! , Matteo and Angela are absolutely the perfect hosts!

This small and cozy hotel feels warm and homey, it is just a jewel in paradise !

The little details make each room different, we were in room number 7 on 3rd floor, our room was sparkly clean, tastefully designed and quiet.
Big windows, a lot of light, we enjoyed the view of the ocean and also an incredible sunset view from the balcony facing the jungle… amazing! Rooms are very well decorated, nice size closet, spacious bathroom and shower, flat screen TV, air condicioning (by the way we never used it because of the nice, natural breeze coming from the windows). A small cafeteria is available for all guests as well as a private parking behind the hotel ( in case you rent a car.)

It was a real pleasure waking up every morning and find Matteo, Angela and Hanna downstairs at the reception giving us tips and offering us a good cup of coffee .

Coming back to the hotel after a beautiful day at the beach, Ivan , a very nice, polite, joung guy was always available at the hotel to give us any informations about the area.
Ivan was also very good entertaining kids’s guests, in fact I remember one day he was drawing and colouring horses and unicorns with a charming little girl at the reception…such a nice guy.

All the staff at the hotel is helpful and very nice.

We had such a beautiful experience at EL HOTELITO and we already decided to book our next vacation there.

We highly recommend the hotel to anyone , you won’t regret the choice !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atchison, Kansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Cute hotel not quite ocean front with a good staff. Smiling Hanna at the front desk was a standout. The rooms are newish, clean and well designed. We stayed there for 2 nights. Never had hot water...not even tepid. The "included" breakfast was a loaf of white bread and a toaster, bad coffee. On line info says they take Visa. They emailed me before I left home to say they only took cash. I asked if there were ATMs in town. They responded "yes but they often didn't work". We ignored that because it seemed too silly. Sure enough, the ATM at Hotelito couldn't print receipts. 2 of the 3 elsewhere in town were broken.

Room Tip: All rooms are 2nd floor and above with lots of steps. The nicest rooms are on the top floor and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Hotelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hotelito

Address: Av. Mahahual manzana 22 lote 13, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Hotelito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Hotelito Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Hotelito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;