We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only 'cuz we were desparate!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Senor Frogs Costa Maya

Senor Frogs Costa Maya
Av. Paseo del puerto #1301, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
983-834-5607
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 48 Restaurants in Mahahual
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Only 'cuz we were desparate!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We ate breakfast on the cruise ship. Early. So after a 3 1/2 excursion to Chacchoben and a one-hour shopping challenge/adventure at DI, we were starving. I must say that this was one of the cheesiest and priciest dining experiences we have had in a while--and in my lifetime, believe me, I've experienced my fair share of cheesy. The food is actually pretty good, but the service was slow and inattentive, especially after our waiter figured out (despite the ardent attempts of a middle-age cocktail waitress to shove tequila shots at my husband) that we were not drinkers. Were we not exhausted, parched, and famished (and had we any other dining options besides the cruise ship), we would have left as soon as we saw the menu prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    21
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“don't be confused”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

don't be confused i think their were two one as soon as you get off the ship and one by the beach. we got back early from the beach at hit the one by the port.it was cool for the kids age 4 & 6 because it had a swim up pool bar and it was like a big pool party with two ships at dock but the drinks were expensive.....we got the free nachos because we did the dolphin encounter they weren't bad but they were nachos. it was a fun atmosphere...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“enjoy the pool, not the drinks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The pool is fantastic. If you can bring your own drinks, do so. We got a small pina colada and a small draft beer, and it was 18 dollars, 20 with tip. Full bottle beers were 5 bucks at the little spots around the pool. Get your drinks there!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fun place. Loud and crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

After being on our family trip for a few days aboard a very large ship, everyone was delighted to try a firm footing. This place is loud and, since it was spring break, very crowded. Very large drinks. A little steeply priced for my tastes. Also, the drinks are all in crushed ice, in Mexico. Coke in a bottle never looked so good. Go in a group to be able to help the drunkards back to the ship. Have a good time and as the commercial says, "Stay thirsty my friend".

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey, Louisiana, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Awsume pool side bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Ok so I did not eat or drink here but we did hang out at the huge pool. It was really clean nice and refreshing on a hot day. There was a bar and bar stools u can swim up to and sit down and drink while still being in the pool. We did take a couple picture and the guy was really nice and it only took a couple mins.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senor Frogs Costa Maya also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Senor Frogs Costa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senor Frogs Costa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.