We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreamtime Dive Center

Dreamtime Dive Center
Kilometer 2.5 | Majahual Coastal Road, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
011-52-1-983-124-0235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 24 Activities in Mahahual
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dreamtime Dive Center is a PADI 5 Star facility in Majahual, Mexico on the Costa Maya. We are an ecologically conscious dive center and pride ourselves on being the safest, most forward-thinking center in the area. This is not only because of our amazing location right on the pristine white sandy beach, our custom built dive boats and well-maintained equipment, or our high safety record and professional service - but because we love to dive!
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Thank you to Richard (DM), Peyton, Sarah and the entire staff at Dreamtime Dive Center. For our 30th wedding anniversay my wife and I had decided to try scuba diving. We were a little apprehensive at first because we were the only two people booked that day and the water was rougher then usual. However, the staff at DDC assured us that we would enjoy ourselves....and they were right! It was the experience of a lifetime and I was glad they were part of it. If your in Costa Maya and your thinking of trying scuba diving don't hesitate.......head straight to DDC. You may get lucky like we did and see a seahorse on your first dive!
Del (Michigan)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    5
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Book With These Guys Without Hesitation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I'm a reasonably experienced diver (Advanced Open Water certified) and have been diving all over the world. Like many people who like diving but aren't made of money, I've figured out that a cruise is an easy, cheap way to get a vacation that also includes some diving. But when you book a dive through your cruise ship, sometimes it is ok, sometimes not. Sometimes you get a shop where things are a bit too casual, or the equipment is substandard/worn out, or the guides are lazy and don't do much more than cut you loose to explore on your own. This place is none of those things. The shop is well-run, the equipment is fine, the guides are friendly and knowledgeable. You will feel very safe diving with these people. In fact, we actually had a guy on our dive who brought his own regulator and his mouthpiece came completely off his regulator under water (I'd never seen a worse malfunction, ever). The guide was on him almost instantly and got him back under control before I'd even realized what the problem was. So they do know what they are doing. They break you up into reasonably small groups on small boats, so there is none of that cattle call feeling when you are on a single, big boat. We were a group of just 4 people and a guide, and I think 6 or 8 was about as many as they put in each boat.

It is located in the middle of absolutely nowhere on the Mexican coast, and the people there appear to be uniformly grateful that you've come to dive with them, as it is a huge part of the local economy. So they bend over backwards to treat you right so you will write good reviews on TripAdvisor like I'm doing now.

They do have lion fish (we saw one), but the reef is still looking pretty healthy. We saw a nice variety of marine life, the highlights included a huge lobster, several conch, and two big sea turtles (one of which swam by maybe 8 feet from me). This is all part of the huge reef system that includes Belize, so if you have ever been diving in Belize before, this will feel pretty familiar. You don't have to go miles off shore to get to the reefs, the depths are moderate so you get decent bottom time, etc.

We came off a Holland America ship, but there was also a group off of Carnival. I think this is the dive operator that caters to all the cruise ships that stop at Costa Maya, so if you are coming there on a cruise ship, this will be your dive operator.

Probably the only criticism I could possibly level at the place is that there aren't enough bathrooms in the shop given how many people they serve at once. Particularly if you want to change after you go diving, one bathroom for the whole shop is a little sketch, even though this is rural Mexico. They could at least offer some places to change after the dive. But that is a pretty minor little nit. You should feel no hesitation about booking a dive with these guys if your ship stops in Costa Maya.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtime2010, Manager at Dreamtime Dive Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review! Our staff is very well prepared to handle emergencies as safety is our #1 priority. We do happen to be located in a very small town in the middle of Mexico so we are very pleased when customers like yourself spread the word about our small little place in paradise.

Thank you for your advice regarding the bathroom/changing areas. Please know that we have plans in place to revamp the shop and include a better changing/bathroom area!

We hope one day we get to dive with you again someday! Til then Happy Diving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Diving!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

While on our Disney Cruise we booked a Discover Scuba excursion with Dreamtime Dive Center while ashore in Costa Maya Mexico. This was a first experience for our 13 year old son and only a second such dive for me. David and the entire team were very professional, knowledgeable and very patient with us as we learned the ropes. The instruction was thorough and the dive was very safe for first time divers. We had a great time and we would highly recommend this for anyone interested in seeing if scuba diving may be right for them. It was a beautiful dive in a relaxing, no pressure setting. If you get the chance you can't go wrong with this group.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtime2010, Manager at Dreamtime Dive Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review! We are so glad that you and your son enjoyed your discover experience. We at Dreamtime pride ourselves in being very patient with beginners, especially young teenagers. It is our goal to help provide a relaxing atmosphere so you can just enjoy all the underwater world has to offer. We hope you have the opportunity to come back and visit us some day! Til then happy diving!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very smooth and efficient Organization. The whole team is very helpful and knowledgeable about the reef. We encountered a huge turtle sitting in the reef, some barracudas, lionfish, lobsters etc.. Very nice dive. Don't forget to ask the "Underwater Paparazzis" to come along to do a video or some pictures. They did a very good job as well and sent the video within a few days.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtime2010, Manager at Dreamtime Dive Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide Dreamtime with a review! We are so glad you had a great dive trip and had the opportunity to see some of the great marine life our region has to offer. It is awesome you were able to solicit Underwater Paparazzi's to get an amazing video and photos of the trip, they do a great job! Thanks again for the review! We hope you come back and visit soon. Until we meet again Happy Diving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“1st Time Scuba !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

28 feb 13, Had a fabulous 1st time try at scuba while on a cruise. Have to say the crew Instructors:- Richard, Mae & Carlos. Were outstanding in their welcome and service, We felt realy looked after as they were so professional and fun! :-) A very hard thing to do, but they did it ! We had seen other reviews of other places and heard about these 'try dives' and were apprehensive at first, but so glad we did it here. from the outset it was a comfortable experience. We took the opportunity of Orelie Favre doing a video of our dive too. it was what we thought a fair price and the resulting video proved that. we are hoping to go there properly and get certified ! :-D In a diving type way that is ! :-P

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtime2010, Manager at Dreamtime Dive Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review of Dreamtime. We are so glad you felt comfortable enough to try your first dive with us! We pride ourselves in our ability to operate a safe and fun dive experience for beginners. We are so excited you want to come back and visit us to start the next steps for certification! Feel free to email us at info@dreamtimediving.com to get information on a custom trip just for you! It is awesome you were able to purchase Orielie's video services she really does a great job of capturing such a memorable experience. Hope to see you again soon til then Happy Diving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dreamtime Dive Center also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Dreamtime Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreamtime Dive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.