We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our tour to Chacchoben Mayan Ruins was very enjoyable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Native Choice Tours

The Native Choice Tours
Av. Paseo del Puerto #1021, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
+52(998)869-3346
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Activities in Mahahual
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Costa Maya Shore Excursions for guests from all cruise lines.
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our tour to Chacchoben Mayan Ruins was very enjoyable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We went while on a cruise and were pleased by the total ease of meeting the group, a very informed tour and the sights were well kept and beautiful. Great time - glad we chose Native choice!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    50
    15
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best tour out of the cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was surprised at high level of organization and quality of this tour company. They have a nice office and a fleet of new vehicles. Their tour guys were very friendly and knowledgeable. I took the Chacchoben Extreme Tour which included a tour of the Chacchoben Ruins and the Bacalar Lagoon. Bacalar Lagoon is gorgeous place with plenty of stuff to do for kids and adults, including swimming, kayaking and water slides. This tour also includes a semi open bar with rum, tequila, vodka, and beer and fajita style lunch. Everything was just awesome. If you can ask for a tour guide by name I recommend Israel.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Chacchoben Ruin tour was ok but the Lagoon was a must!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We met the shuttle into the city right at the port and it was easy to find. They dropped us off right at the Native Choice office where we checked in and broke into groups based on the tour we picked. We choose the Chacchoben Extreme tour. The ride out wasn't bad our tour guide was a middle aged women who's name I can't remember. She was interesting on the ride out but once we got to the site she was pretty dull. The ruins themselves are a must see; however, the tour took a lot longer then necessary and it was roasting hot. Our guide was knowledgable but not very entertaining and I'm a huge history buff so I rarly find these kinds of tours dull. There are bathrooms and a shopping area at the site as well as a place to buy food or drinks. One of the benefits of booking withe native choice is that we got to the site before all the large cruise tours and we had a significantly smaller group. After we left the ruins we went to the lagoon where we had a chicken faijita lunch that was amazing! Even better the margaritas were included! We met Isreal at the lagoon who was amazing and amusing and kept the margaritas flowing. After lunch we headed down to the water. The view is beautiful but the beach is a little rocky. The have a great roped off area with blowup water toys for the kids or adventour adults. Our favorite thing to do was to take out the kayaks. We were told there are crocodiles but we didn't see any. I would love to give the tour 5 stars because we did have a great time, but I gave it 4 only because the ruin tour was a little dull. I still think they are the best tour company in Costa Maya and we will book with them again.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very reliable company. Strongly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

David from Native Choise has been excellence in term of knowledge about the Mayan. Very reliable company and strongly recommended if you happen to visit Costa Maya and or Cozumel. Visits to the Mayan ruins is an opportunity that anyone cannot miss. David was able to recheduled our tour because of the delay departure of our cruise NCL. He take care of pretty much everything and if for any reason if the cruise rescheduled they'll give full refund. Costa Maya we did Chacchoben Extreme Tour and Cozumel Tulum ruins sea and land.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Chacchoben Ruins & Lunch with Mayan Family...THE BEST FOOD EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I was on the Norwegian Spirit ( think i was on the same tour as ESFORD 2). It was extremely hot and humid but so worth it! Our Tour guide was Joel very informative about the culture, people and area we were visiting. The ruins& views were awesome but bring insect spray the bugs are brutal there.
The visit to the Mayan family for lunch was the best part of the tour! the best food I have ever had and Im still telling friends about this tour! So friendly and accomodating. This tour is well worth it and SO recomended! Dont book on the cruise they charge more and you get less for your money. We told everyone what we got and the price and they all wished they booked how we did! Thanks Native Choice! I hope to be back one day!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Native Choice Tours also viewed

 
Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico
 

Been to The Native Choice Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Native Choice Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.