We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill

Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill
Lote 8 Ave Mahahual | Oceanfront Malecon, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
984-134-7357
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 48 Restaurants in Mahahual
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Mahahual’s premier ocean front dining experience. A unique cultural and culinary blend of the best of Mexico and the US. Our food, music and ambiance combine the tastes and flavors of both of these two wonderful countries. We are located on the Malecon right in the center of the downtown beachfront. We offer comfortable inside dining as well as tables in the sand, just a few steps from the beautiful clear Caribbean waters. Best food and conversation in town!
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived in Costa Maya on a beautiful sunny May morning, and immediately walked outside the cruise port to catch a taxi for $2 each over to the beach. Tropicante was the first place we came to, and it was already open when we arrived early in the day. The food and drinks are great and priced low. The service is excellent! Not sure how to even begin to put a price on the view...who can beat a lounge chair facing the turquoise Caribbean Sea, with calm waters assisted by the barrier reef. It was pretty crowded though, we almost didn't get a chair...I'll definitely email Steve next time we go and reserve a chair :)! I've been on 23 cruises, and this definitely ranks in my top two places for a very relaxing and fantastic day port day. Very much recommend this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    19
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Great time to be had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our third trip to costa maya but first trip to tropicante. I highly recommend this place. My group of nine had a great and relaxing time. One of the adults with us said it was best message he ever had. Also, the food was great!
Steve and his team couldn't have treated us any better! Fantastic experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always a good time at Tropicante”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is the second time that I have been to the Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill. Steve (the owner) has taken care of everything I have needed both times. I was there with friends in November 2011 and then with family and friends (a group of 13 of us) in April 2013. Contact Steve prior to your trip to make reservations for a spot on this great beach. He can set you up with chairs/loungers, tables and umbrellas. He also has a conceirge (Jorge) that can book daily activities for you (fishing trips, paddle boards, massages on the beach). Both times the service has been second to none.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eads, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We love Tropicante, we've been to visit 2 times now and will probably visit again next Jan 2014. The staff & owner are so friendly and helpful getting us anything we need. They have plenty of chairs & tables and lots of coconut trees to give you shade if you don't want to get too much sun.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Tropicante is the best. Hands down. I've been to Costa Maya several times and this last cruise was the second time I made a reservation at Tropicante. A word to the wise, make sure when you get there that you're actually sitting in the Tropicante chairs. The guy who showed us where our reserved lounge chairs were actually worked at a neighboring restaurant and swooped in and sat us in their chairs. It was pretty sneaky but we sorted it out quickly.

Once we were happily settled in we were greeted with complimentary tequila shots and some amazing food! (have the guacamole, it's to die for!) The drinks are great, the wait staff is wonderful. Steve, the owner, walks around and chats with everyone, checking on comfort etc... It's really a great place to relax and soak up some sun. The ocean is beautiful, great swimming, jet skis just a bit down the beach. Vendors are walking by but no one was annoying. And did I mention the wait staff? They are so fun!

Seriously, go to Tropicante! You wont regret it!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill also viewed

Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.