We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families...well, anyone!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill

Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill
Lote 8 Ave Mahahual | Oceanfront Malecon, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
984-134-7357
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 45 restaurants in Mahahual
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Mahahual’s premier ocean front dining experience. A unique cultural and culinary blend of the best of Mexico and the US. Our food, music and ambiance combine the tastes and flavors of both of these two wonderful countries. We are located on the Malecon right in the center of the downtown beachfront. We offer comfortable inside dining as well as tables in the sand, just a few steps from the beautiful clear Caribbean waters. Best food and conversation in town!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for families...well, anyone!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a wonderful day at Tropicante! The beach is wonderful - very clean and neat. Although recently hit by Ernesto, you would never know as trees were abundant as were chairs, tables and loungers. To start, the emails were personal and very detailed (how to get there, what to expect) and most appreciated. Once there, we were welcomed and shown to our tables. I had a one hour massage and my husband a half-hour - the masseuse was excellent. Steve stopped by each table and spent lots of time talking and making everyone feel welcome. The staff were all friendly, fun and really made us feel at home. Food was excellent and drinks cold and plentiful. We all felt very safe - never thought about it until reading the nasty review. If I came back alone or with girlfriends, I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!! Thanks Steve for a great day!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    233
    17
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Ignore the other poster because this place has the best food and drink and the nicest owner.I am a woman and love this place.I am coming again on Sept 6th...my anniversary.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The go-to place in Costa Maya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just visted Tropicante during a stop on the Disney Fantasy. If you are looking for a relaxing beach day, this is the place to visit. Steve is a gracious host and his directions from the port where spot on. His staff was very friendly and attentive, the service excellent and the food delicious. The sand was smooth and the water was crystal clear and warm. You will enjoy every minute.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous time!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were lucky enough to visit Tropicante in March of 2012 as a stop on our cruise. We had made all reservations via email with the owner Steve. He was very quick to respond to my comments and questions and we reserved an umbrella on their beach for the day. He encourages people to reserve ahead of time. It's free to reserve, he just wants you to eat and drink there. He gave really great, specific instructions on the right cab to hail outside the cruiseport gates so we wouldn't be lead astray. We were really thankful to have had those, let me tell you!. We got there super early in the morning as our ship got into port early. We opened the place and were the first ones there. They greeted us right away, introduced us to our waiter for the day, showed us to our loungers on the beach, and set up our umbrella for us. It was really windy that day and a little cool but we had no complaints-still beat snowy weather of MA! We quickly got a bucket of Coronas set at our table and were set for a while. More people started to arrive and soon the owner came over and introduced himself to us. We chatted for a while, he gave us the code to use the free wifi, and gave us the low down on how to shoo the beach vendors away. I would say the only downside to the whole experience was the number of beach vendors annoying you throughout the day. For the most part though, a firm "No, gracias" sent them on their way. The beach was smaller than I thought it would be but the water was warm and clean. After finishing several Coronas, we started with the 100% Agave tequila. And let me say, they kept it flowing. We ate a yummy HUGE platter of appetizers and felt bad we barely made a dent into it (and we are big eaters!). It was our anniversary and the staff brought us complimentary shots right before we left. We had another couple who we had met on the cruise come visit us there and they were instantly served when they arrived and had a great time as well. Our tab for the day was $40 US and we easily ate and drank twice that amount in the 5+ hours we were there. We left a $40 tip to our waiter as well and he brought us more tequila as a thank you for the tip! I would love to go back there again. Steve and his staff were wonderful and we had a great experience!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village Tx.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best place to go in Costa Maya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We just completed our Disney Fantasy cruise with a stop in Costa Maya. We were part of a group of families that cruise together every year and were tiered of the expensive cruise excursions and wanted something different for or families with kids. Let me first off say the the owner Steve is a wonderful host and a great guy. Steve welcomes all guest to the Tropicante and will let you use his wifi for FREE along with if you would like to make a short call back to the main land he will gladly let you use his phone. The chairs and umbrellas are *FREE* just buy some food and drink at there place. ( food prices were CHEAP and quality EXCELLENT). The beach area is very clean and the water crystal clear. As far as safety was concearned there were no issues or consearns for any of us over protective parents go and have a great time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill also viewed

Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.