We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Town to Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel to your Saves list
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huachinango, Mahahual, Mexico (Formerly Matan Ka'an Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oregon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice Town to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

this is the place to stay if visiting Mahahual. Location is great, staff is great. Please note: NO TELEVISION in any of the rooms. Breakfast was very minimual but ok and you could buy other options. I would stay here again

Room Tip: I stayed in room Pelicano and would advise to take another room sinple because I could always hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Becky,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Ko'ox Matan Ka'an Hotel and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your days in Mahahual, our hotel, facilities and services.

Thank you for chosen us and we look forward to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    51
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
34
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Very comfortable and clean. Great place to spend a few days and relax at the beach.

We had quite a big room, two queen sized beds, a large bathroom and air conditioning. The staff were quite accommodating. We didn't eat at the restaurant as there were many other options around.

We didn't use the pool - as the beach was close and so lovely. But to get a beach towel, we had to walk 'sister' location about a 10 min walk away - it was nice.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at Ko'ox Matan Ka'an Hotel and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your days with us, and our facilities and services.

We want to thank you for chosen us and we look forward to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were with a group of 8 adults who live in Playa Del Carmen and were looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Mahahual for a few nights.
We booked our stay on one of the major websites for an awesome price. We figured for the price, we wouldn't expect much. Two couples booked a standard room and two couples booked the upgraded room. We stayed in Delfin and another friend stayed in Manatee. Both of our rooms were very very spacious, nice large room with two double beds. Our room did not have a TV but the Manatee room had a nice looking flat screen TV. Nice large bathroom with a bidet, good water pressure in the shower and plenty of hot water.
We saw one of the upgraded rooms (Caracol), which was signifcantly smaller than our standard size room. The friends that stayed in that room were disappointed, not because the room was bad, or even too small....just compared to our rooms.
We were super impressed with this little hotel, especially considering the price we paid!

Pros:
nice and clean
great location
restaurant on site with good breakfasts (we didn't eat a later meal, but the restaurant was very busy with locals around 5:30, which seemed to indicate good food @ good value)
great staff
nice soap and shampoo provided in bathrooms
towels were nice and fluffy
multiple and very nice common areas to sit with friends, drink wine, play cards

Cons:
Don't come for their pool. I really don't think it's to swim in
Beach towels and beach club were a 10-15 minute walk. We got there around 11 am and there were no clean towels!! Plus...too close to cruise ship pier for my liking.

All in all, we really liked this hotel. We'd definitely recommend it and will return.

Room Tip: Delfin and Manatee were nice large rooms. We liked Delfin best because of the nice sitting area out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at Ko'ox Matan Ka'an Hotel and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays with us.
Thanks to write is the pro and contras issues, because both of them help us to improve our services and facilities, to offer you the best!

Thanks again for chosen us and we look forward to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Room was very small but clean and also the bathroom. Good location,near the beach and town The food in the restuarant was fine but only ate breakfast there. Price was reasonable and really no complaints about the hotel. It was quiet when i was here. The pool not sure if you can swim in it. Enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had a great weekend with the girls in Mahahaul it was a girls birthday trip. Good food, average prices, near to an excellent beach and boardwalk. Lovely rooms and bathrooms. Clean and tidy. Pool needs some renovations though.

Room Tip: There are no irons in the rooms Mir at the reception. Great staff and service though! I will come ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear friend,

Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at Ko'ox Matan Ka'an Hotel, and we are really happy to know that you enjoyed your girl birthday trip in Mahahual and with us!!
We take into account the detail you had mentioned about the pool.

Thanks again for chosen us and we look forward to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The manager, Alicia, and her family are incredibly welcoming and accommodating. They truly make you feel like family from the moment you arrive. The hotel is a wonderful boutique hotel with many artisan touches and a very nice pool. The food in the restaurant is excellent and they have the best cafe americano that we found in Mahahual! The hotel is quiet at night. Get a glass of wine from the restaurant (Alicia introduced us to a delicious red) and make your way to the sitting area on the second floor, where you can enjoy the cool ocean breeze.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear family,

Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at Ko'ox Matan Ka'an Hotel. We really appreciate your words and Alicia and all the staff want to thank you for your kindness.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities.., and the red wine, of course, delicious!

Thanks again for chosen us and we look forward to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I visited Majahual with my girlfriend in November and it was really nice and quiet with no cruises docking those days.

The room was good value for money, clean and spacious. the only small thing was that their TV's are so small you can't see anything from the beds, not that we care about it.

The hotel is very close to the beach but you have to consume in rather poor and overpriced restaurants located along the "Malecon" If you want to avoid being harassed by people trying to get you inside their restos, you definitely can use Matan Kaan's beach club located a 10-minute walk away at their other hotel Quinto sole, where the restaurant is really good and the area is more quiet and private

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Jorge,

Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at Ko'ox Matan Ka'an Hotel in Mahahual. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your days with us, and specially the wonderful service and food of the Quinto Sole's Restaurant and Beach Club.
We look forward to welcome you again very soon and have a great 2014!

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel

Address: Huachinango, Mahahual, Mexico (Formerly Matan Ka'an Hotel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mahahual
#4 Family Hotel in Mahahual
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mahahual
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old Mayan language Matan Ka`an means "gift from the sky" and for all of us that we have worked with sacrifice and passion, it was really true. Matan Ka`an Hotel is located in the heart of Mahahual, a small fisherman village which can be a perfect start point to visit the entire surrounding area, rich of unspoiled natural beauties as the bank of Chinchorro, the only Mexican Caribbean atoll, or the biosphere of Sian Ka'an. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koox Matan Ka'An Hotel Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.