We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travel in'

Travel in'
Camino Costera km 6 south, Mahahual, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Mahahual
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, International, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Travel in' is a restaurant with international cuisine located on the caribbean beach. All home made dishes, such as pita bread, shoarma, curry shrimp. Wednesdays is tapas night.For special occasions we have meat-, cheese- and chinese fondue.Our guest house in the colorfull garden is for rent. Also a palapa and camping is available
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Good food and really good price. The owners are very nice and friendly. Limit to only seafood , so not the greatest selection but great for seafood!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seguin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A wonderful family living their dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I've never eaten such good food in a restaurant, where I felt like I was being welcomed in someone's home. Justa cooks what she lives, with a Dutch sensibility with spices. Albert is terrific host and bartender. If you have luck, Justa will have made rum raisin ice cream for dessert. Couple also have a corner of the warm and funky dining room/bar where they sell handicrafts and gifts to take home, or much better quality than you 'll probably find in Mahahual.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Beautifully decked out with traditional designs to give it an authentic Mexican feel, the couple who run and own it have done everything to make dining here a special experience. The food, including the freshly baked pitta bread is delicious, the seafood (fresh shrimp) and the poblanos were beauiful crafted and very tasty. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Small, Intimate, Friendly, and great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent a week in Majahual. Of all the places we stopped to eat, this is one of the few we stopped back a second time. Lovely people, great food. What else can you ask for? We highly recommend checking this place out!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Our group ate there twice during our stay. The owners have developed a charming atmosphere and serve excellent food. We could not have had a better dining experience and I could not recommend them enough. Please treat yourself and visit the travel in. You will not be disappointed

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Travel in' also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Travel in'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel in', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.