We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've tried the rest now try the best!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de los 40 Canones

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Posada de los 40 Canones to your Saves list
La Posada de los 40 Canones
Malecon, Mahahual, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Monument, Colorado, United States
1 review
“You've tried the rest now try the best!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Relaxing beachfront with excellent staff and amenities. Food is super and atmosphere relaxing!!! Located on the Malecon on the south end provides a peaceful relaxing stay!! Hotel staff are accommodating and willing to go out of there way to help you. I even had one go offsite with me to help me resolve another problem I was having in town!!!

Room Tip: try for any beach view in the new building being built----they also have small kitchettes!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    33
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
66
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed at La Posada de los 40 Canones several times, and each time we are 100% satisfied, only to return to find that the next stay is even better. We have stayed in the hotel rooms and in a few of the condos/apartments. They are very comfortable and extremely clean and maintained. Finding English speaking staff is no problem, and everyone goes the extra mile to meet our needs...and then some. The food is fabulous, the drinks never ending, and the atmosphere laid back and relaxing. The beach and gentle surf is viewed from most of the rooms and condos and is only a few yards from the restaurant. If you like fun and adventure you'll find it; paddle boards, jet skis, kayaks, skate boards, long boards and bikes are also available for rent. We can't wait to go back and discover what new amenities they might add next year. If you are looking for a true taste of Costa Maya with upscale lodging, food and amenities, La Posada de los 40 Canones is the place to be. Just PERFECT!

Room Tip: If you like space and want to cook, book a condo or apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbox Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

perfect combination of friendly and efficent service with relaxing and funny atmosphere. Thanks Mimmo, the friendly owner that was always helpful and taking care about our stay.
The restaurant PEZ CUADRO is excellent too. Thanks Flor for the fantastic crab and tartare prepared with a lot of love
Hope to be back soon

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We traveled to Mahahual for the first time in October and arrived with no reservation, although I had a list of hotels I wanted to check out. We found Forty Cannons first and once I saw it I didn't even want to bother looking around anymore. The place is lovely and the staff was very warm and helpful. We went with a room with an oceanview and a king bed. The beds are COMFORTABLE here, which is hard to find sometimes in Mexico. All rooms have A/C. They had covered parking, which was nice because it was raining when we got there. We checked in and ate at the restaurant on-site because we were starving after our drive. The restaurant is El Pez Cuadro and they have a great beach club too. The food was excellent and compared to Akumal and Tulum ... it was cheap! We think Mahahual is our new home away from home. We can't wait to come back. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It's Mahahual - get the ocean view room. We liked #23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at 40 Canones for 6 nights and we enjoyed staying there every minute. The beach is beautiful, rooms are clean and have everything you need. Everyone is friendly and welcoming, they make you feel at home. This is defiantly the best place to stay in Mahahual.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawasse, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for a night Oct. 14th 2012. We opted for the cheapest room in a quiet area. The room wasn't fancy and the layout was a little strange. the beach in front of the hotel was beautiful. The staff extremely friendly! The food at the resturant was ok. Overall it was a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

we were put in one of the condos attached to the hotel, and it was great.
comfortable living room with a balcony facing the sea, all amenities like satellite TV, wi-fi, and air con. more than we were expecting!! nice bedroom with king size bed. great restaurant and beach available to us. a beautiful environment, lots to do.....
staff were very courteous and helpful.
a happy place to stay!! try Santos' Margaritas!!

Room Tip: try the one-bedroom condos on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de los 40 Canones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de los 40 Canones

Address: Malecon, Mahahual, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Posada de los 40 Canones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Los 40 Canones Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de los 40 Canones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.