We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium to your Saves list
The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Edson, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at the royal suites in feb mar 2014 and I cant say enough positive things about this place! We had the best treatment and even had a bath with champagne and candles given to use compliments of the butler staff! The outdoor shower was so cool! I loved feeding the fish off the balcony and the food.....OMG I gained 10 lbs! LOL

Room Tip: stay in 7204 or 7214
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear CherieC82,

First and foremost, thank you for your good comments and feedback from your last stay with us. I feel glad to realize that you did have the wonderful vacations expected, very good choice to stay at the Royal Suite Yucatan .We are very grateful to have their wishes met.

Thanks again and please let us know if there is anything further we can do and feel free to contact us for your next visit to grant you the best of all attentions.

Kind regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    167
    59
    24
    9
See reviews for
62
727
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Here now, massive complex. Royal suites is adult only with access to the other 4 hotels and amenities, including bars, pools, restaurants, entertainment etc.
Friendly staff, great food, clean, spacious, attention to detail.
Tips: use golf carts to travel between hotel grounds or take the boat! There is also a little train.
1 or 2 US Dollar tips go a long way with the staff here
Beach is sandy and not over crowded
Look out for special areas exclusively for Yucatan guests
Weather here is around 80 degrees (March)
Best building is 69 as quiet and right next to pool
Bit of a walk to the beach, but worth it, sandy and great for snorkelling

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Small private section of a very large resort. The private pool with waiter service is very relaxing with poolside beds. The Bartender Jose Luis in the hotel lobby builds great rapport and is a pleasure to be around.

Although the resort is very large, the private golf cart service makes it easy to get around. Especially to the private travel club beach, wear they serve you all your drinks in glasses and is close to the water sports.

The Royal suites allows you access to reserve at all a la carte restaurants which is great as they tend to get busy at 7:30. Your reservation will get you in right away, the food and service in most of these restaurants is unbeleivable.

Royal Suites give you access to a private restaurant "El Jardin", no reservation required but would not recommend eating at this restaurant every night. Food is great BUT service is TERRIBLE. We ate there 3 times. Each time the service was very SLOW, with at least a 30-40min wait between courses. Once I had to get up and go to the bar to fill both our wine and water glasses. The other a la cartes have much better service.

At check in they did ask us what we would like stocked in our mini bar by filling out a form, but found it was never stocked as per our request.

The spa was very nice and relaxing. However do not book the same treatment at the same time because you won't both get the same service. Ex. Wife and I got a body wrap, I got the room where I got a scrub and body wrap. However my wife go the scrub and just got it rinsed off.

If they do improve these things the resort would be perfect.

Lastly Room service included was phenomenal, ordering breakfast while getting ready for the beach is a great way to maximize your time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great place. Great staff. This was our 4th year in a row here. We booked a Royal Suite and upon arrival we were advised that they only had a Jr Suite. They told us it was a booking problem. We booked this trip in October 2013. What they did was give our Suite away. This is how they treat repeat customers. We talked to 2 other couples(1 couple booked in April) who had the same thing happen to them. The other couple were part of the Palladium Travel Club. So buyers beware.
We were compensated with 2 x 50 minute massages and a few other goodies but that never compensates for the disappointment of not receiving what we planned and paid for. We did get a Suite in the Royal section after 3 nights in a Suite in the Riviera section. I noticed that the Manager showed her appreciation in her comments in Trip Advisor thanking a couple for their loyalty on their second stay at the Royal. But loyalty is a two way street. The Royal did not, or chose not, to return their loyalty to us. I doubt that we will return as I cannot trust this hotel to honor their commitments.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Tim L,

We feel really sorry to learn about your opinion of that unfortunate situation, specially being a repeat customer and due the support received from you at that difficult and unusual moment. I would like to truly apologize for your experience in your last vacations. While the staff at Palladium does their best to make sure that our guests have a great experience while with us, at times we do fall short in our efforts and are things out of our control.

I hope you can give us another opportunity and come back to let us show you the Palladium hospitality. If there is anything else that we can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Alejandro Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We ended up upgrading to the Royal Suites about a week before we left. It was totally worth it. The other resorts are very nice, but on the Royal Suites side you really do get treated like royalty. The staff are really friendly and helpful. You have your own private restaurant for breakfast that you can order off the menu or do the buffet, your own pool and private beach area. The beach area is pretty far, but on the Royal Suites side you have your own cart drivers, so you never have to wait long to get places and they are really friendly. All in all, I would absolutely go back and do the Royal Suites again, absolutely worth the extra money.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great, but the suites are beautiful, would recommend upgrading to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was our third trip to this Palladium property, but our first time on the Royal Suites side. We had great times in the other sections of the resorts during our other trips but, the amenities, services, and extra perks are well worth the extra money to stay on the Royal Suites side. Perfect for couples or anybody who wants a quieter side of the resort. We had a Mayan Suite and really enjoyed having the deck, lounging chairs, hammock, and outdoor shower. It was nice to watch the fish swim in the lake right from your deck. The Royal Suites Beach is very nice and has drink and snack service. It is quite far from the Royal Suites rooms, but we never had problems getting a ride in a golf cart if we didn't feel like walking. You just have to ask and the staff will do whatever they can to help you. The Royal Suites Pool is also very nice with excellent service and is close to the Royal Suites rooms.

We spent two afternoons enjoying the spa facilities and services. It was very clean and the treatments were great.

The best part for me was that they have a program for people with serious allergies. When we checked in, they gave me allergy alert cards that you show the captains of each restaurant that you visit. The captains will help you find something safe to eat. This is a huge relief for somebody with life threatening allergies. The staff handled this very well.

It was a fabulous 10th anniversary trip and we can't wait to return for our fourth trip there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colville, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was my husband and I's first time away from our children in 9 years. We decided to stay in The Royal Suites and enjoy all the benefits. We decided to explore the property on foot most of the time and became very familiar with all of the hotels and how to get to the beach. Everyone works so hard at keeping everything clean and beautiful. We loved everything. The food was excellent, but we loved El Jardin the most. Samual at El Jardin was very sweet and went the extra mile for us. There was nothing not to like, we stayed for 8 day and wanted to stay longer.
Next time we would like to stay in a Mayan Suite, but we promised our children that we will be going back next year but with them.

Room Tip: We loved the top floor and building 71 is close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 Business Hotel in Akumal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#3 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Yucatan consists of 130 luxurious rooms located in an exclusive area within the Grand Palladium Resort & Spa in the Mayan Riviera. Guest may enjoy first class facilities that include a private lobby with a bar, exclusive swimming pool with Jacuzzi, unlimited dinner reservations at the theme restaurants, private bar with premium beverages, room service, free Internet connection, bar service to the pool sun beds and an exclusive restaurant. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Yucatan By Palladium Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Royal Hotel Puerto Aventuras
The Royal Suites Yucatan By Palladium Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.