We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip in 9 years with my husband was not disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium to your Saves list
The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colville, Washington
1 review
“First Trip in 9 years with my husband was not disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was my husband and I's first time away from our children in 9 years. We decided to stay in The Royal Suites and enjoy all the benefits. We decided to explore the property on foot most of the time and became very familiar with all of the hotels and how to get to the beach. Everyone works so hard at keeping everything clean and beautiful. We loved everything. The food was excellent, but we loved El Jardin the most. Samual at El Jardin was very sweet and went the extra mile for us. There was nothing not to like, we stayed for 8 day and wanted to stay longer.
Next time we would like to stay in a Mayan Suite, but we promised our children that we will be going back next year but with them.

Room Tip: We loved the top floor and building 71 is close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    210
    70
    28
    11
See reviews for
73
883
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This was our second time to this resort and, once again, it didn't disappoint. We arrived on time with a flawless check-in and were promptly brought to our room along with our luggage.
The royal mayan suites are so very clean with all the amenities that you could need during your stay.
We loved the outdoor shower and with its complete privacy, as well as the patio outside the sleeping area that has 2 lounge chairs and a hammock that overlooked the lagoon. We

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great resort. Food, staff and amenities were wonderful. Special mention and thanks to William at the Royal pool bar who went above and beyond for my son. Will definitely return in the future. Only negative is the long hike to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Granted, this was our 2nd trip to the Royal Suites Yucatan and our 5th to the Grand Palladium Resort, so we knew exactly what to expect and we were not disappointed. Upon entering the resort, you are confronted by a long winding driveway, which lends to the illusion that you are off the beaten path. As soon as you arrive you are made right at home, from the front desk to the bartenders, the staff are over the top friendly. Thanks Filiberto and Lucy for the excellent service at the royal lobby bar! The dry vodka martinis are excellent! The Mayan Suites are spacious and well appointed, although the outdoor showers are a bit in the open. The restaurants are nice, and plentiful and while one Japanese table show is like any other, the chef makes it an experience. The royal beach is way on the other side of the resort, which makes sense, as the beach near the Royal Suites is too rocky. Granted, you can hop onto a golf cart for a quick drive. The entertainment is great, but not a lot had changed in 2 years, which is a bit disappointing. If you are on a first time visit, or simply want a solid performance, the Royal Suites Yucatan is for you. What stops me from rating this as an excellent rating is that we have been there, done that and with so many other resorts available, we thought it was time to try something different.

Room Tip: If you are selecting the Mayan Suites, try not to get the first 4 rooms off the road, as they are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We travelled here planning to be with another couple, but due to a family emergency, they were unable to come with us. As soon as we arrived, we were upgraded to one of their nicest suites on the man made riviera. Gorgeous. Huge resort with something for everyone. Food was better than most all-inclusives and was easy to have adult-only amenities even though was obviously a family-friendly resort also. We will be going back. With kids? Maybe! Or maybe not!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Brook D,


Thanks a lot for such a delightful review about your last holidays in our resort. Reading it made us feel happy for being part of the team that made possible to offer you a memorable vacation.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chowchilla, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Suites in the adult only section. The rooms were fine (not fancy) and the resort is HUGE. The food was their biggest downfall, the food on beach is better than the restaurants. The beach was SO far that we thought we should have stayed at the Riviera or White Sands part of the resort because we want to be by the water. I wouldn't stay here again because of the food but the beach was gorgeous and the facility was beautiful.

Room Tip: Stay close to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Dairygirl1,

I am sorry to learn that your stay and experience was a disappointing one. About the issues that you said in your trip report, I would like to mention that it is important for us as a hotel to know how and where we need to do to better meet our guests’ expectations.

I hope you can give us another opportunity and come back to let us show you the Palladium hospitality. If there is anything else that we can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Alejandro Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Our third time to the resort, first visit to the Royal Suites. The prior two visits were to the Kantenah and the Riviera. The rooms, service and food were great on those visits. We chose to try the Royal Suites on this trip to check out the upgrades. Worth every cent!! All 5 resorts were at capacity yet the Royal Suites section was still relatively quiet. Service, including front desk, bellman, restaurant, cleaning staff, drivers, etc. was perfect. The entire resort is clean and well kept. The meals and service in the A la Cartes was very good. The service at the buffets, depending on the time of day, was less than perfect at times. The food at the buffets was quite good. The Royal Beach section, although far away from the Royal Suites, was in a great spot on the beach. Had no problems finding beach loungers at any time of the day (and there were 6 of us). Had to wait way too long for a return shuttle ride from the beach on a few occasions. The beach bar in this area had sandwiches, salads, ice cream, fruit etc. Never an issue picking up towels anywhere in the resort. The main pools and beaches were very busy and lots of action if that is what you were looking for.

It was my son and his wife's anniversary while there and my wife asked the front desk if there was something special they could do for them. They returned to their room after supper and there were rose petals, champagne, candles, chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for them. The whole deal. What a great resort!! More important what great people. We will be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Tanned A,

First and foremost, thank you for believing in us and for making The Royal Suites your holiday’s destination, for us is really important to realize that our guests feel like home and become part of our Palladium family. We really appreciate your comments, especially because you know well the hotel and the service, so it shows us the improvement that we work for.

If there is anything further we can do, please, just let us know, and also please tell us when you would come again in order to make the proper arrangements and assure your vacations are fantastic.

Kind regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Yucatan consists of 130 luxurious rooms located in an exclusive area within the Grand Palladium Resort & Spa in the Mayan Riviera. Guest may enjoy first class facilities that include a private lobby with a bar, exclusive swimming pool with Jacuzzi, unlimited dinner reservations at the theme restaurants, private bar with premium beverages, room service, free Internet connection, bar service to the pool sun beds and an exclusive restaurant. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Yucatan By Palladium Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Royal Hotel Puerto Aventuras
The Royal Suites Yucatan By Palladium Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.