We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Time and Still Happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium to your Saves list
The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“4th Time and Still Happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We wrote a review on the Riviera page prior to finding out that there was a specific page for the Royal Suites so I am placing it here as well. We want to ensure anyone considering staying here knows how happy we have been with the resort.

We just returned from our fourth stay at the Grand Palladium Royal Suites. When we arrived many of the staff from prior years were still there which was great to see. We previously stayed in the cabanas however opted for the one bedroom suite this year. We do love the cabanas but the separation in the one bedroom is nice if you have one person that like to sleep in and one that gets up early. The outdoor shower in the cabanas was missed (but not on the chillier mornings) however the tile shower in the one bedroom is very spacious.

We don't want to list names, in case we forget to list someone, but the staff is WONDERFUL. From the second you arrive until you get on the shuttle to leave they are always there with a smile and a handshake or hug and willing to assist with any request. They somehow remember your name and what your drink preferences are which is amazing considering how many people they see. We returned to our room after dinner one night to a path of flower petals and candles leading out to the Jacuzzi tub which was filled with warm water and bubbles. There was also champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. Talk about a wonderful surprise!!! It made the trip even more special.

The grounds keep getting better every year. The plants are maturing and are very well cared for by the staff.

The food is wonderful. The buffet has something for everyone and the ala carts are always good. El Jardin is wonderful. The waiters are very attentive and the food is incredible. The chef even came out to ensure that our meal was satisfactory. Even the room service food is great.

We would highly recommend staying at the Grad Palladium Royal Suites. You won't want to leave when it's time to return home.

Room Tip: If you stay in the suites and are looking for privacy it would be best to request an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    168
    59
    24
    9
See reviews for
62
729
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We returned from our week stay at The Royal Suites Yucatan and it was more than I expected! Our little area offered our own private swimming pool with bar/our own lobby that served drinks and light food or you can even order a meal there if you choosed...People were friendly, and always had a smile! The Royal Suites were amazing, we stayed in one of the bungalows overlooking the man-made river, had an mayan shower(outside) jacquzzi,mini bar which was fully stocked everyday with soda, water, beer. The bed was so comfortable,it was like my bed at home! I was in awe of the beautiful beach they had, the water was so clear and so many fish..we had been to the Mayan 4 other times( stayed in different hotels everytime) and never experienced all the fish! It is a quiet beach, no loud music or vendors..very nice and relaxing....We have decided we will probably not try anymore hotels in the Mayan, we will just be coming to the Royal Suites!

Room Tip: If you choose a bungalow do not get one near the bridge...too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were waited on hand and foot. Room service was excellent. Agustin and Frank were always available to shuttle us around. Enjoyed the spa, restaurants, pools, bars, ocean.... Everything. Experience of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Buffets were okay. Restaurant food was great. All bars were excellent. 3rd floor suites are the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have done quite a bit of traveling in the Caribbean over the last 12 years, resorts from 3 to 5 star ratings, our opinions are based on past experiences we’ve had at other resorts, and we have always had an open mind. Every summer we start looking for that special “ Paradise “ read reviews from previous years, compare prices, travel time, as does everyone else I’m sure. We like to keep an open mind with both good and bad reviews, I’ve always said “believe half of what you read and half of what you see“. Let’s face it, NOT everyone has the same taste or the same expectations for that matter.

Our favorite destination to date, or the place we would go to for a second time, is The Royal Suites in Puerto Vallarta, talk about getting pampered, by the way, our meaning of pampered is getting service of any kind without having to ask for it, in our humble opinion, if you have to ask for it, you are NOT being pampered. If you have to ask for something more than once that is to be included with the venue, then we consider this less than EXCELLENCE as far as customer service is concerned.

Now for the actual review

The staff:

Bartenders, waiters, pool boy, bellboys and maids were all extremely polite, helpful and very eager to please, wish we could say the same for the actual staff at the royal suite front desk, upon our arrival to the Royal suites Juan greeted us pleasantly enough, but NO cold refreshing drink of any kind. If anything we found the sign-in to be rather rushed and unprofessional to say the least, it almost felt as though we were interrupting him from doing some thing else, certainly odd as we were the only couple checking in.The arrival in our room was good, found a fruit basket and a fully stocked fridge. KLater we found that the IPod docking station in our room did not work and passed by the front desk on the way to breakfast the next morning and told Juan about it. We were told “ok we`ll look after it”, during our two week stay it never did get " looked at". We made dinner reservations for the Chef special menu for Wed night dining, showed up for dinner Wed night only to find we were NOT on the reservation list, Damian was kind enough to fit us in, as I said we are sticklers for asking only once. It's all about customer service, and in this case the lack of it.

The Room:

The room was good, aged and far from great, outside shower was different, and a novelty that never wore off during our stay, AC worked extremely well, no canoe after day 2, really? Have to ask for something that is supposed to come with the room? Our room was 7222 right on the waterway across from a bridge, forget about having a little alone time, if it wasn't that pontoon boat going by every 10 to 20 minutes every day starting at 8 am to dark, it was people stopping on the bridge gawking at us all hours of the day. In our humble opinion this suite was definitely NOT worth the full price we paid, in fact due to it's location it should have been a discounted room.

El Jardin:

Honestly the only place we had dinner and breakfast it was truly the high lite of our stay, we found it to be well above our expectations, especially after reading all the reviews, truthfully I could not see wasting my time going elsewhere, only one out of 14 dinners fell short of perfect, not everyone can cook Mahi Mahi the way we like it. The staff and Chefs at Jardin were awesome, talk about being pampered, it’s like they read your mind. Had the opportunity to meet the head chef at El Jardin as well as THE CHEF “ Top Dog “ as the waiters explained.

For lunch we’d head over to the White Sands, it’s pretty much like any other buffet you’d have at any other resort plenty of selection for every one.

The Grounds:

Most definitely NOT the place to go if you’re not into walking or stair climbing, we heard there were a lot of stairs, BUT, no mention of bridges that had to be crossed if going in a particular direction, oh sure you could cut back on those stairs, but then you get into a much LONGER walk, what? Use the carts? Sorry those carts are for the lazy folk, all that wonderful greenery and wildlife, are you kidding me? You could go to the same place take a different route every day and never get bored. Bottom line if you’re in the Mayan suites and you want to go to the White sands buffet the fastest way is the hardest, it will cost you minimum 80 stairs each way, uneven stairs at that!

The grounds as a whole, totally awesome, plenty of vegetation, and wildlife, and the beach WOW best beach I’ve seen since Punta Cana in the DR. Not seen anyone mention this, guess too many have had too much to realize this, but, you can walk on that beach all day in the hot sun and not have the soles of your feet feel like they’re going to burn off, it’s coral sand, stays much cooler then the silica stuff in the DR.

Our bottom line:

We definitely feel The Royal Suites Yucatan had missed its mark compared to the other two Grand Palladium resorts we’ve been to. Right off the hop we found it to be, so-so. We are not ones to complain, we have found that complaining is a waste of time, we’re on vacation, no point getting the BP up, we take our vacations to relax so we make the best of our vacation time, regardless of what we encounter.

Would we return to The Royal Suites Yucatan, likely not. Usually when we leave a resort there is always a little part of us that just wants to stay, however we couldn’t wait to get off the resort and head home. Right from the start we felt that we had not gotten the best bang for our buck, in fact we feel we overpaid.

Other points:

Chair bandits, you know, these are the folks that get up in the middle of the night to lay towels out on the loungers to claim them even if they don’t use them. Come on people, an adult only section, really?? Grow up!!!

Bridges and stairs, when you take the board walk starting at the Mayan Suites you are looking at 2 bridges minimum 80 stairs, go to the theater or the White sands main buffet it’s a choice of 2 bridges 80 stairs or 3 bridges 120 stairs, quite a work out in the hot sun.

There were 2 trains, 1 to run from lobby to lobby, and the second to do a complete run of the perimeter, the latter never ran while we were there.

Room Tip: If your plans include the Mayan Suites definitely stay away from suite 7222 & 7221
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irricana, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at The Royal Suites Yucatan and I'm sitting here wishing I was still there. This trip was a belated 10 year Anniversary trip for my husband and I and thanks to the incredible staff (who became like family), it was a trip we will never forget. We can't even begin to mention all the staff that went out of their way to make this trip so special for us (from Louis and William at the Royal Pool bar, to Abraham at El Jardin to Frank and Agustin at the Royal lobby). If you want a resort where you can relax, meet great people and have an amazing time, then this is the place for you.

There have been some comments on previous posts about slower service at El Jardin (restaurant exclusive to Royal Suite guests), with the golf carts, etc. and all I can say is "YOU ARE ON VACATION" - relax, grab a drink and be patient. The staff here goes above and beyond to do everything they can to make you happy and to ensure you are having the best vacation possible.

Thank-you Royal Suites for making this such a great vacation - we will be counting the days until we return!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Review of Royal Suites Yucatan (RSY)
Jan 26~Feb 26, 2013

RSY overview:
The Royal Suites Yucatan is the adults only section of the large sprawling Grand Palladium complex which is comprised of 4 other resort sections (Kantenah, Colonial, White Sand & Riviera).
Distance to airport:
Trip to the Palladium was 2 hrs including dropping off at two other resorts. This timing seems to be about par with other reviews.
No AC in the mini-bus which made it a bit uncomfortable (not the resort's fault).
Private transfers can be arranged to and from the airport for $85 (4 to 6 passengers).
Arrival:
Check-in at the RSY was very private and efficient and only took a couple of minutes before we were escorted to our room.
Accomodations:
Our room, a junior suite in bldg 69, on the 2nd floor facing the lagoon around the Riviera section. Very close to the Royal pool.
All guest buildings (except the Mayan suites) are 3 story blocks around a small interior courtyard with a fountain and palm trees.
The suite was immaculate and fresh with flowers and a pleasing decor of a Spanish Caribbean fusion with tile floors and stucco walls.
Amenities:
The room featured a comfy (though firm) king bed, a 50 inch Sony flat screen TV, mini-bar & fridge re-stocked daily according to your preferences, dual vanity, a separate shower & toilet, and a large jacuzzi tub on the balcony. High speed wi-fi Internet access is available in the rooms, lobby and pool side (included). The iPhone dock on the clock radio was handy. Choose from the pillow menu to make your sleep even more comfortable. AC & ceiling fan is quiet & efficient. Room service 24hrs.
The staff did a superb job with daily cleaning & nightly turn-down service. We always tip these mostly unseen workers and I have to say they earned it and our gratitude.
Only used the big tub on the balcony once as it took almost an hour to fill (lots of hot water) but disappointingly little pressure from the water jets.
Tip 1: If you have mobility problems (ie. stairs) request a ground floor room as there are no elevators.
Tip 2: The 3rd floor offers more privacy on your terrace if you want to use the jacuzzi.
Tip 3: If you choose one of the Mayan suites located on the canal surrounding the RSY, opt for one that is not directly overlooked by the 3 storey suite bldgs.
Pool area:
We used the private RSY pool the most as it was quiet here. Not so at the huge main pool in the Riviera/White Sand section where the activities crew played very loud music for hours all afternoon or shouted over a system not designed to be cranked to the max. Very annoying. All the pools were quite cold as they are not heated. Even after a few minutes of getting used to the chilly immersion you didn't want to stay in. Perhaps this is why the swim-up bars were mostly deserted the whole week we were here. The ocean was much warmer to swim in when it was not too rough.
Beach:
Nicest beach area is at the original (Kantenah) section. Soft white sand and easy to enter the surf. Further along the resort shore it gets rockier. This is where the private Royal beach section is located beside La Jarra bar. A very nice little oasis with Bali beds, beach lounges and wait service.
Dining:
We tried several of the buffets for lunch & dinner and the Japanese & Italian for dinner.
Have to say, the buffet food was a bit of a disappointment as much of the meats of all descriptions (even veal) was overcooked and too salty and the pasta station offerings were under cooked and bland.
For vegetarians, not a good selection of vegetarian entrees as we have found in other resorts.
We retreated to the at El Jardin, the Royals only restaurants open for breakfast and dinner.
Here the staff & menu options were more than enough to satisfy.

Summary:
Pros
Private check-in (I noticed there were long lines at the other lobby check-in desks when groups arrived & departed).
Royal section private pool & bar. Nice and quiet place to relax close to your room. The bar is open until 10 pm and has snacks.
Private butler service to assist with bookings and requests (we never used ours as it was simple to walk over to the lobby and chat with one of the friendly concierge staff there).
RSY lobby has its own top shelf bar with great specialty coffee, expresso and cocktails. For early risers there is self-serve coffee until 8 am when the barista comes on duty.
Private shuttle service 24 hrs around the resort. No matter where you are, you can call for Alberto or one of the other fine fellas to get you to your destination.
One of the best fitness facilities we've seen in an all inclusive. Free access to the saunas and hydro-therapy.
Free wi-fi.

Cons
Pools very cold.
Mediocre food except at El Jardin
Bali beds in RSY need some work (slats too far apart to support mattresses properly).
This is a very large resort property with a good amount of walking and stair climbing across water obstacles needed to reach restaurants, bars the spa and gym and beach areas.
Tip 4: Download the free smart phone app from Palladium. This includes an interactive resort map displaying the locations of the 26 bars, 8 ala carte & 5 buffet restaurants, pools and the resort layout.

If vacationing without children, I would recommend the RSY due to the additional features available to these guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at GP Royal last week of Feb 2013. We booked White Sand and were upgraded to Royal. We had a cabana (Mayan) suite and it was really, really cool. LOVED the outdoor shower. The only problem was the AC. It just did not get cold enough for us, but we like our air super cold. Also, just a heads up, the slider door leading to the deck self locks, so make sure you unlock the bathroom door so you can get back in if you happen to shut the slider all the way. It was kept very clean (this coming from a neat freak). The turn down service was a nice touch as well.

We did not come across the same terrific food as we did on our stay 4 years ago. It was very hit or miss with us. For example, Ribs and More on the 1st night was increadible. Best steaks we have ever had. We went there on our last night and ordered the same thing, and it was just ok. Punta Emelia was always great for lunch or late night snacks. (We only ordered Mexican food). Trust me when I say, you will not go hungry. There will always be something on the buffet for everyone. I always wonder, when people complain about the 2 hr wait for a dinner at the sit down places...why not put your name in, and go have a salad and appetizer at the buffet, then go back and wait for your beeper to go off? It is such a beautiful place, I just could not get angry about too much. The bars are everywhere, some with better bartenders than others.

The grounds are so amazing. There are no words. Staying in Royal gives you the option to have a bell boy paged to pick you up in a lobby, and take you right to your room. We never used this service at night. Walking back to our room from wherever we were was lovely. But, the service is there for those that want it. Keep in mind the hundreds of guests they are trying to transport so if you have dinner reservations, make your way to the Royal lobby about 25-35 minutes before your reservation. Call the bell boys and have some drinks while you wait. OR...walk to the restaruant. The beach is great. If you start at the Royal beach, which looking at the water is all the way down to the left, and walk all the way to Punta Emelia (on the right) it takes less than 5 minutes. That is the end of the nice beach. If you keep going, you get to the rocks, and the beautiful salt water pool. If you are looking for nice soft sand and no coral or rocks, enter the water anywhere from Kantenah to Royal. There are a ton of sun beds both in and out of the sun at the beach, and the pool. The adult only pool is great. They have double beds in the pool under palapas. There is nightly entertainment. The shows were ok for our taste, but lots of people really enjoyed them. The bands in the lobby and sitting at the bar is more our taste for the evening.

My advice would be to check out Palladiumaddict.com and also locogringo.com to get yourself some knowledge about the resort before you come if this is your 1st visit. Look at the map a few times. This place is big, but it is very manageable and so pretty. It is about 1 hr from the airport, but well worth it to get out of the cancun hotel zone hustle and bustle. It really feels like you are in the Mayan jungle. Secluded, and private. I could go on, and on. The staff works really hard to keep this place running smooth, and VERY clean. Every bathroom I used throughout the entire place was spotless. You never see raccoon or lizard poop anywhere, which is amazing because there are critters everywhere!!

I do believe we will be here again. Hoping the food gets a little better for next time. I left a lot of info out, but if anyone has any questions, please message me. I would be happy to answer anything!! We really feel like home at this place, and I would reccomend to anyone wanting to try it out.

Room Tip: You will not be promised any room in any section, but you can email the manager and put a request in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#3 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Yucatan consists of 130 luxurious rooms located in an exclusive area within the Grand Palladium Resort & Spa in the Mayan Riviera. Guest may enjoy first class facilities that include a private lobby with a bar, exclusive swimming pool with Jacuzzi, unlimited dinner reservations at the theme restaurants, private bar with premium beverages, room service, free Internet connection, bar service to the pool sun beds and an exclusive restaurant. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Yucatan By Palladium Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Royal Hotel Puerto Aventuras
The Royal Suites Yucatan By Palladium Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.