We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Trip as good as the first” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium to your Saves list
The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“2nd Trip as good as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We just returned from our 2nd trip to the Yucatan Suites where the service is still outstanding. All sections of the Palladium resorts are great and for us older people the carts sure help because the size is amazing.

A huge thanks to our fav drivers Israel and Ramon, to Dr. Edgar who is wonderful and Gilberto who is a gem and joy to deal with.

Can't wait to go back again and hope soon to see a canadian television station pref CTV for us snowbirds.

Awesome resort and service that makes you truly feel as though you are part of a family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    167
    59
    24
    9
See reviews for
62
728
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just came back from a week at the Royal Suites Yucatan – 3rd time at the resort and 4th time in the complex.

Room: The Royal Suite room – ours was a beautifully redecorated, spacious accommodation with a full separate bedroom. Rooms were cleaned well every day and mini-bar replenished as requested. WiFi worked well with somewhat sporadic access from the balconies. Butler was amazing and very efficient and left us rose petals, chocolate covered strawberries, and champagne.

Beach: Spent every day in the Royal section. Bar is close by with quick service. Beach bar service in this section was not very frequent, although the servers are quite efficient. Service has been more frequent in previous years, but with the bar so close by, it wasn’t an issue for us at all.

Drinks: Very good to excellent. Bloody Caesars are now readily available. If you like spices, ask for Caesars to be made with pepper vodka. Never had an issue with getting beer in bottles or with the service. Royal bars seemed to run out of Don Julio Tequila from time-to-time. You will see that some of the “top-shelf” alcohol is shared between the pool bar and the lobby bar. The bartenders actually have to go back and forth between the two bars to get a particular bottle of alcohol to serve customers, such as for Don Julio Tequila. Bartenders really go out of the way to serve you and are very competent.

Food – El Jardin restaurant: Overall, liked it very much, especially the ability to order lobster at every dinner. The cheese fondue was not as good as I remember it last year, but it still “hit the spot”. El Jardin’s service was very good, but they don’t have enough staff. I felt really felt bad for the waiters a couple of times, as they work non-stop, but still have a hard time keeping up with dinner service. We ordered the specialty pasta one night and the waiter had to do the table-side flambé service in addition to tending to all of his customers. Maybe the kitchen staff could take care of the flambés instead of the waiters. However, my husband and I ate dinner at El Jardin three or four times and enjoyed every meal. El Jardin is one of the things I really like about the Royal Suites, in my opinion, it just needs a minor adjustment to the staffing level.

Pool: Very pretty and clean. Bar service excellent. Really good ice cream now availableat the pool bar (and beach bar). People claims loungers early, but we could usually find something later in the day. Removed towels once or twice from loungers that were vacant for too long, as people claim loungers then walk away for a few hours. My new personal stance is that I have a right to sit in a lounger when I want to as much as anyone else.

Overall: I really like the Royal Suites Yucatan and I am planning to go back next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had the Royal Mayan suite and it was better than in the pictures....beautiful with outdoor shower and amazing deck. Very clean and did not have the "smell of the tropics".Staff very friendly. I would not recommend the resort to anyone who does not like "cats". There are many cats on the property especially where the food is served outside! Also it is adults only but there are kids at all beaches and all A La Carte restaurants. We will however probably return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here, and have non to say but, we cannot wait to return. There are too many names to mention, from all the amazing cart drivers, lobby receptionists, bartenders, beach servers, and restaurant servers/ chefs. The Royal suites is the way to go for a purple looking to escape and relax from the real rood. Go at your own pace, and use your jacuzzi every night. It's a bit of a hike from Cancun but WELL worth the relaxation!

Room Tip: Royal Suites (no kids)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just returned back from Royal Suites on Jan 19/13. We were there for 2 weeks from Jan 5-19/13, and flew West Jet. Our bus ride was 90 minutes, but we were well aware of the distance from Cancun airport to the resort as we have stayed in this area before. Best day travel met us outside and told us to get on the bus. Vendors were outside sell beer for $6.00 a beer and on the bus they were selling it for $3.00, but a lot of the people did not know this until we got onto the bus. The Best Day Travel lady could not really mention it but kept telling us to get on the bus.

When we arrived at the resort it was dark out, so the next morning we went to our orientation with the West Jet rep. It was not a West Jet rep it was a partner with west jet, which was Best Day travel. He gave us our transfer slips for our return to back to the airport for the 19th.. Plus we sold us our excursion which was Cozumel and Tulum. We were shocked that we did not give a layout of the resorts, as the Royal suites is only a small part of the complex. He did not tell us anything about the resort at all.There is 4 other resort along with the Royal Suites. We were totally lost as it was so big and we had to golf cart it almost everywhere we went. The Riveria and White Sand were closer to the Royal but the other 2 were far away.
That was on of the issues was the golf cart at times we waited a hour to get picked up. Never call for a cart between shift change. The Royal has its own carts onl;y for royal guest. Also quiet a few times we were waiting for carts and called it and people would just come along on a different walk way and be standing there for 5 minutes and they would get picked up first. Meanwhile we were standing for a half hour or more already waiting. So depending on we're you stand is how you get picked up. We would complain and tell the driver that we have been waiting here longer and then they would send a cart for us.
The beach was beautiful, lots loungers. We stayed to the far left of the beach where there was less coral. There is a section that has quit a lot of coral. In the middle section of the palladum complex. We were more then disappointed on the money that we paid that the royal section of the beach was not even on the beach. In the phamplet it shows it right on the beach. It was 100 meters off the beach, you could not even see the water from were it was. So of course we stayed on the beach itself, As we are beach people!!! So we had no waitress service as we did not stay in the royal section. We did spend a few later afternoons in the royal section but service was slow. About a hour for a drink, it was alot faster for us to get our own.The bar was the only one in that section and at times there were line ups to get a drink, and of course there where the rude people that would just not go to the end of the line and would stand in the front. But the bartenders were great and would tell the the line is over there and not serve them. The nice thing about being a royal guest was the premium booze. The absolute pepper vodka made the best Caesars. There was also nice touchs for us royal guest as of fruit bowls, and sandwiches if we did not want to go for lunch. Which we did enjoy many times. The ocean was clear and wavy at times, and if you take bread out there you can feed the fish. Unbelievable.... the fish were amazing...tons of them. We did not snorkel there but a lot of people were.

We stayed in a one bedroom suites 6919 which was just amazing. One of the nicest rooms we have ever satyed in!!!! The king bed was very comfortable, lots of pillows,big bathroom, leather couch and second flat screen tv. The bar fridge had beer and pop, peanuts and water. The liquor cabinet had vodka, rum, rye and tequila. Which was a very nice touch. Also there was wine but you had to pay for it. There was 2 decks the one off the livingroom had to 2 chairs and a table, and the other had the huge jacuzzi tub and two longers. We sure did love that thing, there was plenty of hot water to fill it up. The maid did there job well, it was always clean!!! One issue we had was they turn the air off at midnight, I was up one night and heard it kick off that night it was so hot in the room. I went the next morning and asked if they shut it off and they said yes from midnight til 6 am to save energy. I asked for them to not shut it off at night but if you want to save energy turn it off in the morning when we are not in the room. We never had a problem after that.
A disappoint to us was my husband wanted to surprise me for our anniversary with a tub full of rose petals and candle set up from the bulter. We made arrangements 4 days in advance and a charge of $35.00 to get it done. We had a nice super at the steak house and headed back to our room for 9 pm as it was supposed to be all set up with champange and flower and all that lovely stuff. We open the door to nothing.......what a disappointment!!!! I was extremtly upset and disappointed as how could this have been forgotten. My husband went to the front desk and was upset that it was not done. She mentioned that there was a mix up on the times. We had asked for 9 pm and they had it written in the order for 9 but in the computer for 11 pm. They apologized about the mistake and said that they would start it right away and my hubby said no forget it. I would be lying if I said I didn't shed a few tears!!! :( But they did surprise us the next night we were done dinner and extremtly tired so we were going to call it a night early, when we went to go to our room the bulter was setting everything up. So we left for a couple hours and returned to a beatifully decorated room with candles and rose petals and the jacuzzi full with water and petals and candles, chocolate covered strwberries. It turned out to be a very nice evening, we celebrated our anniversary a day late. Also at checkout time there was no charge for it,as it was a mistake on there end.

Now for the food......the El Jardin which is the Royal Suites restaurant, which is only for royal guest to use, we were not to impressed!!!! The second day there we had breakfast in the morning, it had limited amount of fruits and no veggies like tomatoes and lettuce to make a sandwich. Not a really big selection of food. The advantage is that there are not to many people and its quite there.The second time we tried it for dinner and that was a nightmare. We waited honestly two hours before we received our meal, and did not even have dessert we walked out!!!It took 1/2 hour before I received a glass of wine. I asked 3 times for a glass and finally on the third time I recieved my white wine.The table beside us keep looking over because the waiter was serving them but noboby for us. The meal itself was not bad but the service was awful thats made the whole experience terrible!!The sad thing was it was not even busy in there maybe 20 people that's all. So with that said we did not return to that restaurant again. We ate breakfast at the buffet at the Riveria and had way better service. You would never starve that's for sure. Always something to eat. We tried almost every al carte restaurant and really enjoyed the Punta Emila, but some guests did not enjoy the little visitors ( raccoons) For lunch we also enjoyed the buffet always something to eat. The bonus of being a Royal guest is you can eat lobster every night at all the al carte restaurants, and there is no charge for it, but if you are not a royal guest it's $35.00. My husband ate lobster 9 days out of the 14.

The grounds were very well taken care off, and manicure very well. Lots of greenery and wildlife around. After 2 weeks we finally found how to get around, threw the board walks throught out the complex. Only if are rep would of gave us a tour of the resort we would of known this a lot earlier and would of avoid using the carts.

Overall with a few disappointments we would return if the price was right. We really enjoyed our room and beach.The bartenders at the royal lobby were so friendly and they made the best cappacunio and frappe cappacunio!!! :)



Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: building 69 is quieter, and the one bedroom suites are much nicer rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteMartheSurLeLac
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

ROYAL SECTION

First you have to know that it is a very large resort. However, when you're staying in the Royal Suites, you have your own private pool and bar very close-by, with enough chairs, beds. Nice and very quiet. You also have your private restaurant El Jardin) that only Royal suites can access for Breakfast and dinner.
You can have A la carte Breakfast or buffet style. Food was very good at this restaurant and we used to eat a bit more for breakfast so we could avoid lunch in the regular buffet and hold on till dinner. Cappuccinos, Lattes were good.

Service at bar with Luiz was amazing and at the restaurant depending on the morning, it could be a little slower but, we were on vacations so it didn't matter.

You also have acces to the Royal Lobby, air conditionned, where you can have a snak any moment of the day as well. Filiberto, at the lobby was really great.

Any 'real' alcohol you want, you can have, like Bombay Sapphire gin, Baileys, Jamison whiskeys, well, I can't name them all but its nice to drink something that's the real thing.

In the suites area, you also have access to free Wi-Fi, in the room, pool area or Lobby, which is very nice.

Another service provided to the Royal Suites clients is the bell-boy transportation service. No matter where you are on the resort, you just call the desk and ask for it and friendly driver will come get you in a golf cart and take you where you want.


ROOMS

Very spacious, comfortable king size bed, separate shower from bathroom and every room has a jacuzzi on the balcony. Very interesting, all you have to do is ask at the lobby to prepare it for a specific hour and it will be done!! We asked and to our surprise, we had candles all over the room, rose petals, a bottle of champagne on the ice and strawberries dipped in chocolate!!! Nice surprise!!

The only downside from the room would the "sound insulation". Especially from rooms upstairs. We wouldn't hear a thing from rooms besides us. However, we could very well what people above us were doing.

BEACH

Beach in itself isn't as bad as I thought it would be from reading comments. Yes some areas near the water are a little bit more rocky but this is close to the sea, not something that you can't walk around if you're talking a walk. However, when you get in the water, the sea bottom is very rocky and kinda impossible to walk on (unless you have sea shoes) on approximately 45% of the area. The other 55% is nice. So if you want to go in the sea, all you have to do is go to and area where it's not rocky.

As for snorkelling on the site, I found a couple of nice spots with bigger corals where it was possible to see a lot of different, colorful fishes.


SPA

There is a spa you can access freely, where you will find a steambath, sauna, hot jacuzzi, cold water pool, waterfall to massage your shoulders, pool. As I said it is free and you can spend all the time you want there.

My wife had a massage (by Yvonne) and she said it was one of the best massage she had for years.


POOLS

Nicely designed with lots of chairs! We havent tried any other that the one at royal section so I dont know but water at Royal Section was a bit cold.


SITE ITSELF

Lots of vegetation. They claim they preserved 80% of the flora when they built the resort. i have no problem believing them, you are always surrounded by jungle, trees, flowers, iguanas, birds, falmingos, crocodiles (behind a fence). It was interesting only to walk around and read signs about animals and trees.

Located approximately 30 minutes from Playa del Carmen and 1 hour from the Airport.


A La CARTE RESTAURANT

We tried most of them. We liked the Japanese one. Sushis as entrées were good, main course and dessert as well. You can also have the "show dinner" where you sit around a cooking area with a chef and he lights up the food on fire and throw shrimps in people plate with his spatula! :)
Felipe was our waiter and he was very friendly and fast.

El Dorado steak house. Amazing service by Felix. I expected a little bit more from my 12oz New York but if you keep in mind you're in Mexico, it was a good pick anyway.

Italian was good

They have a special BBQ night on fridays, where you can sit on the beach as they prepare different meats on BBQs. Although the idea is good, They kinda prepare the meat a little bit too much in advance and its not hot anymore when you eat it. They cook it, then put it in a serving plate. So when you come to serve yourself, you cant pick the meat directly on the grill, you have to take the one that has been cooked 10 mins ago, sitting in the plate.

Also, its mandatory four-people seating because there is a lot of demand. Since we were only two, we were matched with a German couple. English was both our second languages so it resulted in funny conversations and it is nice in some way to get to know other people. We didn't really mind but just be aware before you go :)


PUNTA EMILIA

This is the seafood restaurant on the beach. If you're a seafood lover, you can't miss this one. My wife is and she said everything was excellent. Im not a big fan as her but I can say my Shrimps entree and Fish soup were very good.
Service by Candelaria was one of the best we had.


LA ADELITA

This is the mexican food restaurant. Being in Mexico, we really wanted to try it and were not disappointed. Everything they prepare is typical and was excellent. However, if you order chicken fajitas as I did, be prepared cause you get a ton of chicken and only two small tortillas. It was very funny since our German friends were sitting the table next to us and reacted the samy way we did when they received their plates. However, we just asked nicely for two more tortillas and they arrived in a matter of minutes.


We havent tried Brazilian, the other steak house (Ribs'n'More) and Mediterrean (Mare Nostrum) and the chinese (The Bamboo). However, we heard good comments about Brazilian and steakhouse. Everyone we came across that had tried the chinese highly recommended us not to go. I couldnt say why but I havent heard one good comment about it.


Overall, staff was very friendly, helpful, always smiling and happy to see you. Food was very good, and resort is nice, clean, eco-friendly. Beach was ok as well and being able to snorkel directly on site made it a plus for us.

I would recommend it and would go again without hesitation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We came away from RSY very happy. Third floor room was spacious, clean, private and reasonably well appointed. Service at El Jardin could have been better but the food was usually outstanding. Brazilian just so-so. El Dorado was very good. Food overall was very good as usual in Mexico and like room service option although use it sparingly. Really enjoyed snorkeling that may not be as good as Akumal but better than many resorts - massive ray cruised right in front of me at one point that was just awesome to see. Beautiful grounds with boat ride viewing Crane nests and crocodile pit. Golf carts were so helpful and often short transport wait. Would I return? For sure! Lobster everyday if desired, nice beach with private Bali beds and drink service, snorkeling option, good service, nice rooms, very good food and one of our favorite options was included spa circuit - so relaxing! Negatives - private beach far from rooms, large size requires cart use at times, difficult to manage beach bar near Bali beds. These were very minor complaints that were quickly overlooked due to so many things being so super. Bring deet for evenings.

Room Tip: Go to palladium addict website for best tips and room differences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#2 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#3 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Yucatan consists of 130 luxurious rooms located in an exclusive area within the Grand Palladium Resort & Spa in the Mayan Riviera. Guest may enjoy first class facilities that include a private lobby with a bar, exclusive swimming pool with Jacuzzi, unlimited dinner reservations at the theme restaurants, private bar with premium beverages, room service, free Internet connection, bar service to the pool sun beds and an exclusive restaurant. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Yucatan By Palladium Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Royal Hotel Puerto Aventuras
The Royal Suites Yucatan By Palladium Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.