We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First of many vacations ahead!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium to your Saves list
The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“First of many vacations ahead!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was our first vacation together for my fiance and I. We originally had been looking for an all inclusive stay in Cuba but after reading many of reviews suggesting the Royal Suites I looked into the hotel and its surrounding activities. Needless to say I was then set on purchasing our tickets ASAP. As soon as we got to the resort we were treated like royalty, the Royal Suites was everything we expected and more. The beach was beautiful on both the Colonial and Royal sections, although we obviously loved the perks of the Royal beach having our own bed in the shade and the bar 5 steps away. I also loved how natural the resort was in respect to the plants and wildlife surrounding the entire area. Unlike the quality of food that we may have gotten in Cuban resorts, the food was always delicious and decorative. Most nights we took advantage of El Jardin, the Royal Suites exclusive restaurant and we were never disappointed. The option of dining inside or outside was nice, however being the animal lover that I am I preferred to eat on the patio with the cats and raccoons :) There were no weak points for this resort, they continued to impress us every day. We already are planning an extended trip to the Royal Suites next year, it is definitely worth the bit of extra money.

Room Tip: Third floor = more privacy on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Tessa M,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. Definitely a also recommend our exclusive Restaurant for Royal guests " El Jardin". Our Chef's Night every Wednesday is a must.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    218
    72
    28
    11
See reviews for
75
916
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is our Second time at the palladium and first time in the Royal Suites.
Room
The room was fantastic, the bed was comfortable and all the amenities worked fine, the mini bar is a nice bonus.
The Jacuzzi great for an early morning bath and then a sunbathe on the balcony.
A nice big TV, but we did not get much time to watch (we are on holiday and do plenty of this at home).
Butler service
We found having the restaurants booking service was a benefit and saved us having to go out early to get a place, the golf carts came in handy but sometimes they were busy so we ended up walking which to be fair we needed to do it, just to help keep the weight down from all the fab food.
Food
We found all the A la Carte restaurants good and food was always of good quality and we were never rushed to eat up.
We really enjoyed the food in El Jardin.
They do use this restaurant for breakfast for getting people to join the travel club, but we never found it a problem we always got a table and never had to wait.
We used a few buffet restaurants during the day and found the variety and quality of food very good.
We tried eating at the beach Punta Emillia but the wind was quite strong so we had a tussle trying to keep the plates on the table, its good fun but a bit messy when one of the plates take of and hit you ;-).
Beach
Take sand shoes you will need them at certain parts of the beach. We saw plenty of fish and the sea was very refreshing.
Bars
We never had a problem getting served at any of the reception bars and we loved Hemmingway’s and the Royal suites bar
Shows
We saw a few late shows at the Riviera and the team that did these did a wonderful job it was very good entertainment.
Spa
Wonderful and relaxing and they do great massages, enough said try one.
Overall
We had a great 2 weeks holiday and we cannot fault anything really, the people the place the food the drinks the weather all helped to make a great stay and we will be back in 2013.

Room Tip: Good views from the third floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Maltby-tom,
Thank you for your comments, it is nice that you enjoyed your second time with us.
We wait for your third visit very soon.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I would like to note that we have been to several all-inclusive resorts to compare this property to. It is comparable to all that we have been to--very nice, but definitely not the best.

It is important to have an understanding about this resort before you go. For starters, it is not a typical all-inclusive, adult only resort. The property is actually huge with several resorts on it. One of those resorts is the Royal Suites. Although the resort is marketed as "Adults Only" there are children at the other resorts on the same property. You will see children throughout the resort at the restaurants, on the beaches and at or near the bars. The property itself is lush, beautiful and very clean. If you don't enjoy walking or don't want to walk, then golf carts/trains can take you wherever you need to go. Regardless, at the Royal Suites section, you are NOT close to the beach.

The service at the Royal Suites lobby is subpar. When we arrived we did not feel informed and we were not offered the cold, refreshing beverages and cold cloth that we have been offered at other all-inclusive resorts upon arrival. Our luggage also took well over a half hour to get to our room. The service at the rest of the resort - drivers, restaurants, bars, etc was great. No problems there.

The food is OK. It is typical all-inclusive food. We thought the best restaurant was the Mexican restaurant and the worst restaurant was the Brazilian restaurant. The El Jardin restaurant (exclusive to Royal Suites guests) was good, but the service was extremely slow. The Italian restaurant was also pretty good. There are many buffets to choose from. The best was the Kabah. We ate every lunch there because it was the shortest walking distance from the Royal Beach.

Drinks are of plenty and as a Royal Suites guest you do get a better alcohol selection. You can get bottled beer as a Royal Suites guest.

The entertainment is typical all-inclusive entertainment. We didn't see anything fabulous, but the shows are always fun to watch. There are children at the shows.

The beach was the best part of the trip and the reason we go on vacation. The beach was nice, a bit crowded, but still clean and inviting. The Royal Beach has children on it. There is a bar close to the beach. They do not have waitresses serving drinks on the beach, but they do have drink service in the sectioned off area where the beach beds are.

Overall, if I were to take my children (ages 11, 13 and 17), the family would have a great time because there are activities for all ages. If you take your family make sure to get a room on the beach. Those seemed to be the perfect rooms! If you are looking for a true intimate, adult only, all-inclusive resort, this is not the resort for you.

The resort is very spread out and was just too big for us.

The resort is 1 hour and 20 minutes away from Cancun airport.

Room Tip: We stayed on the "70" building on the third floor. All rooms have jacuzzis on their balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear All4goodtimes,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, they are important to us.
Your experience will help us flag opportunities for which continued improvement is required. We will consider all your remarks.


We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ths resort was AMAZING!! Very clean, no matter where you went it was always spotless. We went at a very busy time and it was always clean. All the staff was very friendly and helpful! They really provide excellent service. The resort is huge, we spent a lot of time walking and exploring. There is a lot to do here on the resort. Our week flew by. Staying in the royal suites we got a lot of extras, which include making reservations for the a la cartes. The people staying in the other resorts had to wait. Will be very hard going anywhere else after being here. Would love to go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Stayed in the mayan suite, private villa, very private. Staying in the royal suites is very quiet. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Amy M,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us .We also appreciate your compliments on our hotel and staff.
We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in July for a week. We enjoyed our trip and had a good time. Loved the Royal suites section. The people that work in this section really enjoy their jobs and made our trip enjoyable. Loved the royal carts. Could not imagine staying in the other sections without those carts because this place is huge. The royal lobby is a great place to hang out and have a few drinks. Really great coffee drinks here. Loved both of our rooms, especially the hot tubs on the balcony. Overall we had a good time but it wasn't without problems.
The first night there we went to dinner and came back and our door was chained. Someone had broken into our room and locked us out. We had a bottom floor room and I know we locked the door so I think they came in from the balcony. Nothing was stolen, but all of our important stuff was locked up in the safe. Management was there and called maintance to get the chain off of our door. We met other guests that had their room broken into the same night next door to us. Management was nice to move us to another building on the top floor to make us feel more comfortable. I think this was just a fluke thing, and nothing was missing so all was good in the end.
Now to my one complaint about the resort. I loved the breakfast and most dinners but lunch just isn't good here. I got tired of the little sandwiches buy the pool and beach by day two. Every where we went for lunch wasn't good. From the snack bar to the buffet to the paella sucked. Why isn't the sports bar open for lunch? That was good. How about opening up El Jardin for lunch for the royal guests. I don't know what they can do but this is a sticking point for me. Now the beach bar for the royal guests is another matter all together. I didn't like one drink I had there. I think its because everyone uses it not just Royal guests. The lobby bar at the royal can make anything you can request and make it good.
Now this resort is beautiful and maintained well. The beach in front of the Royal section is the best for swimming. Spa is great especially the vapor room, loved that. Loved the rock show. Loved to come back to the room to candles and rose petals, great job Royal suites. All in all we had fun and thats what is most important.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Lucy Virginia,

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,


Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorcesterJohn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I posted a review back in early August & for some reason I cannot find It, so I thought I would post another because I just love this hotel.

The whole concept is based on total service, & I can honestly say that this was what we received from the moment we arrived.

The reception is so customer focused, & the team are interested in the client & their holiday.

The bar staff, restaurant & pool teams added that little extra,

The rooms where just fabulous & the hot tubs were a bonus.

I cannot praise this hotel enough & would recommend it to as a special holiday or getaway to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear WorcesterJohn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and wonderful comments. It truly gives us a sense of pride and accomplishment knowing you enjoyed your stay. It would be our pleasure to have you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Yucatan suites last spring, and we just booked to return again this coming February!! It was the best resort experience we've ever had (and we've been to many, including the Barcelo Palace). For us the attention to detail, the friendly service and the wonderful atmosphere made it an easy choice to return. All the staff were amazing. My personal favorite buddy was Julio at the poolbar. You always felt he really cared about all of his visitors. Not sure if he is still there, but if he is still working on the resort I'll be sure to find him and say hi...nicest bartender I ever met.
Last time we stayed in a Mayan suite, this time we are trying the Jr suites and my wife loved the idea of the jacuzzi on the balcony!
Can't wait!!

Room Tip: If you like peace and tranqiuility you cannot go wrong with a mayan suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Roddio,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. It’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Yucatan consists of 130 luxurious rooms located in an exclusive area within the Grand Palladium Resort & Spa in the Mayan Riviera. Guest may enjoy first class facilities that include a private lobby with a bar, exclusive swimming pool with Jacuzzi, unlimited dinner reservations at the theme restaurants, private bar with premium beverages, room service, free Internet connection, bar service to the pool sun beds and an exclusive restaurant. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Yucatan By Palladium Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Royal Hotel Puerto Aventuras
The Royal Suites Yucatan By Palladium Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.