We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful condo in a dream location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yal Ku Cai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yal Ku Cai
Save Saved
You added Yal Ku Cai to your Saves list
| Half Moon Bay, Akumal, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty lodging in Akumal
Devizes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful condo in a dream location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have to admit I was a little anxious after reading the last review just days before we visited. It could not have been further from the truth! This was a dream spot in every way. After a lovely welcome from the staff and later that evening from Natalie, the owner, we enjoyed an all too brief four days at this magic location. Even the stormy weather on one day was thrilling to watch from the huge windows with a view I will never forget. Within very easy walking distance to the lagoon, an ideal spot for novice snorkellers like ourselves, and with access to Half Moon bay and the mouth of the lagoon only yards away there is swimming and snorkelling for all capabilities . Great rock pooling right outside. Super pool for cooling off. The facilities are excellent and it has a very homely feel. Being from England we had to constantly remind ourselves that this was real and not some fantastic dream. We found it lovely to be able to escape a bit from the more touristy centre of Akumal and have a few days of total unwinding after a great , but busy week as part of our sons wedding celebrations .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed in the Casita at Yal Ku Cai. This has to be the best kept secret in Akumal. For $70/night you get a very comfortable king sized bed (with soft sheets!), dining area, full kitchen, living room with tv, access to a BBQ and a pool, maid service, walking distance to the lagoon, with the sound and view of the ocean right nearby. The managers, Caludia and JP, were great: helpful and friendly. All the staff was.

Only two things to be aware of: the internet access is iffy at its very best. Basically if you need to have reliable access, this is not the place. Also, though it is right next to the ocean, the beach at this spot is absolutely not swimmable. It is all rock, and not the kind you can sit on.

All in all I would give it 4.5 stars (.25 off for the misleading claim that there is wifi. Wifi in theory, yes, but not really. And .25 off for location--I would have loved to have been right on a swimmable beach. I didn't know to ask about that.)

We rented via Locogringo, and they were helpful and responsive to questions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We rented the one bedroom casita. It had a bedroom with a king size bed, a kitchen with a dining table, a bathroom and a living room with a tv. The casita is very private and close to the pool where a barbeque is available for cooking. The maid service was excellent and the property is very well maintained by the caretaker. We felt very safe and met great people while staying here.
Sol Maya Rental Agency was terrific. They arranged our transportation to and from the rental property and the driver was very prompt and professional.

Room Tip: The casita doesn't have an ocean view but it is away from the other condo units so it is very pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Yal Ku Cai A+! An incredible value in Akumal! Everyone involved with the property was outstanding. Very private; amazing view of the ocean; stones throw to Yal Ku Lagoon. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: A great place for people looking for great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This is a wonderful condo if your goal is to hear the waves, be by yourselves and hardly see a sole. Fantistic staff, beds were just ok, no coffee grinder as advertized (or kettle), but no big deal here. We spent most of our time on the deck and walked and biked into town a few days.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We had a terrific experience renting YalKu Cai condo with Sol Maya Rentals. From beginning to end the service was outstanding-with a warm, personal touch. We had amazing views of the ocean from every window. The condo was spotless, comfortable and nicely decorated. Free WiFi, free safe.The maid service was great. Nice pool. We loved the location as it was convenient to everything. We met the owners and they were very helpful and friendly. We used bikes provided by the owners to get to the center of Akumal and everywhere else we wanted to go. If you don't have a car, make sure to rent bikes! it's a must to snorkel at the lagoon (1 min bike ride), eat at Turtle Bay bakery and book an adventure trip with Akumal Travel Agency ( zip line, sky cycle, cenotes etc.) Thanks to Sol Maya Rentals for helping to make our last visit to Akumal one of our best vacations ever. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

This is one of the best deals in Akumal: a two-bed, two-bath condo with an unobstructed sea view, cute kitchen and pool. If you're looking for something for a family or two couples of any age, this condo is a great deal. You are walking distance from the beautiful cove of Yal Ku where you can snorkel and a short drive from the main beach of Akumal, which has wild sea turtles swimming around (awesome). We tend to go for something a little less "In a bubble" but for a relaxing affordable escape, this was a really well cared for condo and we know the owner put a lot of thought into it. There is also a housekeeper who comes daily to tidy up. You can walk to the best bar/restaurant in the whole area (which isn't saying too much, it's mostly condos, but this bar was awesome) named La Buena Vida.

Akumal in general is kinda quiet and great for families. The independent traveler would finds Akumal's condo community a bubble of Americans- has a bit of that gated community feel. We would urge travelers to venture out of the condo world and do grocery shopping across the highway, where the locals live. There is a grocery store, a dry-goods store and a vegetable store where you can find food for a third of the price of the grocery store in gringo-land Akumal. And you'll see what Mexico is really about, not just the shiny happy tourist areas.

  • Liked — View, beds, location, kitchen, 270degree sea view!
  • Disliked — In a condo community.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yal Ku Cai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yal Ku Cai

Address: | Half Moon Bay, Akumal, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty lodging in Akumal
Also Known As:
Yal Ku Cai Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yal Ku Cai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.