We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful public beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay

Half Moon Bay
Akumal, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 attractions in Akumal
Type: Bodies of Water, Beaches
Attraction Details
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful public beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

You will not feel crowded here. Great bay area with typically beach for the area. Just have a snack or drink at La Buena Vida and then walk a few hundred yards to the left for your own private beach area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    48
    20
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Less busy than Akumal or Yal Ku. Beautiful. Lots of things to see while snorkeling! Stay at Vista Del Mar Hotel or Condos.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quiet beach with great snorkeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I rented a condo at The Reef for 10 days and loved the experience! From watching the sunrise in the morning to snorkeling it was truly a fantastic experience. The area close to shore is a bit rocky, but with water shoes you'll be fine. The snorkeling is fantastic and there were sea turtles to enjoy on a daily basis. The bay has a few single family homes and several condo complexes, but always felt intimate and like were a handful of people there. The walk to La Bueno Vida or La Lunita for dinner and drinks was nice by moonlight. I'd suggest renting a place near the center or south end as the shoreline gets rockier the further north you go. I'd highly recommend this beautiful place for families and/or couples. If you want a smooth sandy beach Akumal is a short ride by car, bike or golf cart away, but you get the serenity of HMB. Yal Ku Lagoon is very close as well. Enjoy!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Quiet but a bit rocky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We walked from the north end of the beach down to La Buena Vida. It was rocky and steep in some spots. It took about 15 min don't were flip flops runners would be easier. There are spots on the beach you can lay out a towel and enjoy the sand. The day we went was very windy and had a red flag so we could not snorkel. Disappointing but I guess that means I will have to go back poor me LOL.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“4th time here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just love Half Moon Bay. It's getting busier every time we come here. People try not to talk about it too much so others won't show interest but there is no avoiding word of mouth. We brought our son's last time. Younger adults. However looking at those who are here this time it would have more in their interest to return now. The face of Half Moon Bay is changing in it's popularity. It more vibrant with more people. We've noticed a couple new condo's. Still beautiful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Bay also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Half Moon Bay to your Saves list