We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay

Half Moon Bay
Akumal, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 13 Attractions in Akumal
Type: Bodies of Water, Beaches
Attraction Details
Cleveland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had never swam with sea turtles before. My husband and I brought our own snorkeling gear from home, we swam out and were not in shortage of seeing sea turtles. It was probably one of the most amazing things we did while on our trip to Play del Carmen.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    52
    22
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Akumal Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Beautiful, not too crowded. The beach, like all beaches along this strip of coast is prone to garbage that blows into the sea from open land fill situated in several islands and countries within the Caribbean. Locals do a great job keeping the beach clean. A lot of waves, so not great for first time snorkelers but still well worth an explore. There are no sandy entry points, wear some form of foot wear.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice, but prefer Akumal Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The beach is essentially crushed sea shells, so it can be rough on the feet. Lots of coral which you have to navigate through, so be careful. It can be a tad claustrophobic if you are so inclined. Much less crowded than Akumal Bay, but not as much sea life to see in my experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Christmas 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at Lol Ka'naab #4 condo - great snorkeling right in front of the condo. Make sure you have water shoes since this is a rocky area. Plenty of coral formations to explore if you go out from La Buena Vida. Saw sea turtle, octupus, sting ray and plenty of fish. The pelicans were constantly feeding in front of the condo - fun to watch them dive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“quiet and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have stayed at Half Moon Bay three times over the last 20 years. It is beautiful and never gets crowded. I prefer to stay in the north end because that is where the best snorkeling is. It is true that the bottom is rocky and shallow so if you're looking for a sandy beach experience this is not the place for you. But there are nice lounge chairs for relaxing in front of the condos and the view is gorgeous. It does get quite alot of wave action. I didn't find the current a problem but that might be because I'm an experiences swimmer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Bay also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.