We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort makes for a brilliant vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, | Zona Costera, km 256,3, Akumal 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Akumal
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic resort makes for a brilliant vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Overall, we were all exceptionally pleased with the Grand Sirenis. Resort was beautiful and very well maintained, rooms spacious (important for a family of five), staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, food was great and beach wonderful (photos on the site don't do the beach justice), nice sand, plenty of chairs/umbrellas for all and good snorkeling right off the beach (don't forget the water shoes though). For an accurate review of the resort in detail, check out "jtm111" review...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,143
    885
    335
    121
    107
See reviews for
876
1122
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from our third stay at the GS. We were very impressed with the capital improvements that were made in just one year. They replaced the old wooden bridge with a beautiful interlocking brick bridge. We are walkers and walked the roads behind all the buildings. Last year the scenery wasn't up to their standard. Alot of debris and bad lanscaping. This year everything was clean and fully landscaped with beautiful shrubery and flowers. More "walkers" were seen every morning. We were in Bldg. 28 on the third floor. Beautiful view over the trees to see the water. Sunrises were breathtaking. Room great. Food good variety. Returning people may think the food is the same old same old. Our opinion is that they give the visitors what they want. They try different things and if the people don't like it they try something else. Can't please everyone. Our consierges were great as usual. We joined Serenis Premier Travelers last year (no it's not a timeshare) and met alot of others. It was a pleasant surprise to see them again this year. Met new people too. Great time together This could turn into an annual event Had our first massage. It won't be the last....The only thing that we feel that should be addressed is the confusion about the private Serenis Premier Traveler sections at the pool and beach. These places are specifically for the Premier Travelers and they are posted. There are cabana beds there along with upgraded lounges. However, there are also beds around other pools for everyone to use and because of this, non SPT vacationers come and use the private SPT area taking away the use of the amenity for those SPT's . A suggestion would be to remove the beds from the other pools to stop the confusion or have someone from the SPT staff "patrol" the areas more to explain the difference to those that feel that they can use the private SPT area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This resort is good, but not a 5 star. It maybe was when it was new but now the furniture is getting old and tired and looking well used.
First, let me say that the Mayan Beach and the Riviera Maya are only different in where the accomodations are located. They share all of the common areas, amenities and restaraunts. So--whatever you read about one, applies to the other.
The food is good--especially in the ala carte restaraunts. We liked the Cajun, Brazilian and Steakhouse--in that order. Service is very good in all of these.
The two buffet restaraunts are from the same kitchen and there is a tremendouse variety of food for every meal. If you can't find what pleases you, you're not even trying.
Drinks are plentiful--as much as you want. Many have the fancy drinks wherever the bar is, but I opted for Cervesaz, which is Corona on tap. Good beer. The house wine served in the restaraunts are ok to good. You can order name brands from the ala cartes for extra $$.
The pools are well taken care of and are sparkling clear all of the time. The staff are allways cleaning them. There are three main beaches--see youtube for what they look like. They are clean and sandy. If you stay on the main beaches you're in sand. If you go elsewhere, you're on rocks, limestone and lava. Wear water shoes for that. Snorkeling is good right at the resort. Not a lot of coral, but many fish of all descriptions. I came across a 3ft. Barracuda while I was out--made me a little nervous. I used my own gear which I would recommend.
The entertainment was good--better than the average resort show. They have a large stage area for this and the show starts at 930pm. There are also a couple of lounge areas close to the main theatre.
The staff at this resort are first class. They're very eager to please, but don't gush all over you and want to be your buddy. The only exception was the buffet breakfast. Many of those guys weren't eager to be there and it showed.
Each accomodation building had it's own concierges and they were very helpful. If you need a ride, they'll call a golf cart for you or you can take one of the shuttles that are going around the resort. The resort is very large and if you have trouble walking, you'll need these.
The biggest complaint of this place was the window between the bathroom and the other part of the suite. It's quite large and in some suites there is just a hole. Makes for privacy issues. Our room had a large frosted glass in this hole except for about an inch around the perimeter so there was no issue. Make sure you get a room with the frosted glass if you can.
AC in the rooms was very quiet and as cool as we wanted it.
Overall, I'd recommend this resort, but again, don't expect a 5 star.

Room Tip: remember the glass in the window hole in the room. Don't expect an ocean view--they save those f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Great modern hotel... its huge! Long bus ride so be prepared. Beers and water are offered for a cost too... better than nothing!
Great staff check in, even though our room wasnt ready we placed bathing suits in the carry on so we were fine till it was.
Room was great when we did check in. It was our anniversary so we got a few freebies. Great view of the pool from the third floor. Lots of pop and water in the room.
We didn't have problems finding chairs by the pool. We went between 7 & 9a. You may have problems after 10a though.
The beds were hard but we still slept ok. We asked for a room away from stairs or elevators so that helped. And we always bring earplugs on vacation.
The lazy river was nice to have, as was the ice cream shoppe. It was great having the snack bar right by the pool.
One day the bathroom was in very poor shape. I even tried to tell the staff, but unfortunately there was a communication barrier. It was clean later though.
The coffee shop is fantastic!! The Spanish coffee is amazing!
The rest of our group arrived 3 days later for the wedding. I personally got married at a resort, so comparing the two came naturally.
There are lots of wedding options but unfortunately if you want any of them you have to pay. The wedding coordinator, Elizabeth was great though.
Almost 10 of us ended up going to Coco Bongo's and it was great! I would recommend it to anyone who likes clubs. We even got a private area instead of the floor because we paid for a vip package. This vip package is the only package they offer at the resort, so if you decide to go, you won't be disappointed. Franchesco and Ernesto were awesome bringing us drinks even before we asked, and about an hour before our bus was to pick us up, they started bringing us water and cleaning up the area. I definitely recommend to any younger groups!! Remember to get a $5 shot. The girls are hot and its worth it. If you don't feel like dancing, sit and watch the show. Its about 3 hours long!!
My husband lost his towel at the pool and the towel desk was happy to just give him a replacement no questions asked.
The beach was small for the resort size, but it was completely private. No one bugged you to buy anything while you sat, and there were no other resorts on the same beach.
The disco, gym and spa were far to walk to, but if you waited they had designated golf carts out to the area.
The spa was very pricey, but people in our group who spent the cash said it was worth it. I was planning an updo for our friends wedding and it was going to cost $120. I also remember looking at the prices and the water areas cost $45.
There was lots of foods to choose from at the main buffet. We ended up going to the steakhouse, the meditrainian and the mexican. We would recommend all 3 but others from our group didn't like the food so much at the steakhouse.
Its unforunate but the french or gourmet restaurant is at a cost. I would think that if you are paying for an all inclusive, it should be all inclusive.
There is a fake concierge desk in the main lobby. My understanding is that this desk is only for timeshare deals. After booking our a la cartes with the concierge in our building (2900's), we received 2 calls from the fake concierge, asking us to book our a la cartes... since we hadnt yet. Tricky!! They should really label that desk something else. Every building has a concierge desk. Book your a la cartes through them directly and as soon as you get there for best choices.
The welcoming tour is useful if youve never been to an all inclusive, are a bit worried about anything on the resort, or if you want to take an excursion. However if youve already been to one, this meeting is the same as the rest. All you need to leave the resort is the checkout slip from the front desk. You don't need anything from Air Transat or from the meeting.
Room service is at charge after 11p, and the better menu is at charge. Wifi is at charge too.
The peep hole incident came out the week we were there. We checked our maintenance room and bathroom right away. Staff were untold about the incident, and it was not mentioned while we were there. Since we checked our room, we didn't have a problem with it.
Fyi, it takes about 30 minutes to fill the tub for 2 people to sit in it.
Get to know Christian and Miguel at the pool (the entertainment staff)! They are both so nice, funny and honest. :-) Saret was our waiter while we sat in our lounge chairs around the pool. She is amazing and took care of our whole group very well. If you see her, try to sit in her section!!
The shows at night were horrible. Great for kids, but don't waste your time.
One last tip, they don't have umbrellas for you to use so bring one with you!
Safe travelling and have fun!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandmayanbeach, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi The_Wife_101, thank you for let us know about your experience in the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort and Spa, it is good to read that you have a good vacation with us and you enjoy our amanities. Regarding the French Restaurant, as you know, we offer seven all inclusive restaurants, and the reason why we decided to have the gourmet restaurant with an extra charge was to give the oportunity to our guest to have a private dinner in a restauran with no more that 10 people per sitting.
To make reference to the peep hole, we would like to take this opportunity to respond to the recent guest experience you mentioned. After being notified of the discovery of the hole in the shower, we conducted an immediate and thorough inspection of every single room in the resort, and repaired the wall sealing in that particular unit. We can confirm that this problem has been taken care of and it will never be repeated. We have also incorporated more robust measures in our daily room inspections, and implemented closer supervision of our maintenance personnel to ensure this is an isolated incident. Rest assured, our first priority has been, and always will be, the safety, security and satisfaction of each and every guest. Hope to see you soon. Daniel - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Forth time end of Nov 2012 and we'll go again. No slow deterioration here - in fact quite the opposite. The buffet just gets better. The upkeep and quality is held high. We have visited five other 4.5 - 5 star resorts on the Mayan and we return back to Sirenis - not because the others were not good - but this one is outstanding in almost every way. A big pat on the back to our re-occurring Waiter - Mr. Ramon Renteria and a hats off to Chief - Mr. Javier Becerra!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandmayanbeach, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi Vic L, thank you very much for your comments, one of our priorities is to improve our structures and services day by day, to reach our goal of 100% satisfactions for our clients. im very happy to see that you mention some of our staff, and i will let them know about it, and belive me, they will be very proud to know that because of them they make feel special to one of our guests. thank you Daniel - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big River, SK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were there from 25 Jan-1 Feb 2013. The check in was good and everything was off to a good start. We arrived at 2:10PM, which was a little early so our room was not ready. Had a couple cerveza's and then had our room at about 3:10PM. Checked in and the mini bar was almost empty. So had our concierge make a couple calls and the fridge was restocked. The meals at both buffet restaurants were amazing. No complaints about the food, everything was great every day. Staff was very attentive and went the extra mile to ensure everything was in order. The staff at the a la carte restaurants were just as good. The meals at the a la carte's were superb. Lots of food and quality was second to none. We ate at the Bayou, El Rancho and Mediterranean. Just be sure to take it easy on the appetizers, because they could be a meal in itself!!!! The beach staff and the beach restaurants were great. Everyone should be given a pat on the back because they made sure everyone had a drink and everyone got what they needed. The only downfall and drawback which would make this resort a two star would be the restocking staff of the mini-bar and the room cleaners. It was a toss up to see if you got two clean towel, facecloths or if the mini bar was restocked. Out of the seven days we were there, only two days did we have the mini bar stocked to what it should be and we were given the proper towels in the bathroom. Taking a shower is somewhat of a challenge when you have to use a towel as a facecloth or using one towel for two people!!! Also the mini bar is only stocked with two beer. They should think about changing this to at least 4 beer, some pop and water!!! The evening entertainment was pretty good. I must give a standing ovation and a big thumbs up to the three singers. Forgive me but I forget their names but they were the only singers and they were amazing. They were two girs and a guy. Wow and more wow!!! Without them the shows would be below average. Beaches were great with amazing snorkeling. Some places were a bit rocky but you could easily find a path out with no problem. Overall a great resort but because of the problems with the room, it seriously detracted from the overall experience. Because of this, I would probably not recommend this resort. You need good service in your room to start your day and if this is not done then the whole day is spent trying to fix something that should be a priority. If they fix the room problems then it would be a resort to always go back to, but until then I would choose a different resort. We had three other couples from our town staying at this resort. They stayed two weeks, while we only had one, but all of us had the same issues with the cleaning staff or mini bar staff. This is why I am sure that it is not an isolated problem that only we had experienced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandmayanbeach, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Joe R, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I really appreciate it as it is our best source of information in order to improve our services.
To make reference of the cleanliness of the rooms, the hotel is very sorry since cleanliness is a very important issue for us, normally we get very good comments about that.
To make reference with the minibar, the policy of the hotel is to refilled the bar once per day. Two beers, two cokes, two diet cokes, one orange fanta, one sprites, two sparkling water and a gallon of three litre of plaine water. All the products are premium brands, also the barrilito that is the name of the beer and is a premium beer of coronita.
You could and should have asked the concierge or front desk for a manager assistance, and the manager on duty that we always have available at the hotel, would have been more than pleasured assisting you. Be aware that I would double check the procedures, so this would not happen again.One of our priorities is to fix or improve any imperfections of our structures and services, and any reports or suggestions from our guest help us to achieve this. It is very important for us to reach our goal of 100% satisfactions for our clients. Daniel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

So, i don't have much to compare this to, except to compare to other hotels and restaurants separately. It was a nice place, nice rooms, and great staff. We paid extra for an ocean-front room, which was nice, but from what I could tell the resort-facing rooms faced trees in most of buildings from what i could tell. Our room turned out to be one without any glass between the bathroom and the rest of the room. Not sure why someone designed this way, I can't imagine even people on their honeymoon would want to be on display that way. They apparently do have rooms with glass on request. The specialty restaurants are great (and most are included), but the buffet was wonderful as well, with a different theme each night. We took advantage of the spa and paid extra for massages (great) and should have gone to the gym more often. Other guests were the same, I assume, as the gym looked like it hadn't been used very much. We rented a car a couple of times to go to Playa del Carmen and visit some of the cenotes. It is a slightly suspicious process since there is simply one guy at a small desk, who uses an ancient credit card press. When I go back to the area, I will simply reserve and pay for the car online. There is too much to comment on, in reality, but the last thing is be prepared to walk, because this place to huge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, | Zona Costera, km 256,3, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#14 Family Hotel in Akumal
#15 Business Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort And Spa
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.