We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has been three years...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, | Zona Costera, km 256,3, Akumal 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It has been three years...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

since we were last here and the food has improved as has the maintenance.
The food in the specialty restaurants is definitely better, and the beach party was excellent.

The light in the pools now comes on at dusk and the management seems to be more responsive to complaints.

What's not to like? The lazy river ride is great, the snorkeling right off the beach is spectacular (Saw a small octopus, stingrays, small sea turtle, numerous fish and lots of brightly colored coral.)

The pools are LONG so that you can do lap swimming. The coffee shop does a great job of making all sorts of creations, and the main restaurants are all air conditioned. The free day at the water spa was great, and the abundance of shrimp and lobster at meals made me a happy camper.

Suggestions: Try to get VIP status, it defiantly has some perks.
Take a collectivo ($2 per person) to Akamal, or Tulum and a taxi back ($20 us for 5). (For some reason, a taxi from the hotel is much more expensive then one in the reverse direction.)
You can easily snorkel outside of the swimming area without too much danger, and that is where the best stuff is to be seen. The champagne was better than the wine and available everywhere. The internet was best if you are on on the room balcony (you can see the antennas on long poles in front of the hotel buildings) or in the main area.

Room Tip: Building 18 was a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    890
    336
    121
    108
See reviews for
881
1129
41
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

the Grand sirenis riviera maya

i dont understand how people can give such bad reviews as i thought this place was excellent.

We arrived at the sirenis in the midafternoon, as soon as we got there we headed over to the reception where we were greeted politely and given a ruff idea of our surroundings. we then headed over to where we left our cases. we got taken to our suite by a wee buggie. this was a great oppertunity as we saw all the surrounding on our way.

The room...
The room was superb, we have been many places in the world and this room was definitely the biggest room weve had. The room consisted of two large double beds, a pull out sofa, bed two chairs, a writing table, a large tv, balcony with chairs and a table. The bathroom had a large jacuzzi, which could also be a bath, it had quite a large shower and toilet. These were all very well looked after by our made Rebekk

The pool...
Due to us staying in the Mayan side of the resort we went to pool 3. it was big, had a swim up bar, had a net for volleyball. the poolside was kept very tidy by the waitresses who would get you drinks whenever wanted. During the day at the pool there were the anamation team that kept you on the go if you wanted to. The anamation team was run by Oscar also with him was Alex, Jessica, Katia, Ana, Andres, Gilberto and Chadurea. This team had you doing water polo, to poolside games, to dancing, to bingo and tequila volleyball. The anamation team never seemed to fail and seemed to work incredibly hard to keep everyone happy!

The beach..
the beach was very nice and clean, there was alot going on at the beach, but as im not really a beach person we spent most days at the pool.

Restraunts..
the restraunts were very good. The buffet was excellent and had such a wide variety of food, from all over. There was the seven al e carte restraunts which were mexican, cajun. brazilian, japenese, steakhouse, italian, mediteranian, all these restraunts were very good! i would definitely recommend the japenese and italian they were my favourite. There was also the French restraunt which was an additonal charge.

Spa..
As im only 16 i wasnt able to go to the spa but my mum and dad fairly enjoyed it and would most definitely recommend it/

Bars..
At night after our meals we would always head to the bar on the mayan side where we met our friends. This bar was slightly quieter. The staff behind the bar Angel and Joachan were excellent. They never saw an empty glass without refilling it, they worked hard and were always very polite. We also became very friendly with one of the waitresses Bianca, she was very good and friendly by the end of the holiday she was bringing out our drinks without us having to even ask for them.

trips..
we booked our trips through our reps kat and alfie they were very helpful and when one of the trip guides were late they were very calm and explained and found out how long they would be. i would definitely recommend the swimming with dolphins and the catamarang, it was an excellent expierience. Also the quad bikes were very fun!!

Show at night..
the shows at night were yet again ran by the anamation team. these shows were excellent and alot of effort had been put into these. the stage was huge. what i liked was at the end of the show you could get up have a wee dance with the anamation team and do the club dance.

Overall..
This was a fantastic holiday and definitely one of our best ones so far. I would recommend it to anyone, any ages as it caiters for all. Already looking for returning this summer it was that enjoyable and relaxing.

Room Tip: The Mayan side was definitely very good. We were on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have been home for almost 2 weeks from our vacation in Grand Sirenis, Mayan Beach and I can not shake off that vacation feeling, the dreams about the beautiful places we have been and the wonderful experiences that we had. We stayed there between Dec 13 and 28, 2012.

The good:
1. The location of the resort is excellent. We had visited the turtles in Akumal Bay several years ago from Gran Bahia Principe. This time we wanted to show them to our kids. We chose this resort deliberately, since it is several km far from Akumal (for viewing turtles, sting ray and coral reef fish) and Yal-Ku (same). To get to Akumal we used a taxi - $15-20 from the lobby which seems to be a more comfortable option in terms of time allocated and money if you bring you family with you than $40/person for 1hr swim with the turtles, which is offered from the resort via water taxi. Also the resort is relatively close to Tulum and Coba. One could get to Tulum for $3/person one way using collectivo (the local transport) if he/she goes to the highway. For Coba ruins we rented a car a few years ago.
2. Great snorkeling in the resort. I could count between 30 to 50 species of fish. It has a sting ray and 2 turtles in the bay of the resort, which makes it not necessary to go to Akumal, except that the turtles in Akumal Bay are bigger. Bring your own snorkeling gear and PFDs so you are not dependent on the rental equipment.
3. Bring water socks / water shoes - there is lots of coral on the beach/shallow water.
4. There is daily grill of meat and fish in the buffets and also on the beach.
5. Although we were there during the Christmas season the beach and pools were not crowded. This is a first time I feel that my privacy was not invaded by other guests. At certain point before our leaving to Mexico I was afraid that there might not be enough lounges and/or towels since we were to go during the busiest time of the year. Yet the resort has huge beach and perimeter of the pools so there is always space. We could surely find lounges before 10am.
6. All of the a-la-cart restaurants are excellent while the buffet is kinda skimpy. Since we were there 15 days we had a right to 7 restaurants plus the Christmas Eve gala. I seem to like the Steak and Brazilian restaurants best. In this resort there is a gap in terms of quality of food between the buffet and restaurants - the quality is a way better in the restaurants. We sometimes used the beach snack bar for lunch.
7. When we arrived I requested a room without a "hole in the bathroom wall", which is a "romantic opening between bathroom and bedroom" (see solution to this problem in my pictures) and we were put in 2716 which is on the ground floor looking towards the ocean and does not have the infamous hole. There is a garden before it and one would feel as it is on a patio (very nice touch). However this particular room smelled a bit like mold. We upgraded to 3rd floor, 2740, where there was no such smell and we also got 180deg. ocean view. We loved it.
8. We loved the specialty "shops": ice cream parlor, coffee shop, health bar and the lazy river. Make sure you keep your extremities inside the tube - the surface of the lazy river can scratch you badly. Also use the entry stair carefully - it is not connected properly and one may fall.
9. Excellent band capable of playing such wide variety of music! We loved their live music performances, especially the 2 rock nights!
10. Live music during the night in the lobby, which seemed to be good for dancing but no one of the guest used that opportunity.
11. Nice music everywhere, thanks to the DJs.
12. The resort has electric cars which means that there are no nasty fumes.
13. On our last night there was a great beach party in the beach snack bar. Look for it, ask about it!
14. Try the local Mezcal and Don Pedro Especial. I seem to like them.
15. Botanic garden in Riviera Maya which is part of the resort.
16. The architecture of the buildings, although the guests and staff would have benefited if eaves-trough were installed. This would remove the excess water from the bridges when it rains.
17. Not pushy sales people. In other resorts there is multitude of people selling stuff on the beach or staff who ask you to go diving everyday. Not such thing here. Very low key selling of diving trips.
18. Not cheeky animation team. Which is good if one wants to be left alone during the day.

The not so good:
1. Not having self serve water stations except in the gym - one has to wait for a bartender to pour it, which could have been avoided to save both waiting time and effort for the bartenders.
2. Dirty dishes. I had to wipe several of them clean or leave them aside if there was no napkin in sight. We did not get sick there though.
3. Lack of enough vegetable salads. If I am to compare Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana (GBPPC) which had huge selection of salads in 2011 and Grand Sirenis I would give 10 points for the variety of food and especially salads to GBPPC and about 2 to Grand Sirenis. See also point 6 above.
4. There are rather brave raccoons/birds, who steal food the moment you are a step away from it. Take care to guard it. Guests leave plates with food from the room service in front of their doors and racoons get to it. One night I observed a raccoon deliberately scanning each floor of each building for this food. I see a potential to spread disease.
5. This resort is not geared for dancing. The culture of the guests is sitting and listening to music. The Disco is far from the common areas. Usual resort plans accommodate the movement of the "party" from the entertainment theater to the disco which is usually close by. While in this resort it is a probably about a km walk/or bus drive from the entertainment theater to the Disco. We visited the Disco about 4 times, it was always empty with max 3 girls dancing and 30 guys drinking on the sides. In GBPPC everyone from the staff danced, even the servers while working which contributed to the nice atmosphere. Here the culture is very conservative. In GBPPC the party moved from the theater to an open area for dancing and then to the Disco. The atmosphere there was set for dancing - entertainment / animation team members were busy asking people to dance/teach them to dance. In Grand Sirenis I did not see an effort from the part of the entertainment / animation team to have people dance.
6. Lesser number of female dancers than male dancers. The shows seemed disproportionate in that respect.
7. The resort seemed somewhat understaffed. While there were many concierges to book ones restaurant there was not enough staff in buffets or restaurants, especially with the multitude of demanding guests.
8. PFDs are quite worn off/torn. Same goes for the kayak paddles, helmets... these need to be replaced.
9. Not sure whether this is the case with all ground floor suites - moldy smell on 1st floor.

Overall we all liked the resort very much and would recommend especially to people who like snorkeling. The only serious problem we see is the dirty dishes (esp. the ones in the beach snack-bar).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Went to the Grand Sirenis in November/December 2012. We had read all the reviews and seen videos of the place but still didn't really expect it to be as great as it was.

It is situated on the beach with a fabulous coral reef teaming with fish. The swimming pool options offer something for everyone - noisy pool with games or quiet pool or something in between

We loved the fact that there are a variety of animals roaming around - racoons, iguanas, coati mundi and agouti were all living around the hotel as well as countless different birds. We went for a walk along the beach to see how far you could walk and I saw a snake too!

I was sceptical about the all inclusive nature of the resort - I thought I would feel trapped but found that as it was sooo large and everything was just there it was a perfect place to relax.

We went on the timeshare presentation - it was what it said it was going to be and the offer is probably great if that is what you want but it wasn't for us. We did it for the discount we were offered on a excursion to Xcaret which we enjoyed.

The food is fantastic - again was sceptical that it could be as good as everyone said but it is. Coctails were good too. Also agree with others about the beach bar - fabulous tacos and again great service.

The only down side was that some people felt it was their duty to wake up others when returning from the disco at night

We got up early everyday to listen to the birds and jungle outside coming to life.

The staff are all friendly and fun. We had a great time and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Arrived at Grand Sirenis at night and really missed all the sights along the highway that I usually see during the day. The staff at reception were wonderful and made every effort to accommodate requests. We were initially given a room on the 3rd floor in the 6th building (Jabon) but asked to be closer to the beach and they found us a room in the first building (Naab) 2nd floor. 2 queens instead of a king but that didn't really matter to us and the room was very spacious.

By the end of the first day we knew that this was a much bigger place than we would have picked but everyone seemed very friendly so it was okay. The beach beds by the pool drew us away from the beach for the first day as they were so comfy and so darn close to the bar...

Wednesday morning I went to our concierge to reserve our restaurants and all the ones that others said were a "must" were full until Sunday... come back Friday to book. In each building there are two "concierge" - one that books restaurants and answers questions and one that tries to entice you into a "tour" of the VIP part of Grand Sirenis - I think it is very unfortunate that they are both in the same space as the second concierge started talking to me about my "free" couples massage (timeshare tour) and I honestly felt my chances of getting into the good restaurants was jeopardized if I didn't take the tour....

So, thinking "Hey, what's two hours that includes breakfast but will get us free massages and a dinner at the Japanese restaurant...???" and accepted. ERROR! Three and a half hours later on the sunniest day of the trip I was fuming mad and just wanting out of that room.

Anyway... now that that is out of my system, the food was great, tried the Mediterranean, Cajun, Steak House and Japanese restaurants and liked the Mediterranean the best (personal opinion only). Hubby is allergic to nuts so we had a laminated card with Spanish description of his allergies and a picture of the nuts and EVERYONE in the restaurants took it very seriously! Staff took the card to the chefs and came out and told us what he could and couldn't eat, even pointing out items in the buffet that weren't okay. Made eating out a breeze!!

Jose at the wet bar "Xaac" is the most awesome bartender I've ever had the pleasure of talking to! Ordered a round of tequila shots for 6 and he served them to me in stacked plastic glasses with the limes riming the top glass just like a palm tree (will attach pictures as soon as I have them) it was such a small thing but so cute! Anyone going there please tell him the Orrendian palm tree lady says he's FANTASTICO!

The tacos at the beach bar are a MUST! So is the Barbecue there at lunch, can't believe that for me the two best food areas were side by side each day at the beach... How convenient!!

Now for one last rant... The resort either has no idea what they have for an underwater showcase or they don't care. We were there for a week and I cannot tell you how many times I was fuming as travelers STOOD on the coral to adjust their masks, etc. and the life guards said NOTHING. Arggghhh! ****ed off more than our share of people when any of our group was in the water as we were NOT shy in telling people to get off the coral. They have no signage to make people aware that they are killing the sea life when they do that and there really is some wonderful coral and fish there. Also they have turtles in the bay feeding and travelers coming up and touching them, again because there's nothing telling them they can't or shouldn't. Wrote to the resort home office, will see what they say. Truly sad in my opinion.

Overall it was a nice enough place just not my preference. Enjoyed the sun, sand, turtles and food, relaxed for a week, laughed lots with friends old and new, but will be looking for something smaller next trip. Spoiled by ABR I guess .

Which reminds me, got to Akumal two days and on the second stopped to have what now turns out to be our LAST bucket of beer from the Moonrise bar (moment of silence...) but glad I can say I have that. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We enjoyed two weeks at the Grand Sirenis in November and fully enjoyed it. The room was good, the food was excellent and the staff were all friendly. One of the best features was that the resort was built right in the jungle and they left much of the native jungle in place so it had a very natural feel. The beach was great with very good snorkelling right at the resort - we even encountered large sea turtles several times just off the resort beach!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Right off the top: EXCELLENT staff! Absolutely everyone was cheerful, hard-working and eager to please. Secondly, the resort itself was great! It is large, and we were grateful that it allowed ample options for lots of walking to counter all the calories we consumed. For those who don't want to walk a lot, there are shuttles (electric, mostly, and quiet) running everywhere 24 hours a day. Now on to the specifics.

Accomodations are in two areas, each containing about a dozen buildings in a loop and featuring their own pools, bars and restaurants that are available to anyone regardless of which area you stay in. The aforementioned shuttles run right through each building's ground floor, so you can be picked up or dropped off within a few meters of your room. The rooms are quite large, with big bathrooms featuring 2-person jetted tubs and multi-head showers. Air conditioning is quiet and efficient, and the beds are firm but the most comfortable I have experienced in Mexico. No noise was ever heard from adjacent suites, though the buildings' design does mean that noise in the hallways intrudes into rooms. On the two occasions when this was problematic (young, drunk rowdies late at night), we were grateful that it didn't last long one night, and that on the occasion when it went on for more than a couple of minutes the resort staff showed up quickly to quell the disturbance. Housekeeping was first-rate in every way. The concierges, stationed at a ground-floor desk in every second building, were always cheerful and accomodating.

Now let's talk about the beach. This is not the perfect swimming beach that Playa Maroma, a little to the north, is, but it is splendid nonetheless. There are hundreds of palapas around the bay and you can always find a vacant one. It may not be in the first row, near the water, but that isn't an issue for us. Though the beach has some rocky areas, there is ample room to enter the water without the need for water shoes. The bonus here is that there is excellent snorkelling right in the sheltered bay! Snorkelling gear is free to use (for one hour) and we delighted in seeing large sea turtles, smaller rays, and a great variety of fish.

Booze. The literature says unlimited domestic and international drinks, but the reality is the selection is minimal at best and not high quality. One exception stands out, however: the house Scotch is 12 year old Glenfiddich! So, if you are a Scotch drinker all is not lost! Otherwise, mixed drinks are weak in alcohol content, but that is a good thing as I wouldn't want to see 2,000 drunks running amok about the place. Margaritas: forget it! They are disgusting! Mojitos can be quite good, though they will vary greatly. The house white wine is drinkable; the red is not. Coco-loco is a nice, refreshing change. All the bartenders and waiters and beach staff are great! The "special" coffees prepared each evening in the northern lobby are more for show than taste, though they aren't bad.

Food. Quite disappointing, though I must point out that we could always find something we liked. Sadly, however, we always found lots that was unpalatable. This was confirmed by the amount of uneaten food left on the plates of many diners. It was just wasteful and not in keeping with the resorts advertised five stars (Mexican, NOT Michelin). Again, I must point out that staff was wonderful in all of the restaurants. Some specifics: They are absolutely great with white fish! From the simple grilling in the buffets to the Blackened Catfish in the Cajun restaurant, you can't go wrong with white fish here (nor at any Mexican eatery I have visited). Salmon is an imported, low-grade (Chum) variety and overcooked and dry. Tuna likewise, and very, very salty. Avoid any eggplant as it will be quite bitter. We regularly eat eggplant at home and tried every variation they served at Grand Sirenis, but it was all too bitter. The Mediterranean restaurant is predominantly Spanish. The Steakhouse offered good (but not great) filet mignon - properly cooked to order - but dismal ribs. The Japanese restaurant was generally good, and entertaining. However, living in Vancouver, we eat at Japanese restaurants at least once per week and even the cheapest here surpasses the quality of the Ikebana at Grand Sirenis. The main beach bar offers freshly made tacos, but beware the sauce selection! What looks like quacamole is actually very, VERY spicy salsa verde. My wife, thinking it was guacamole, slathered it on and actually suffered mouth pain on the first bite. We witnessed children in tears because of this sauce's heat. Personally, I loved it even though it wasn't what I was expecting. Next to this beach bar is a barbecue where burgers and hotdogs are cooked from 11 AM to 4 PM. We don't go to Mexico to eat burgers and dogs, but some people obviously enjoyed them. The restaurants at the two main pools are buffets from 8 AM to 4 PM, before turning into the a-la-carte Cajun and Steakhouse restaurants in the evening. There is also a coffee bar - open until late - and an ice cream bar (at the Mayan Beach area).

Theater. Under a massive palapa, adjacent to the northern lobby, is a 700-seat, open-aid theater that features nightly entertainment. Sometimes the entertainment is excellent, and sometimes not. The theater has its own bar, and hosts a kids' show from 8 to 8:30 each evening. From 8:30 to 9 there is the 'pre-show', which is varied but consistently displays the can-do attitude of the staff. The house band is absolutely excellent, and more than able to play any kind of music. They really shine, though, in some of the pre-shows where they play mellow, danceable jazz, at which they are more than competent and genuinely inspired. Note that the theater schedule, displayed on a large marquee at the western entrance, is not always accurate. Shoud you be fortunate enough to be at Grand Sirenis for the instances when they feature a troupe of acrobats and circus-style performers, you will be thrilled. The acrobats and juggler, in particular, are genuine world-class performers.

Believe it or not, I am trying to keep this review short! Now, what about other miscellaneous matters? The Lazy River, which intrigues us but wasn't particularly enticing, when we booked our vacation, was delightful. We made a point to do it every day. If you just relax on your 'floatie', it takes 15 minutes to circumnavigate the man-made canal, driven by its pumped current. Look out for the ubiquitous iguanas, coatimundis and raccoons as you quietly drift through jungle, under bridges and past pedestrian walkways. The Activity Pool is really beautiful, though it is generally quiet and seems not to warrant its moniker. The kids pool is pretty cool. There is a ping-pong table near the beach, and the requisite volleyball area. Though we were not enaoured of the modern architecture when we viewed it on the Internet, we really came to love it. In particular, the two mammoth lobbies were spectacular - more so at night - and added a sense of the special with their distinctive atmospheres, due in part to the size but also the decore and the varied entertainment every night. There was an attractive hubbub each evening and the lobbies became obvious meeting places. We enjoyed shooting at the air rifle range, which surprised is with its high-quality equipment. We did not partake of either the spa, at the extreme northern end or the resort, nor the disco at the southern end (though we took a look at it). We did, however, venture out to the ocean by the disco to lie on our beach towels late at night and enjoy the marvelous starry, starry night. The activity teams, at each of the two main pools, were engaging but not so loud as to infringe on the enjoyment of those who didn't want to partake of their offerings.

So I think I am about at an end (are you relieved?) of this review. Ultimately, the negatives at Grand Sirenis were, for us, the food and the 90-minute bus ride from Cancun airport. Nevertheless, we would go back in an instant, as we enjoyed ourselves greatly. For your information, we paid just under $1,100 per person in early December of 2012, including airfare (Air Transat) from Vancouver. Excellent value, in our opinion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, | Zona Costera, km 256,3, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#15 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Tingo and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort And Spa
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.