We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best out of 4 trips so far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Casitas Akumal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Casitas Akumal
Save Saved
You added Las Casitas Akumal to your Saves list
Akumal, Quintana Roo, Akumal, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
La Mirada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best out of 4 trips so far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I can't think of one negative thing to say about Las Casitas. We stayed in #9 and it was the perfect location right in the middle and close to the beach access stairs. Every time we go to Akumal it gets better each year and this place is just top notch! Walking distance to everything. Rented bikes for a day or two and locked them on the patio.

Room Tip: Room #9 is pretty much right in the center and close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If I could give Las Casitas six stars, I would. Akumal is the perfect vacation destination, and Las Casitas is (to me) the perfect place to stay. The casitas are charming and the landscaping is beautiful. Each has its own private patio overlooking the beach, and some of the best snorkeling in the world is just steps away. It's nice to be able to make breakfast in your own little kitchen and have a variety of places to go out to for meals. We last went to Akumal more than 20 years ago and I was afraid that it might have been ruined by overdevelopment and too many tourists, but it still retains all its charm. It has definitely expanded with new stores and restaurants, but none of the new development is out of scale with the community and it has all taken place away from the beach. It remains a relaxed, tranquil place and not some crazy party destination. We liked all the other travelers we met there, which is saying a lot, actually. Las Casitas is beautifully maintained, very safe, and the casitas are comfortable and well equipped. Akumal is a great place for diving, snorkeling, relaxing, or exploring. All the restaurants were top notch and we never had any worries about food safety. Can't recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: The higher number casitas (10 and up) are closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtown,ct
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've stayed at the Casitas a dozen times over the past 20 years . We've visited many locations in the Caribbean over the years but Akumal and the Casitas remain no.1 for us and the various couples that we've travelled there with. The bay and it's accompanying wonders-wonderful snorkeling,large turtles,smooth waters and 18th century Spanish cannon on the sea floor along with a nearby lagoon filled with tropical fish make for a special,relaxing vacation. And if interested in classical Mayan history and the spectacular sites they left behind many are easily within reach. The 1/2 dozen restaurants around the resort are all quite good. The Casitas have daily maid service and are cozy and comfortable. Add to that a pleasant patio and a seawall that is made for sitting with an early morning coffee. This may not be the place for those that need every luxury and horizon pools but for us it is perfection.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center but this rating grid doesn't allow inadvertant "hits&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Manager at Las Casitas Akumal, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hola,
Thank you for keep preferring Las casitas Akumal,we hope you continue visiting us. We are having a wonderful weather on this time of the year.

Adrian
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

WE are back in Mexico again. Looked at many places and could not find a better place to stay than Las Casitas in Akumal Mexico. We have been here before and are soo glad we came back here. We think this will be our winter vacation spot every January. The beach is very kid friendly and not busy . The snorkeling is great as 20 green turtles live in akumal bay. The bay is protected by a reef so no big waves here . If you stay here you will agree with us.

Room Tip: they are all 30 feet from the water and 4 are two story sleep and 14 are one story and sleep5, compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Las Casitas is the perfect place to stay in Akumal. We stayed over Thanksgiving and everything was great. They had everything we requested for our twins- two pack/plays and two high chairs. It was so nice to not have to bring all that baby stuff with us. The staff was so polite and helpful. We love the fact that the beach is just steps away from the patio and that there are great shade trees along the sea wall when you need a break from the sun. The location of Las Casitas is also perfect, you can walk to any of the great restaurants, shops or grocery stores. We also love the fact that you can cook in if you rather not go out. We can't wait until our next trip to Las Casitas!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Las Casitas is a group of condos on Akumal Bay. They are generally two bedroom, two bath with a kitchen, dining area and small den. No TV. These condos have been around a long time, and some are updated and some not. They are quaint, not fancy, but do have a great location. Depending on your condo, you might be 20 feet from the beach. Most have an outdoor palapa on the back deck. Daily maid service. No pool, no restaurant. If you demand 5-star quality and service, this isn't it. If you are laid back and just want to chill out on the beach, this might be your place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed for one week, the rest of family for two weeks and they just loved Las Casitas Akumal. You have a private beach which is excellent if you are looking for a quiet place.

The snorkel is just amazing, you feel so close to the nature. At least per day you could see three turtles, rays, and diverse fishes.

The service is also a key point, our maid was called Maria such as nice lady, always taking care of us =)

The negative point, all the shops and restaurant are expensive. There is a supermarket in akumal beach but the price are incredible high. Therefore, I will suggest to drive a couple of km to buy all the groceries that you need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Casitas Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Akumal

Address: Akumal, Quintana Roo, Akumal, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Business Hotel in Akumal
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully furnished homes, nestled among lush private gardens overlooking the calm turquoise waters of Akumal Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Akumal Hotel Akumal
Las Casitas Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Casitas Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.