We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place to stay in Akumal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Casitas Akumal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Casitas Akumal
Save Saved
You added Las Casitas Akumal to your Saves list
Akumal, Quintana Roo, Akumal, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Akumal
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Unique place to stay in Akumal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed for one week, the rest of family for two weeks and they just loved Las Casitas Akumal. You have a private beach which is excellent if you are looking for a quiet place.

The snorkel is just amazing, you feel so close to the nature. At least per day you could see three turtles, rays, and diverse fishes.

The service is also a key point, our maid was called Maria such as nice lady, always taking care of us =)

The negative point, all the shops and restaurant are expensive. There is a supermarket in akumal beach but the price are incredible high. Therefore, I will suggest to drive a couple of km to buy all the groceries that you need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My family had a very relaxing, wonderful time at Las Casitas. The kitchen was well-equipped; the beds were comfortable; the view was amazing. Nothing fancy about it - but super convenient to snorkeling a reef out your front door and two fun close restaurants with yummy baked goods and delicious fresh fish dinners.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We first started coming here in the 90's when our oldest was a toddler. The beach is perfect -- clean, private, nice sand, and no surf -- and an excellent entry point for snorkeling. The location just can't be topped as the Main Beach is more crowded and the other bays in the surrounding area just don't have the same nice beach. The casitas themselves are nice enough for me. There's wifi these days, which worked well, and no TV's thankfully. As others have mentioned, the beds are pretty hard and the furnishings are nothing special, although it's all there. Just sitting on the back patio looking at the view -- fog at dawn, a beautiful day on the water, gorgeous sunsets -- is healing. If you're looking for all-inclusive or the Four Seasons, this isn't it. But we've been to Las Casitas 6 or 7 times now, and will keep coming back.

Room Tip: A couple of the casitas have a king in each bedroom -- most have some combination of a king in one a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at Las Casitas in unit #10 and loved it! It was great being right across the stairs down to the beach. The beds were a little hard, but we have found that to be the norm in Mexico.

The kitchen was well appointed, all the utensils, appliances, space we needed and fresh water everyday.

It has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and the unit is nicely laid out so both bedrooms get their own 'space'. The back patio was wonderful to spend mornings under the palapa on the patio watching the sunrise. The palapa also had white lights so at night it gave off a romantic vibe.

If you catch fish or purchase something you would like to BBQ just let reception know and they'll have the BBQ set up with charcol and light it for you at a specified time. We used it a few times during our stay and it was great!

There are lots of cats that hang out on the patio and in the yards. Be sure to close your screen or door unless you want some visitors. We were passed a bag of catfood from our neighbors that were checking out to feed while we were there for the rest of our trip.

The beach below is wonderful. The chairs comfortable and the umbrellas are handy. Do use sunscreen while sitting under the umbrellas tho. They aren't 100% shade, you will still get so UV rays! Snorkeling is the best from that beach...head straight out and check out the cannons under water then turn south and you'll see some great coral heads with lots of fish, eels, rays and of course turtles. We saw more turtles than any other trip this fall. They were still coming in to nest in the evenings!

We took advantage of their Fall special and split the price of the condo with a friend. We loved this place. We had always wanted to stay and we will now be back. Las Casitas has stole our hearts.

Norma our maid was wonderful everyday. The grounds keepers work very hard to keep the yard and beach and pathways beautiful. It's gorgeous.

One minor note...we did lose internet for 1/2 our stay. It was a little frustrating at first until it made us realize that we didn't want to spend our vacation with our noses in phones or laptops.

We did get to use the internet at the Lol Ha restaurant/bar in the evenings when we'd go up for happy hour. Just listen for the bell from your back patio of the Casitas!

Thanks for a wonderful trip and we'll be back!

Teri Ann & Craig

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmschis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our 5th trip to the casitas, every time we are worried that he huge amount of development in the area will have taken away from the wonderful setting--each time are happy to find that is not the case. Las Casitas and the little town of Akumal are still as beautiful as ever. The casitas staff are wonderful, so friendly, the reservations staff is very accommodating. The beach in front of the casitas is a small private section, with wonderful sand and great snorkeling right off your patio.

My only complaint is that some of the units are a little dated. Each time we go I'm noticing this more and more. The exteriors and gardens are all perfectly groomed, and the housekeepers keep the inside absolutely perfect throughout your stay. But the units themselves, the furnishing the fixtures, a bit dated and somewhat run down. All perfectly functional but on it's last legs. Our sink for example, the faucet was loose, and it leaked. The A/C in our living room was broken the entire time, a replacement was coming from Cancun "any day" but it never arrived during our stay. Fortunately the units in the bedrooms were enough to keep the living room area bearable, we had a relative cool week in July (which is rare), otherwise that would have been pretty miserable.

Still overall, for the value and the kind staff, and great location you can't beat Las Casitas--I KNOW we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Manager at Las Casitas Akumal, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest:Thank you for prefer las casitas akumal, this new year 2013 most of the casitas will have an important update.

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our family, 2 adults, 2 teens, spent last week at Las Casitas condos on Akumal Bay. The 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit was fully air-conditioned, had a well equipped kitchen and covered patio steps to a private beach area with loungers and umbrellas. The wi-fi connection was easy. There was no TV in the unit. Daily maid service by lovely ladies was excellent. Had only one issue with the a/c on our last day and this was corrected quickly. We used Riveria Maya Groceries for grocery delivery as they provide wonderful service. It is great to arrive to a fully stocked fridge after a long day of travel.

Las Casitas is perfect for a relaxing vacation and is within short and easy walking distance to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here in Casita #1 the night before our wedding and got married on the Las Casitas beach. #1 was large enough for four of us ladies to get ready in. The groom and his men got ready in my uncle's casita #19, which is just right above the beach. All of the wedding party came out through #19, an ideal location. Both casitas were clean, attractive and had all the necessary amenities.

We used the beautiful cannon walk and hotel grounds for our wedding photos. It is a picturesque setting, and would make any wedding gorgeous.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Casitas Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Akumal

Address: Akumal, Quintana Roo, Akumal, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully furnished homes, nestled among lush private gardens overlooking the calm turquoise waters of Akumal Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Akumal Hotel Akumal
Las Casitas Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Casitas Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.