We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont listen to the negative reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
florida keys
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“dont listen to the negative reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

first you have to realize you are not going to US or CANADA .it really is a crap shoot what you get when traveling to the carribean. to say the least ,we are pretty seasoned travelers. You have to decide what you want in a vacation then search out that type of resort. We are mid forties,like to party like the next guy or lay in the sun and relax.At this resort they seem to put a lot of effort into entertaining kids away from the drinking and adults which is a plus for families.They have ample access to booze if thats your thing.The beach is top notch with plenty of chairs,and the pool areas are really large to accomodate whatever your need maybe. When it comes to food people have to realize this is a business.Yesterdays main course leftovers become todays "CHEF'S SURPRISE". At this resort i can assure you there is plenty of variaty and tons of it. If you travel thousands of miles and expect to be randomly chosen to get one of the select few beachfront rooms i would say chances are not good.LIKE i said this is a business. we coughed up a couple hundred bucks,got the best room over looking beach on the third floor, and got to enjoy the carribean like i went there for. I been down there between the coast and cozumel 8 times. pay no attention to this mythical star rating system,this resort will accomodate pretty much all your vacation needs ,if you go with an open mind. Sorry if you go and out of the five hundred+rooms yours may not be perfect , deal with,insist on a resolve and just enjoy what you saved and spent your hard earned money on. For the value of your money there is no better place on the mayan riviera. if you want perfection go atlantis in bahamas,for four hundred bucks a night. Over all this was a great place and i am very happy i chose to go there and i would recommend this place to everyone . signed MR COLD , HALIFAX

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,915
    2,543
    1,002
    361
    289
See reviews for
2,532
3,671
110
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,910)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Stayed here 3 nights 4 days. Feb. 27 - March 2. This place is fabulous. Everyting about it was perfect. Great rooms, grounds, staff. The food is typical AI food and the drinks are light on alcohol no different from any other AI. We stayed at the resort all the time, did not venture away as this was intended for an R&R and that is what we did. We had an oceanview room in the Mayan Beach Resort and enjoyed it very much. Our room was kept immaculate by Jose. I would stay here again as well as recommend it to others.
It does take 1 to 1-1/2 hrs. from Cancun Airport by shuttle to get here so you need to plan for that.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax,Nova Scotia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful time and felt well treated. All of the staff were more than helpful and we would certainly visit again. A special thanks to Baltazar at the pool dining area and Rosa at the beach bar. We were there for two weeks (Feb. 22 to March 8) and can truly say that we felt a little sad when we left.

Sincerely,

Karen Payzand and Del Pearle
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

This hotel is great. It is very clean, staff is wonderful and helpful. I would, in a heartbeat, stay here again. Only exception to this hotel is the buffet food. You have to remember that this is not a 5* hotel (for food) in Canada/US - this is a 5* in Mexico. You certainly won't starve. It was a relaxing holiday, with a great mix of people.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Returned March 2/09 after staying a week at the Grand Sirenis. We had a wonderful time. Met lots of wonderful people and the staff were great. Had no problems with our room, everything worked, very clean, spacious, etc. It's a big resort so lots of walking is required. We caught the bus at the entrance of the hotel and went to Playa Del Carmen for $3 US. Another day took the bus to Akumal and Tulmal ($1 to Akumal another $3 to Tulum) Very easy. We went to three al cartes, the Steakhouse, Creole, and Mexican. The Steakhouse - The steak melted in your mouth, Mexican - was great, the Creole/Canjun was okay, not great. The buffet just like many resorts, you get tired of soon, but lots to choose from. Next time we would stay an evening in Playa Del Carmen and enjoy the food and nightlife. The coffee house has the best coffee. It became a after dinner must. We missed some of the night entertainment, and only saw the tail end of some, but what we say was good. Heard good reviews from many people. Tons of stuff to do if your bringing kids.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Spa- did not use but checked out and very nice but way too expensive.

Fitness- good, new equiepment but not huge and way too far from rooms

Beach-poor, stones everywhere, you need to wear water shoes.

Snorkelling- average due to visablitiy

Pools- excellent, very clean and well kept and lots of them. Love the lazy river.

Drinks- poor no consistency

A la Cartes- poor, food quality was low

Buffet- Good, excellent variety and lots of food

Entertainment- low end, the typical down south shows

Rooms- excellent, huge, clean nice whirpool tub

Lounge Chairs- not enough seats and like everywhere else the battle to get a chair

Disco- small and very loud and need to take the shuttle as it is quite a distance from any room

Service- adequate, no on went out of their way to service

Conceige- awesome, they called to see if everything was going well, got repairs completed quickly

Excursions- cost are really high

Airport in Mexico- harrassed by timeshare people, when you get there go through the glass doors to outside and find your travel firm they will guide you to your connection to the resort

We have travelled to over 10 resorts in the carribean so we are comparing to these other resorts.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#12 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.