We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING WEEK!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Kensington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING WEEK!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Absolutely amazing week at Grand Sirenis!!!! We were in the 22 building and had no issues with it. Our concierge Marcas was amazing!!! The beach was excellent, we never went out and put towels down but always got chairs no matter what time we got there. We didn't spend much time at the pool as we had went for the beach but they were nice. The lazy river was a great addition to the resort, but be prepared to fall in!
All the staff were great, and work very hard!!!! We never had to wait for drinks at meal time or at any of the bars. The captain at the Italian restaurant went out of his way to help me as I am gluten free and he had them make me some gluten free bread. We ate at the Italian, Mexican and Cajun restaurants and the food at all of them was great! The buffet was always good as well for breakfast and supper, lunch was always just something at the snack bar on the beach which was also good.
The entertainment team was amazing!! They are super friendly and go out of their way to help you. They are there all day doing the daytime activities, then all evening doing the nightly shows yet they are always friendly. Jesus was amazing!!!! Great employee!!!
The room was very nice! Beds a bit hard, but definitely not a deal breaker!!
We were through Transat and did their free trip to the jewellery store and this was the only negative experience we had as it was our last day and they gave our seats in the van away saying we could get the next one in 5 minutes. However that did not happen and we wasted an hour sitting on the steps waiting for a ride to Playa del Carmen. And when we got there they said the bus home was full and we would be taking the later one, which would have us waste our entire last beach day so we got fed up and walked to the end of 5th Avenue and took the public transit back. Which was great, cheap and quicker as it just stops on the highway and doesn't go in to all the resorts.
This was my 4th trip down south, first trip to Mexico and was the best vacation I have ever had! I will definitly be going back!!! Everything about this resort was excellent and the staff are soooooo great!!!
Thanks for an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,664
    3,025
    1,200
    409
    321
See reviews for
3,046
4,330
129
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

First time in Mexico, had no idea what to expect. The truth is the hotel is 5* no matter what anybody says it is 5* the hotel is so clean and always being cleaned. We had problems in our room e.g. the bath was randomly leaking, within 2 hours the staff had replaced the whole taps of the bath and everything was fixed. The maintenance team are so quick and perfect. You also get a personal concierge who looks after you on your stay. Huge shout out to Adrian, He is true gent, nothing was ever too much hassle and he made a new country to us feel so welcome and was a great laugh and a great bloke to meet. All the staff are so friendly, watch out for a few scams with the spa though, some guy was on beach offered us a promotion deal but when we got to the spa that deal didn't exist, however was quickly resolved. It truly was an amazing hotel, they could improve on a few things e.g. safe included in the room and wifi, and more food choices at the buffet and not sure why the lazy river turned off so early everyday, Otherwise an amazing hotel one of the best in the world. Truly 5* the staff should be proud to work there.

Room Tip: Every room has its perks there all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I travelled to the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya from February 12-22, 2014. We travelled with another couple who we travel with annually, we are all in our 30s, from Toronto, Canada.
Pros:
Friendly service
Beautiful weather (27-32 celsius and sun everyday!)
Great coffee bar (expect to wait at least 10 minutes for your coffee, everybody loves them)
We liked the beach (bring water shoes, there are rocks and reef and sea urchins, but that makes better snorkelling)
Giant rooms (the showers are awesome, jacuzzi tub is great, there is a giant hole in the wall between the bedroom and bathroom but in our relationship we aren't embarrassed about this stuff so, whatever)
Enjoyed breakfast buffet (Eric was our favourite waiter in the main buffet), all the locations for brekkie were decent, same goes for lunch
A la cartes we liked: Japanese, Mediterranean, Brazilian-by far the best food and service, our waiter was hilarious and the only staff member who thought it was great that we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary
Lots of lounge chairs available IF you get up early to find them, especially if you want a beach lounger in the shade
Cabanas around pool a nice touch
Enjoyed the drinks
Corona is the beer on tap
Maid service was great (we tipped $5 a day and I brought a small gift each day--such as perfumes, pretty toiletries, etc)
Fast trip from airport to resort-about an hour (PS we flew Transat-don't buy the $6 beers in the parking lot, they are only $3 on the bus, and there IS a bathroom onboard, they didn't tell us and we all cheered when we found out, and drank more)!
The shows are funny and sweet (we liked Grease and Lion King), the staff try really hard-so have a good sense of humour and appreciate their effort, the complainers on here are REAL JERKS-want to see a great show? Pay like the rest of us and go to Broadway, not a resort!
Cool wildlife
Each block has its own concierge to book reservations, just make sure you reserve ASAP, and be sure the dates and times are correct
Free room service, takes about an hour, food is gross but if you have had drinks, it works :)
Fun music by the pool, and pool staff/entertainment staff really try to engage you
Fabulous service and recommendation by Luis, the spa sales person. We got couples massages on the beach in the beach tower and loved it

CONS (hate giving cons!):
The WORST experience was the 100 or so Spanish kids (18 and over) that were wasted alll the time, banging on doors at 4am each night, one stole my beach hat (we got it back because she was an idiot and wore it the next day), rude, entitles brats--I know the resort can't ban people, but they could have managed them a little better...eventually a security guard followed them around to shut them up, but it was absolutely out of control (and we are NOT prudes, so I can't imagine how other reacted to them)!
Ridiculously slow check in, considering very few people were in line, we arrived around 8pm
We were promised ocean view, we probably had the worst view on the resort, facing a factory or something, I don't know what it was, I think we were in block 2300--great location, fabulous actually, just a bad view
We had some issues with our reservations, wrong dates were given to us (be sure to double check and compare)
We were told that we would have a welcome bottle of tequila, it was not there, they sent it up later upon our request
We were told that something nice would be done for us for our first anniversary, nothing was done--so we asked for it (haha, lame)--so then 2 days later they sent us a bottle of sparkling-nice but a little late ;)
Very hard bed, not great pillows--but, enough pillows to kind of figure it out
Cajun and steak a la cartes were not good. Well, the steak could have been good, but my steak was sooooo blue. So, maybe order a little more well done than usually, and you might be okay.

All in all, we had a great time. I will not return due to the Spanish young adult infiltration. I realize that it could happen anywhere, but I do believe if we went to an adults only resort, we would avoid that type of clientele. We don't mind party people, but that crowd was NOT our cup of tea (ignorant, childish, entitled).

Enjoy your stay at this resort!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The wait and service staff were LOVELY! They work very hard for very little pay, so you still need to tip despite resort "claims" that all gratuities are included. Rooms were fairly clean - found 2 live cockroaches, various spiders and earwigs - but dated. Beds are HORRIBLY uncomfortable and sheets are threadbare. Front desk staff are VERY disorganized. Stomach turning raw sewage smell in our bathroom and at swim up bar. A la carte restaurants are nothing special and VERY noisy - might as well eat at the buffet. Had one good and one bad meal at the Steakhouse. The wine is raunchy - Tuesday's vintage. I resorted to drinking Miami Vices, which were enjoyable and camouflaged the taste of the cheap quality spirits. The resort is also about 1hr. and 30 min. drive to the airport. Overall the wait staff and our travel mates made the experience wonderful, but I would NEVER stay here again nor recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I wrote a very positive review last May about this resort. After spending a week again this March, I still think this is an exceptional site. However I was disappointed. What is the source of my disappointment? Not the place, not the food, not the accommodations. While they all could use some overhaul, they are fine really. No the staff is the source of my reservations. As a premium member I felt ignored and put out by the very people who are supposed to make my stay a dream come true. Well it did not happen. I had asked for a premium room with a king bed. I was given a regular room with a two double beds! I had given my restaurant reservations earlier and they were ignored. I had to do it all over again. I had to call a few days before getting there since I had not heard from my concierge who was supposed to get in touch. The same concierge who assured me he would make everything smooth for us and who somehow became the invisible man throughout our stay. He even called one morning waking us up at 8am asking if all was well! Guilty perhaps. And to top it all after we settled our bill no one truly said goodbye. Let me say that the service in restaurants and bars was fine. I particularly thank Miguel great at the beach party (a nice addition by the way) and Karen, who made sure we were supplied with libations on the beach and was extremely pleasant and effective. But the premium members staff were missing, passive and full of complacency and indifference. I love this place but I did not enjoy the way I was treated, and that is a damning comment. Let's hope you can do better next time

Room Tip: Higher floor and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We found our overall experience to be good. The grounds were clean and well kept. The buffet's were very good and the staff were prompt and friendly, however, we found our a la carte experiences to be marginal for quality and service.

The rooms were nice but they are getting tired. When we checked in, the room that they had for us was furthest from all the amenities on the resort, however, for an additional 4100.00 pesos we would be able to upgrade to an ocean view room which were also closer to the beach and the pool with swim up bar. Not being overly pleased with the location of our original room we paid for the room upgrade. We felt as though we were being manipulated since there were many rooms at the ocean front location that were unoccupied. We wonder whether the resort employs this strategy on a regular basis to garner extra funds for the resort. We did ask at the time whether there were any other rooms (non ocean front) available that were closer to the amenities but oddly enough the only rooms that were available were ocean front.

Other negative aspects of the resort are that they charge for the safety deposit box. I would think that this is not optional because I am not sure who in their right mind would decline the safety deposit box in their room. Even though the costs were mininal we felt as though we were being nickel and dimed. The resort should just hide the costs in the room charges.

Also, if you wanted access to wi-fi you had to pay approx. $16.00 dollars a day or $40.00 dollars per week per device. I can understand perhaps $40.00 dollars per week for all devices but $16.00/$40.00 dollars per device appeared to us to be a money grab. Also, the wi-fi at the hotel was terribly slow.

As I said, the ocean front room that we stayed in was getting tired. The sofa was well past it due date and the beds were of marginal comfort. We both didn't care for the open bathroom concept. There was little privacy provided.

We found the resort heavily oriented towards families. Not to be anti-kid or anti-family the next time we return to the Mayan Riviera we will stay in an adults only resort.

I understand the review of the resort is average, however, we both loved our time in the Mayan Riviera. The weather was great, the beaches are beautiful and the blue waters of the caribbean are stellar.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best because they are situated close to the majority of the amenities. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

If you go to Sirenis I would recommend having a massage in the beach hut with Carmen she was so good, I felt so relaxed after and all my muscles felt at ease, I had a full body massage and would usually feel uncomfortable having my legs massaged but this was amazing. Thank you. Also thanks to Darius front desk for sorting out our room and checking us in and out, very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.