We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3rd time at Grand Sirenis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Halifax, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our 3rd time at Grand Sirenis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The grounds and landscaping are excellent - very lush and beautiful. Lots of birds and critters. Fantastic sheltered beach area with good snorkeling complete with reef, lots of fish and sea turtles are commonly seen at the beach to the far left.

We are average travelers in our 40's with 2 teenagers. My wife and I are early to bed early to rise. -We do not drinking much alcohol, however, we do enjoy a couple of drinks throughout the day and at night after dinner when on holiday south. And I enjoy a few cold beers on those beautiful hot days. I really like this resort - but the on tap beer is disgusting. It has played havoc with my system in the past, and after one sniff of it this year, I would not drink it. Not good having 7 days in the heat and can't have a cold beer. In fact this is completely unacceptable for a guest paying good money for their week in the sun. They have to get a variety of canned or bottled beer to offer guests - preferably some international beer, or at least Mexican brands - my conversations with most all other people travelling at other resorts is that there is a reasonable variety of canned beers i.e. Heineken, Corona, Bud available to guests. There are some bottles in the mini fridge in room - but it is not good beer - 3.5% alcohol and not good. I know others feel the same as we saw Canadians on the beach with their beach coolers and Molson Canadian beer they brought with them. The variety of mixed drinks is good - but boy do they splash the alcohol in and out of that glass fast - again this is not acceptable. We are mature adults looking to enjoy just a few quality drinks during the day, and this has to be rectified - or we will not return here for a 4th visit, which is too bad.

Beds in rooms are not good - very hard - but we could tolerate for a week because by the time your back got sore - we were ready to get up and out anyway.

Food is just fine. Yes - there is a fair bit of walking to get around but this is good for us as we want to be active and get some daily exercise.

Overall, we have always really enjoyed Grand Sirenis but I will not be going back if I can't expect to have a cold beer or two that is reasonable for consumption. Poor management decision when a 3 time guest/ family of 4 not likely to return because of this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,439
    2,909
    1,156
    397
    304
See reviews for
2,917
4,122
128
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carstairs, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Just returned after a two vacation at the Sirenis (March 9 - 23). Beach and lazy river are awesome. This resort is in desperate state of repair. Lots of mildew and black mold. Room is OK furniture getting old, dirty and tired. AC smelled of mildew and bedding had a mold smell. They seem to be under staffed, but the ones they do have are very hard working and friendly. Seem to sit for quite a while most meals before you are offered coffee etc.Pools were kept clean. Some areas of the resort smell of sewer. Spa was amazing! Nice resort for families.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Just came back from my 10 days vacation in Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya.
The resort is very nice, good food, neat room, very friendly and helping staff - all was really nice.
My special gratitude to the Kids Club guys - Pamela and Rodolfo - my 5 year little one was very happy each morning when I was dropping him to the Kids Club and was very disappointed each time I was coming back in the afternoon to pick him up.
Thank you guys - with your help I had some time for myself!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Spent 4 nights here. Perfect if "resort living" is your preference.

Everything was BIG - room was massive - bathroom very large with spa bath - bed huge.

Staff were very friendly and helpful - individual concierges for each section.

Beware of the "everything included" option - you only get access to one of the 5 a la carte restaurants for every 3 nights you stay. All the other meals are through the buffet (which was OK). Limited room service is included (and took about 1hour 20mins to arrive). Also, wifi is not included. It is only available in the lobby and you need to pay.

Otherwise there are many pools - all fantastic - lounges around the pools and beach area. Lots of activities to get involved in around the main pool area.

If a one-stop shop is what you are after, this is a good option.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Was a great stay have been there a few times and loved the bartenders! Cali was amazing same with his co-worker ebuni! Always had drinks flowing and had smiles on everyone's face! Food selection is great for even picky eaters. Will be my go to place for vaca!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Booked it through Nolitours/Air Transat, March 17-24th... Shuttle from airport was direct and there are multiple Air Transat reps from Canada on site!

Reception staff is amazing, even when we checked in late at night, smiling and helpful! Special thanks to Darian and Aranza :)

The resort is huge, as mentioned by other reviewers, but there are frequent shuttles you can hop on, however the walk is nice too! The landscaping and grounds are impeccable!

The rooms are very spacious, very modern and the air conditioning is very good. Very quiet at night. Concierge right in your building working until late in the evening and willing to help you with everything! Sherman from building 17 was great!!! One thing could be improved on is the quantity of beverages in the mini fridge (2 beers daily fyi).

Food is great, even at the beach snack bars, everything fresh and delicious!

Bar staff is incredible, would like to thank Carlos Ventura Alvarez from the lobby bar "Mezcal" and our other favorite bartender Jesus from the other lobby bar, amazing service! Also great service from the girls at the beach serving awesome drinks all day, hard workers!!!

General atmosphere was awesome, we felt at home, definitely returning!!!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor suites seemed more private and quieter, less people traffic and no worries, there are elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We just returned from the Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach and can't wait to head back. We stayed a week and had a wonderful trip in all respects. Check in was quick and painless, the bell boys transferred us and our luggage quickly and efficiently to our room. I had requested a second floor room with 2 double beds and frosted glass in the "hole in the wall" and was accommodated with all requests. We were in Building 20 and were very close to everything. Ignore the naysayers who say everything is too far to walk or that there are no shuttles. Lots of shuttles and nothing was more than 5 minutes from our building. The beds were firm but comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and well appointed. The frosted glass was enough for privacy especially between my 14 year old and her dad.
Our concierge, Luigi, was helpful and we booked all 3 al a cartes on our first night. The Mediterranean was OK, the Brazilian was great and the Japanese was amazing. I mentioned a food allergy in the first al a carte and they approached me in the third to assure me that I was safe in ordering.
The coffee shop was a stop over a few times a day and all of the drinks were great. Auriele is a sweet girl and it is a nice place to sit before and after dinner.
The beach bars are fun and while I don't remember our servers name (maybe too good of service) she was super and we tried to be in her section to see her smiling face.
The buffets are big and varied enough to allow for different selections each visit. If you miss the main ones, the al a cartes by the pools are buffets during the other hours as well.
The lobby bars are good too and there is always a nice refreshing breeze to cool you down.
The entertainment is not Broadway quality but fun. The audience participation portions are worth going for.
The lazy river is great fun for old and young so don't miss it. Fast enough to float without a tube.
The beach is great and the reef in the bay is so worth snorkelling around. The sea life is wonderful and there at all hours. Lots of palapas, we never needed to do the towel thing though others did. Personally, I find this rude and should be stopped everywhere.
Transfers to excursions, taxis and airport buses are all dealt with quickly and efficiently.
Honestly, the only thing we didn't enjoy was some of the other tourists who were rude to staff and felt the need to act like spoiled brats.
Overall, a great trip and we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.