We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very family friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very family friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We loved staying at this hotel. There was so much to do on the resort that we didn't have to leave the resort for activities. The lazy river was a lot of fun. It's a very family friendly resort. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. Highly recommend this hotel especially for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,428
    2,902
    1,152
    395
    303
See reviews for
2,906
4,113
128
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Had a great time playing beach vball with the crew - The water was nice as long as you swam on the left of the ruin. (Beach shoes are a must if you swim anywhere else). We upgraded to a ocean front room and were very pleased. The lack of free internet was annoying at first but made us get unplugged for the week which is good too. The buffet was terrible. The Steak house was amazing and I really enjoyed the Japanese restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just got back from a family vacation at the Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa and we all had a wonderful time. The hotel is really huge as everyone says on their reviews, try spending one day walking around and you will be amazed how many beautiful spots you can find. However, all the areas are always clean and spotless. The staff spend a lot of time cleaning the floors, glasses, pools, etc. Also, the gardens and really nice with a lot of flowers and exotic palms varieties. If you look in the hotel map, there is a botanic garden with great trees and flowers.

We stayed in the Muuyal block (1800-1884) which I recommend to everyone. It is very close to the beach, pool, buffet restaurant, a la carte restaurants, theater, lobbies, etc. You can get to any place without walking big distances or waiting for the shuttle car. The rooms are really spacious. You could get one with king side bed or with one with two double beds. Each room has a four piece washroom with a really nice bathtub and lots of space. I read on some reviews that you had to pay for the safe but we used it and were not charge a cent for it. During the night time, the 18 block is very quiet

The food at the buffet is very good, there is plenty to choose from. There is always a chef grilling any meat you want. Vegetables and fruit are always fresh. The service and attention is really good. A big thank you to Ronnie during the breakfast and lunch time and Hipolito during the dinner time for their services. They always made sure we had drinks on our table and our empty plates were always gone by the time we got back to our table. Since we were staying for only one week, we could only choose three a la carte restaurants. We had great dinners at the Stake House, the Italian and Brasilian restaurant being the Italian our favorite. It has a delicious salad and appetizer station. The snack bars are really good too. We usually had lunch in the one around the pool.

We were a bit disappointed with the entertainment of the hotel. The nightly shows were not up to the standards we have seen in others part of the Riviera Maya and Cuba. The music was too loud and the dancers not as talented as we have seen in other resorts. We also wished we could enjoy more mariachis and traditional Mexican music. However, Beto and Chucho do a great job around the pool. From 10:00 am to 5:00 pm they have everyone going and participating with all the pool games and water aerobics. Big thanks to them for the amazing job they do.

The service around the hotel is top notch. All the staff is really polite and always looking after all the clients. They are always walking around the pool, beach, lobbies taking drink orders and bringing them to you with a big smile on their face. Please tip them, they work really hard and deserve some appreciation. The a la carte restaurants are booked through the concierge of each building, they are also friendly. However, be aware that they will offer you a special breakfast to see the premium rooms of the hotel and you could win a week vacation, this is a trap to sell you time share.

The beach is really beautiful, it has a lot big rocks creating 4-5 mini beaches. It is also perfect for pictures. There are plenty of chairs and palapas to enjoy the nice weather. There is also a Mayan ruin in the beach which you can easily get to it and even go inside. The pools are also really big with plenty of chairs. All the palapas have signs saying that it is forbidden to reserve chairs but nobody respect those signs. A big thank you to Frankie, one of the pool bartenders, he would make you really good drinks. Ask him for a tequila boom boom or a golden margarita. The lazy river is really nice, just be careful with the edges, the cement is a bit rough.

The hotel has a lot of wild animals walking around. The staff encourage you to feed them. They are all very friendly. My favorite are the coates, everyday you can find them between Block 18 and 17 around 4:30 to 5:30 pm. They are a huge family and very friendly. They love bananas and bread. Also, the iguanas love to eat hot-dogs or sausages. There is also a female raccoon around the pool, she is friendly and has a small family to take care of. Around the hotel you can see a lot colorful butterflies and birds. There is also another small animal that looks like a small pig with no tail, they call it ceneque and love bread and bananas too.

Overall, we had an amazing week and we would love to come back. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice relaxing time.

Room Tip: Block 18 is close to everything and you don't have to walk much. Its is also very quite at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just got back from a family vacation at the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya and we all had a wonderful time. The hotel is really huge as everyone says on their reviews, try spending one day walking around and you will be amazed how many beautiful spots you can find. However, all the areas are always clean and spotless. The staff spend a lot of time cleaning the floors, glasses, pools, etc. Also, the gardens and really nice with a lot of flowers and exotic palms varieties. If you look in the hotel map, there is a botanic garden with great trees and flowers.

We stayed in the Muuyal block (1800-1884) which I recommend to everyone. It is very close to the beach, pool, buffet restaurant, a la carte restaurants, theater, lobbies, etc. You can get to any place without walking big distances or waiting for the shuttle car. The rooms are really spacious. You could get one with king side bed or with one with two double beds. Each room has a four piece washroom with a really nice bathtub and lots of space. I read on some reviews that you had to pay for the safe but we used it and were not charge a cent for it. During the night time, the 18 block is very quiet

The food at the buffet is very good, there is plenty to choose from. There is always a chef grilling any meat you want. Vegetables and fruit are always fresh. The service and attention is really good. A big thank you to Ronnie during the breakfast and lunch time and Hipolito during the dinner time for their services. They always made sure we had drinks on our table and our empty plates were always gone by the time we got back to our table. Since we were staying for only one week, we could only choose three a la carte restaurants. We had great dinners at the Stake House, the Italian and Brasilian restaurant being the Italian our favorite. It has a delicious salad and appetizer station. The snack bars are really good too. We usually had lunch in the one around the pool.

We were a bit disappointed with the entertainment of the hotel. The nightly shows were not up to the standards we have seen in others part of the Riviera Maya and Cuba. The music was too loud and the dancers not as talented as we have seen in other resorts. We also wished we could enjoy more mariachis and traditional Mexican music. However, Beto and Chucho do a great job around the pool. From 10:00 am to 5:00 pm they have everyone going and participating with all the pool games and water aerobics. Big thanks to them for the amazing job they do.

The service around the hotel is top notch. All the staff is really polite and always looking after all the clients. They are always walking around the pool, beach, lobbies taking drink orders and bringing them to you with a big smile on their face. Please tip them, they work really hard and deserve some appreciation. The a la carte restaurants are booked through the concierge of each building, they are also friendly. However, be aware that they will offer you a special breakfast to see the premium rooms of the hotel and you could win a week vacation, this is a trap to sell you time share.

The beach is really beautiful, it has a lot big rocks creating 4-5 mini beaches. It is also perfect for pictures. There are plenty of chairs and palapas to enjoy the nice weather. There is also a Mayan ruin in the beach which you can easily get to it and even go inside. The pools are also really big with plenty of chairs. All the palapas have signs saying that it is forbidden to reserve chairs but nobody respect those signs. A big thank you to Frankie, one of the pool bartenders, he would make you really good drinks. Ask him for a tequila boom boom or a golden margarita. The lazy river is really nice, just be careful with the edges, the cement is a bit rough.

The hotel has a lot of wild animals walking around. The staff encourage you to feed them. They are all very friendly. My favorite are the coates, everyday you can find them between Block 18 and 17 around 4:30 to 5:30 pm. They are a huge family and very friendly. They love bananas and bread. Also, the iguanas love to eat hot-dogs or sausages. There is also a female raccoon around the pool, she is friendly and has a small family to take care of. Around the hotel you can see a lot colorful butterflies and birds. There is also another small animal that looks like a small pig with no tail, they call it ceneque and love bread and bananas too.

Overall, we had an amazing week and we would love to come back. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice relaxing time.

Room Tip: Try staying in the Muuya block (1800-1884) and if you get a higher floor you would have a great time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just returned from Grand Sirenis in Akumal and, once again, the vacation was incredible! The resent is stunningly beautiful and everyone from the resort is great! I can't say enough good things about this resort. This was our third stay at Grand Sirenis and I can say with certainty that we will have many more. Great food, great service (especially DiDi (Anna), entertainment......all combined to make Grand Sirenis our favorite vacation destination!

Room Tip: Get in the 19 building on the second or third floor. Stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked a 7 day getaway at the Grand Sirenis. The report is beautiful. The layout is spacious and even though the place is soooooo huge, it hardly ever feels crowded. Service at the restaurants and lounges was good, not the fastest but the servers were excellent and very pleasant. Say no to the time share proposal from the start and they leave you alone for the rest of the week. The major disappointments, the bathroom wasn't that clean. My wife tidied up a bit. There was footprints on our wall... Footprints? Also,there is no privacy in the bathrooms. Zip.... Hopefully you want to see your roommate naked. It's going to happen a lot. I draw the line at the toilet. Hang a towel over the door to give you a little more privacy. The other thing, the food. It was warm. Not hot but warm. Keep in mind, they are feeding a lot of people but I like hot food. I wouldn't go back. I would choose a smaller resort.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Gerente at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hello Ed R,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience at the Grand Sirenis. It enlivens me to read your good comments about our staff as we put a lot of effort and resources to achieve so.
I really appreciate your tips as they are the best tool for us to keep improving the service we provide, and I take the chance to show you my apologies if you didn’t get a perfect service at all times.

In the meantime I encourage you to contact me for your future stay to make sure we succeed your expectations.

Again, thanks a lot for sharing your thoughts with us and the rest of the travellers. The Grand Sirenis Management wishes you happy holidays and hopes to see you again soon.

Jorge Viñuela
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed at the Sirenis last week with two girlfriends. One had been there before in June and recommended we go because of the great quality/price. The hotel is beautiful, modern, the rooms as well. Not thrilled with the semi-open bathroom concept, but it was ok. We liked the easy restaurant booking process with concierge tables every two buildings.

The pools are really nice. The 'party' pool has tons of chairs, but the 'quiet' pool next too the beach has too few. There were many chairs at the beach and finding a spot in the shade was not too difficult. The beach area is very secluded (only this resort), but you can tell it's man-made, as the surface is hard and there are a lot of rocks to get into the water. Great for snorkeling, when the waves aren't a problem. We even saw a lot of fish just dipping our feet into the water. We were not with kids, but they seemed to have a great kids' club and a lazy river around the pool.

We went to the spa one morning for the general experience and a massage. The massage was average, but the jet pools and mist showers were great. The nicest spa I've ever been to.

My only disappointment was the food. Considering the high quality feel of the hotel, I was expecting more. I didn't find the food appetizing. The taste was fine. The best part was being able to have chicken, arachera or t-bone steaks cooked for you on the grill at any meal. We went to 3 À la carte restaurants. The Japanese was ok. A lot of very fried foods and the main grilled food tasted a bit burnt. The Mexican restaurant was good. The appetizer buffet was the best part. The steak house was ok. I had filet mignon and it was over-cooked.

It is also very far from the airport (1h20) and Playa del Carmen ($25 taxi ride).

I preferred this hotel to the Xcaret, because of the better beach area, but preferred the Iberostar Tucan overall. Smaller resort with better food, and 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen. Although it is more expensive. I think this resort is very good for the price and would recommend it, unless the food is very important to you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Akumal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.