We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE YUCATAN PENINSULA CANCUN MEXICO - MAY 2013 -” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“THE YUCATAN PENINSULA CANCUN MEXICO - MAY 2013 -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our second visit and stay in the Riviera Maya at the all inclusive Grand Sirenis Hotel & Spa Resort.
We just love this place including the staff enjoyed the company of many new friends. including Antony & Sara the entertainers & resort guide – The young sporty couple Naomi and Ben. the trip to Akumal in the air conditioned cevo 25 peso each saved on taxi cost’s,.then there’s Michael & Roxanne the business couple who were able to get special treatment on most things including the Life Guard treating Roxanne wrist thumbs up for that too. Also we must not forget Francesca & Ben the trendy Manchester couple thanks for the flip flops Ben. The walk around the bay into the next resort was an experience with you all. the drinks and swim in the pool was also very welcoming too. We want to go again such a lot of activities to do and a fantastic hotel at this resort with lots of friendly helpful staff including in our block concierge’s Blanco, Sierra & Blanca. 7 Al-La-Cart Restaurants Brazilian one of the best too. Why not relax on a ride in lazy river, sun, sea, beach and bar, what more could one ask for.

You only come this way once in your lifetime make sure you visit this Resort & Hotel enjoy beautiful weather, food, drink and the atmosphere. The location is ideal for excursions too.

Room Tip: Ideal location for trips to: - AKUMAL ECO BEACH see also travel and costs - The MUUYAL Accomadation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,014
    2,596
    1,020
    364
    292
See reviews for
2,583
3,750
112
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,965)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Arrived just after the bad weather the humidity hit you got out of the airport, I must admit it became more bare able as the holiday went on. The hotel was very big but no need to worry they had carts to take you around the site our room was in block 18 which was very central with all amenity's. Each block had your own concierge to give you help, ours was Olivia and Jonathan and they certainly looked after all our needs. The sun shone and the hotel was good value for money I know other people did not like it but that was because it rained. We went home well rested and brown.

Room Tip: Block 18 is the most central
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Gran Sirenis Riviera Maya... many pros. The best staff and service ever - concierge service in each building during the day - superior to anywhere I have stayed before. Beautifully kept resort. Exceptionally clean rooms. Beautiful beach and great snorkelling right at the beach.

Cons - Very limited seating space in the evenings for drinks. Only the lobby area and this is very small and loud. We were a group of 7 people and would have liked to spend more time visiting and having drinks in the evenings - we were there during off season - I can't imagine what happens at high season. Very large resort with no formal scheduled shuttle service back and forth. There were lots of small golf carts running around - some staff would stop for you, some would not - in my opinion they should take lessons from the Gran Bahia Principe Coba/Tulum/Akumal on this point - shuttle service is a must for a large resort.

There is a two-tier system here with the vacation club - lots of empty pool beds and nice loungers in the exclusive area - however the vacation club members took up space in the "common" areas as well. High pressure from some staff to attend their brunch where the vacation club is pitched.

Very uncomfortable beds. Pillows were better than some places in Mexico but still the usual thin pillows you see in the resorts.

The food was good, but not great. The house wine was terrible, but you could order bottles of wine (at an additional charge) if you wanted.

I would go back to the Bahia Principe or Barcelo before I would visit here again. Being off season the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

firstly good points:
reception area friendly and helpful , rooms large and clean however beds very hard. maid service very good, entertainment shows not the worst we have seen, good spa facilities, beach nice with plenty sunbeds and umbrellas for shade, thomsons rep very helpful and friendly. great icecream bar, lazy river was good. coffee shop appeared popular. lots of friendly wildlife which just wander around hotel grounds and take food from your hands quite happily, we took some fruit from restaurant and staff don't say we shouldn't however we did see a sign saying not to remove food from area. the children as well as adults happily fed them and staff were happy to discuss the animals and explain what they were called if you unsure. (although take lots mosquito repellent as they are not so friendly)

now to the bad points:
very pushy concierges who appear friendly and helpful but as soon as we declined to attend the breakfast celebration which we were told by a guest staying was just to promote time share and that he was hounded for 3 hours trying to get him to invest in a time share. when my husband and friend stated not interested the concierge was pushy saying everyone says they not interested and cant afford, he then went on asking what our occupations are and asked if we owned our homes. The conversation went on for some time and is certainly not what you expect in a 5 star hotel. after this conversation we found it extremely difficult to book restaurants etc we only managed to book 2 visits however other guests used them every night without a problem. yet when one of our party was walking past the restaurants they never appeared full.
we mainly dined at the main buffet restaurant which finding a set table was always a problem and staff just walked past us ending some nights with us sat at tables waiting for them to be set for up to 10 mins. some nights we didn't get waiter service for drinks or removal of plates till we were actually nearly ready to leave, but they soon appeared to see if you would tip them when they could see us getting ready to leave. the food was not always hot and not always available without lengthy cues. for instance my husband an other guest stood waiting for 20 mins for chips and when they arrived they were cold and only enough for approx. 5-6 people(very small portions) then quests would begin to cue again. not enough staff to cater for the amount of guests. some staff appeared unfriendly and to busy to care, however I must point out not all.
in the bars staff keen to come and take orders but very slow to bring drinks, even if you order at the bar they say will bring them over but you end up waiting ages, its quicker to wait and carry own drinks. they prefer to carry drink orders for you as it gets them tips. however bar staff very friendly. we just home and they hotel bar was having work done it had scaffolding up all over and was very noisy with workmen not an ideal relaxing environment in a 5 star hotel.
beware if it rains the floors and pathways to rooms become very slippy.
facilities not adequate if weather is bad as nothing to do and the only games rooms or internet rooms are very small for the size of hotel and amount of guests.

Room Tip: not a high rise hotel only 3 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was our second visit, we were here last October around the same time, this year however the hotel was much more alive, must have been an american mid term holiday, the weather was fantastic and the staff in the hotel couldnt have been more helpfull and friendly, a big thanks to Amilcar and Sam in the mezcal bar and Didier at the members area bar on the beach, and a special thanks to Alberto for looking after us once we upgraded to presidential, this was a completely new and overwhelming experience for me, we were treated like royalty and wanted for nothing, this resort is friendly, the food is good, the diving is good and if you get the chance, eat in the French restaraunt, all in all a great 2 weeks and we will be back now we are SPT members, Thanks to all the staff at the Grand Sirenis for a great and memorable holiday.

Room Tip: No rooms are bad, close to the theatre can be noisy but not late. rooms by the top pool can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a lovely holiday in October at the Grand Sirenis. The friendly helpful staff are the best we have every come across - nothing is too much trouble for them. Our concierges in block 2000 were extremely helpful especially Alex and Vicky. The bar and waiting staff were lovely, especially Bianca but all excellent (I've forgotten their names). Our waiter in the pool restaurant really helped to enhance our holiday, and was very thoughtful going over and above to help. I would like to sincerely thank all the staff we came into contact with for their help and consideration. Please all stay exactly as you are.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Grand Sirenis is a fantastic hotel!! Staff are amazing everyone they could not do enough for you!!
Hotel is spotless clean with plenty of staff!!
Food fantastic so much choice at every meal!!
Beach and pools amazing!!
Hotel does require lots of walking and therefore may not be great for anyone with walking difficulties!!
Will definitely return loved it!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.