We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The rooms are big and what you expect in Mexico but could do with upgrading the staff are very helpful and friendly a big thank you to Miguel deara who made breakfast a joy nothing was to much trouble the food in buffet great .The Brazilian and Mediterranean al a cate we found the best steak ok Italian and Cajun very bad we did not get to try the Japanese .We were very disappointed in the bars we like to have a quiet drink after our evening meal there is no were in this hotel to go unless you are a VIP member we did not like the lobby bars very uncomfortable and short of chairs had to wait quite a few times so after 20 to 30 mins we got fed up and would take a drink back to room not what you expect to do on your hols . The beach could have been cleaner it was full of cans paper straws cig packs not what we have found in other resorts . Can we praise the breach waiters they did a marvellous job . The rep did try to help us move to a diffierent hotel but the cost was to much it was as much as paying for the holiday again .This is not a resort I would recommend . Can I just say spend money on improving and add more bars and not on paying money to people who cannot aford or have no intention of joining your VIP club

Room Tip: We did not mind the walk but did e mail asking for a pool view did not get but told when we asked it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,014
    2,595
    1,020
    364
    292
See reviews for
2,582
3,750
112
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,965)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
blyth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Okay as always we try to be objective, and we tried not to compare this hotel to last years as they ere both 5star. The difference was night and day, here we go.
This is the report that tour operators should tell the truth about
Room was decent and clean
Mini bar pathetic and drinks were never cold
Main buffet food was excellent in fact it was as good as the alleged special restaurants
Not every where had air con
Themed restaurants Had to use coffee shop toilets across the road
The beach was very nice great vista
The entertainment was dire and round the pool by the bayou restaurant was far too loud
The staff were brilliant and I would like to mention a few
Bayou captain Enrique
Waiter Jose Louis poot
Round the pool the fabulous leiydi Ramos just superb
All the waitresses in the lobby bars
Did not like our concierge angel only interested in selling
If you want a 3star+ hotel @ alleged5star prices book this one
If you want 5star look elsewhere
All inclusive wot a joke they want money for safe, French restaurant and lobster dinner
Be aware that the hotel staff are told to tell you to put good comments only when they knew we were un happy they never asked us to put it on trip advisor

Room Tip: Wot can I say
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel was great, especially considering the price! It had many different restaurants, swim up bars, and the service was excellent. We would like to thank Luis Sanchez who provided great service in the lobby bar. Luis was polite and friendly everyday. All of the staff were wonderful. We highly recommend this hotel!
-The Calgarians

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for the past three years and are members of the SPT Club. Last year we arrived and the pool area had been closed and other building work was being carried out. We had not been told of this and in fact we would have rebooked had we known the extent of the problem. We fully understand that these things have to be done in order to improve however communication between guest and hotel was lacking. This year more work was being carried out, not to the large extent of last year and still no communication. If you do not want this on your holiday I suggest you contact the hotel direct and ask to speak to someone to ascertain if work is being carried out. That is a downside to the hotel however there are many up's to this hotel and the reviews written are accurate. The staff at the hotel work very hard to ensure your stay is both comfortable and relaxing. The rooms by the pool can get very noisy in the day, this is not a problem if you are aware of this however if you like to rest in the afternoon take one of the other rooms, all views in this hotel are wonderful and it is a very beautiful spot of the Mayan. On this visit two members of staff stood out for us Miguel Herrcro who was the person responsible for keeping our room clean and well provided, he did his job extremely well and was an excellent representative of the staff that work at the hotel. Another member was Alverto Perez who on this occasion was a waiter in the French restaurant, we had an issue with one of the dishes, he was very professional in his dealings with us and went out of his way to accommodate us and make the rest of the time in the restaurant pleasurable. One other waiter that deserves a mention is Maxamillion who worked in the Brazilian restaurant, another charming member of staff very good at his job and most professional. There are many members of the staff that make the Sirenis what it is, and excellent destination in Mexico, we look forward to our next visit and another memorable holiday. Keep up the good work and Bepe your hat request will be met with pleasure.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are not by the pool ask for a beach location if in your price range. Block two is a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Colomban
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, the rooms are spacious, well maintained and the site is superb. it contains four beautiful pools and beaches is great, private and located in a small bay. 3 buffet restaurants are excellent and lots of choice, for the others restaurants, Japanese, French, Italian, etc., they are all very good, but you need to eat steak house. For fans of cross fit, a small gym 2 minutes walk outside the complex with a cinote is amazing, the coach is very good and he speaks French, English and Spanish. In conclusion,a magical place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Sirenis (14 Sept). This was our second time at this hotel, our first as Sirenis Premium Club members. Our holiday was first class, I really struggle to find anything negative to comment on apart maybe one of the restaurants.
The weather this time was not so good, the hotel can't control that, but the entertainment staff were on hand to keep everyone happy with indoor activities. It was amusing to see the armies of cleaners battling (and often losing), to clear the water that was coming into the bar areas and coffee shop.
In view of the weather, we took advantage of our membership and spent a few mornings at the spa, well worth a visit. Melissa and all the other staff there were so helpful.
I also want to mention Temo and Didi at the beach bar, nothing was ever too much for them and they were always willing to spend time chatting with us.
We tried all the theme restaurants, and have to say that we were only really disappointed by the French. We felt that the food in there was nothing that special and yet it is the only restaurant with a surcharge. We highly recommend the Cajun, Mediterranean and of course the Japanese. In all the restaurants, the Kapitans and waiters were extremely polite and attentive and made the whole dining experience a great pleasure.
We also want to mention Theo and Andrea, our concierges in block 28, again, nothing was too much trouble.
And finally a huge thanks to our VIP concierge Ernesto and also Carol DeSilva for their time and efforts to make our holiday special.
We love this hotel and will return as often as we can. In every area of the hotel, the staff are always cheerful and polite and will always greet you as you walk around the hotel.
A final mention for the Fat Cat experience that we did again (3rd time). Thanks to the crew who made it such an enjoyable day on "The Boat that Rocks"

Room Tip: We had an ocean view so would recommend one of these if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland(edinburgh)
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

thought it was great,my partner and I have just returned from spending 2 weeks at this resort..it has plenty to keep everyone happy from the sea life at the beach,wild life round the resort,beach entertainment,pool entertainment,games room,wi-fi room or excursions,or if you just like to laze around,the bar staff and restaurant staff are excellent as are the cleaners around the grounds to the maids who clean your room.food is fantastic and great choices,theme nights in the restaurant and has a-la-carte restaurants that you can choose 3 a week,only down side we found was we could only get 8.30-9pm for a-la-carte which means you are missing some of the entertainment show at night :( we where in the Akam block room number 2032,the room was large with 2 double beds,air con was fantastic just what you need when you've been out in the heat all day and when your getting ready to go out at night,down side of being in this room was we where right above where the concierge sits and they start at 7.30, constant phone ringing and loud chat,plus its a through road for the other blocks and the disco so can be extremely noisy,ok if your a deep sleeper like my partner but if your like me a light sleep don't expect to much sleep,we done our own trip to playa del carmen twice,we enjoyed it that much... It's an experience and we never once felt unsafe,you can banter till your hearts content,plenty tat or you can buy designer,plus we tried a proper Mexican restaurant and it was fantastic to get involved in the Mexican culture,we also went to coco bongo and that's a must!what a fantastic night,£80 each through Thomson,that includes,transport there and back,entry as a gold member and unlimited drinks...barman never let's your glass go empty,following day was a right off lol.. Didn't think the rep at hotel was very helpful,we where told at welcome meeting we could upgrade our flight that day so we waited in a Queue for over an hour to see her to be told they were not available till 9 days before we depart,we went back 9 days to be told there was none left without her even checking, Airport coming home,we where 3kilos over total to pay was £54 on top of paying the tax on way out,don't understand how we were over as our cases had exactly the same going and coming back and minus toiletries beware there was a lot of people over?shops in airport are expensive,£2 for a small bottle of water,fast food,£30 for 2 meals and £5 for a small bar of chocolate that we never bought! We know airports are a tad more expensive but think they are taking the mick, overall a great holiday and we would go back...

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.