We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hol at Grand Sirenis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Akumal
lincolnshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Hol at Grand Sirenis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ok the good stuff 1st - We had a fab holiday at this hotel, great choice of food, endless supply of drinks & good entertainment. All areas were very clean and well maintained. Lovely, friendly and helpful staff, apart from one very grumpy breakfast waiter (not going to name & shame you-you know who you are!!)

This is a perfect place to stay with a family group as there is something for all ages from toddlers through to grandparents. We stayed as a couple so might have preferred somewhere smaller and more intimate, especially in the evenings as all the communal bar areas are vast and feel quite busy. Having said that we still had a wonderful holiday, lots of good memories.

We also went on several trips booked through Tara the lovely Thomson rep, definitely recommend the dolphin swim, one of the best days out ever! One of our trips was cancelled and unfortunately we were not informed of this until we inquired as to why we had not been picked up, so communication could have been better.

We had a lovely room, very spacious and we were glad we hadn't paid for an upgrade to a seaview as we had a good view of the gardens & pool and sun on the balcony in the afternoon. The bedlinen, towels & robes had seen better days but they were clean & changed frequently and this is only a small criticism and in no way affected the overall enjoyment of our holiday.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Chris7ed,
Thank you for posting your experience with us. I am very glad that you had an excellent vacation, and being a family-friendly resort it makes us proud to read such review. Hoping to see you again. Best, Daniel – Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,208
    1,327
    537
    202
    150
See reviews for
1331
2035
63
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (983)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family stayed at Grand Sirenis from Feb7-21st. It was our first trip to Mexico and we had great time. Our travel agency rated the resort as 4 stars and we agree with that (not 5 star).

Check in was ok (arrived at 6 pm). We were offered a ground floor room in building 15, but I asked for a upper floor room and we got a second floor room in building 14. The room smelled very musty and I almost went right back to lobby to change room, but we were hungry and we decided to leave AC on and went to eat dinner first. Wnen we came back, the smell was much better, so we ended up staying in that room. (We left one key card in the slot and kept the AC on 24/7.)

Maids did excellet work cleaning the room every day. We even got some towel animals. Our son's favorite one was elephant. We also got occasional turndown service, which was nice! Fridge was restocked fine. One day when we came back from a full day tour and were exhausted, we didn't have water in the fridge, but our concierge MIguel took care of it and we got water in less than 30 min.

Building 14 concierge Edgar, Miguel and one other person (don't remember name) were great! They got us all dinner reservations we wanted with no problems. They also arranged the pick up of our luggage when we left, and the pick up was right on time!

Food: Buffer restaurants wer ok. We usually ate breakfast in the main buffet, and it was very good. For lunch we often went to small buffet by the pool (El Rancho). It was not as good as main buffet, but we always found something to eat. We also tried beach snack bar and their wings and tacos were great! Also beach barbecue was good. They even got great paella with huge shrimps! The only problem at the beach is a lack of tables and chairs to sit down, so eating lunch was sometimes challenging. We had 6 a la carte dinners. We all had different favorites. I enjoyed Japanese, my husband's favorite was Mexican (best steak ever!) and our son's favorite was Cajun. We also went to Italian, Brazilian and steak house and they were good too. Dinners in main buffet were also fine and we liked the theme nights. Faustino was our favorite waiter in main buffet! He is so nice and always happy! We always tried to find a table at his area. We ate all kinds of food and none of us got sick! We did use hand sanitizer every time we started eating (had own small bottle with us), so maybe that helped. We used it even more after I noticed that some pepole go to toilet and don't wash their hands after that, and head straight to the buffet to take food...

Some people have complained about stolen things, so I have to mention that I forgot my RayBan sunglasses to El Rancho buffet when we had lunch and I thought they were gone, but waiters had fortunately found them and when my husband went back there, he got my sunglasses back!

Beach and pools: We enjoyed beach vey much! Good beach for snorkeling was one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel and we were not disappointed! It was great to just walk in the water and see tons of fish, coral and turtles! It was also good place for our son to learn snorkeling. Pools were also great. Water was a bit cold, but in the afternoon it was better. We mainly stayed at the quiet pool so we had smoothie bar, coffee shop and lazy river all nearby! Lazy river was great, did that at least once a day! Esperanza at coffee shop made great coffees! We also had great waitresses by the pool and beach, unfortunately I don't remember their names, but they worked very hard and were always nice and smiling!

The resort had tons of activities from spanish lessons to archery, so there was always something to do. We also did tours to Chitzen Itza, Coba, Tulum and Sian Kaan. They were all great (some were through our travel agency and some were booked via internet).

Would we go back to Grand Sirenis? Probably yes (great snorkeling, great staff).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Usually travel to smaller resorts however my daughter selected this resort for her wedding. Was a large group and they selected it to accomodate the needs of all the group. Wedding planner at the resort was good. Had a great setting at the beach. The food was excellent as were the staff. Had the reception in the palapa at the beach, it was an awesome site. There were some surprises for them however.... had been told they could provide their own music which lead them not to anticipate paying $$$ for a sound system when they got there.
Beach wasn't great but the staff at the beach were great to serve drinks and look after everyone. Good food in the main buffet in the lobby. The Brazilian restaurante was excellent!
Not much time for scuba diving but the dive shop was negotiable for a boat load of us to go out. Didn't see much on the dive however.
the lazyriver was good for a group activity also.
The room had a bizzare opening between the bathroom and bedroom where there was glass missing was problematic if you had anyone in the room it was wide open! The bride and groom had a gift of a room upgrade and to me it looked the same as all the other rooms and was actually in an area where there were renovations going on early in the morning!
Loved the crepes for breakfast in the morning. All the staff were very pleasant and always smiling.
Coffee shop was excellent as was the coffee in the lobby bar. Good BBQ's on the beach.

What I didnt like was the racoons on the beach. Fell asleep one day reading and woke up when one of the wacked me on the leg from under my beach chair!

Didnt like the fact that we booked as a large group and were scattered throughout the large resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for a family friends wedding. Hurricane Ernesto hits the coast as we landed. God it rained and blew........ until the next day and then it was all sun and swim up pool bars.
With respect, a group of 15 of us came here in August for a beach wedding and to relax for 10 days with young kids. And with respect to the staff who were brilliant, the food was good and the hotel which was pretty good in itself, it simply wasn't for me. A bit too Modern and Minimalist maybe. Excellent value mind, paid £1000pp AI for 10 days in August.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We attended a wedding in Mexico last November. We stayed at the Grand Sirenis. The hotel and resort was very good. I was really impressed by the staff there. Friendly and informative. On our last night we went down to the beach and while we were floating down the lazy river someone picked up one of our towels(by mistake I hope). We were initially told we would have to pay for it. Pamela one of the ladies at the main desk told us she would just give us another voucher card for the towel. She said she did not want this negative experience to be the memory we have of the Grand Sirenis.It worked because now when we look back we just remember this beautiful spot in Mexico with very friendly and helpful staff. Please give Pamela a pat on the back and let her know she is doing a great job.

Room Tip: For a little extra you can upgrade to an ocean view, but I would do that before you leave home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The accommodations are at least acceptable, it is a very old resort. We been there 2 weeks in March and not once have we used the outdoor pool S it's not heated.
The dinner on site has Spanish fare & that's good to know.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Grand Sirenis. Highlights were the staff, the room, and the food.

We stayed at the Barcelo Maya Colonial the previous year. To compare the two, The Grand Sirenis felt a little bit 'dated' and the beach at the Barcleo is better, but the staff were so great at the Serenis that they made up for it.

There's pretty good snorkeling at the Grand Serenis, there is a small coral reef off to the left of the main beech. There were turtles too which was great.

The pools were nice too. We found a quiet, end spot at one of the pools that we spent a couple of days at. It was pretty peaceful all considering. Then we'd hit up the pool with the bar in it later in the day and people watch.

The Mexican Restaurant was our favorite. Jorge Mora (sp?), one of the staff there asked me to write this review after I complemented the resort. He was to friendly to say no to.

Give it shot. You'll have fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mayan
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa Akumal, Mexico
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#12 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.