We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the GS in Jan. This is our 5th all exclusive so we did have something to compare this resort to. I will split things into the good and not so good

Good
Ala carts - we tried the Japanese,steakhouse,Italian,Mediterranean
,Cajun
Pools -nod to the lazy river and quiet pools
Staff in restaurants,pools and transport
Rooms - large and well maintained. Although the first night while doing the bed bug check(there weren't any) A cockroach ran across the top of the bed. Some what freaked out but it is a tropical country and have seen plenty more in Hawaii! Note bath and shower area is open to room but toilet has its own enclosed room.


Not Good
Buffet -the worst we have had. Lots of recycling,no seafood other than small shrimp in one salad all week
Disco -bathrooms were dirty and staff unbelievably rude and arrogant- held a "drinking contest one night so they could all "win" and tie one on
Animal issues - lots of raccoons that are very aggressive due to the design of the hotel. Guests leave room service trays out in the open air corridors and the raccoons know this and come through every night making a huge mess
Beach- not the best we have experienced on the Mayan. Quite rocky and windy.

Room Tip: We found we could do walk ups to the ala carts if we were willing to eat early - before 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi KT324, I would like to thank you for your comments, as they always help us in improving our services to our guests.
I am glad that you enjoyed our variety in pools, and that generally staff at the hotel were up to the standard you expected.
However, I am surprised to read that you think that the buffet recicles the food, which is not the case. Actually, we follow a weekly meal plan, and we prepare all the food daily. This way, breakfast, lunch and dinner consist of a different combination of dishes every day.
Anyway, I thank you again for sending your feedback, customer comments are always welcome and appreciated. Best regards, Daniel – Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,125
    2,679
    1,061
    376
    293
See reviews for
2,676
3,838
115
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,045)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Am writing this whilst sitting sipping one of their fab cocktails. Was wary about comin here following all the negative comments onhere, but this hotel is fantastic the setting is breathtaking, the rooms are lovely, food is great...need I go on. Swam with turtles this morning right off the beach. Big thanks to the amazing staff who can, t do enough for you. Loved the whole hols. The only negative is the appalling bad manners of some of the other holiday makers but the hotel can.t help that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a nice resort. The lazy river is great for kids. The food at the buffet is good and the beach food is quick and also good. There is a coffee house with fresh coffe and other goodies and icecream in three different areas. Shows were so-so. The beach is really great for all ages. Private and great for seeing fish and turtles. This resort is quite large and mirrors itself...confusing at first. We had two kids under 5 and they were pretty tired from all the walking. Very good resort, but thought the price was a little high for what was offered (overall package)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a mix of good and bad, this is no 5 star resort and we will not be going back.

The good, the pools and beach were awesome, beautiful and well kept. If you are going to try the snorkeling bring your own gear, the mask and snorkel they gave me were not cleaned from the previous user.

The food was alright, breakfast buffet had alot to offer but after 4 days it was bland, nothing special.

Lunch was great, dinners were ok, my steak at the steak restaurant was a joke 1/4 inch thick yup thats 5 star dining lol. The Brazilian was at best ok and we could not get into the Japanese restaurant.

We had a very special night planned, we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary on Valentine's so we met with the concierge and arranged for a baby sitter for our 2 kids. One of the concierges promised us that she personaly would be there at 7:45, she never showed up so at 8:00 we called the front desk. They could not find her and sent someone else. The concierge will also try to get you to go on some sort of time share selling scheme it went something like you get a $100 of a fourth restaurant I think the french if you sit through it, after we said no they called our room the next day and tried again.
The day before we left my wife went to the front desk and went over our departure times. At 5:30 am I awoke to the bell boy banging on our door waking up our two kids, he had the wrong time, it was supposed to be 11:30. Well the front desk must not have believed him so they called at 6:00 and woke the kids up again. Honestly, they have our flight schedule.

Well thats it, loved the beach and pools, food was ok, service for food and drinks was great. Service from the concierge and front desk was the worst we have encountered.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the pools and/or beach, the resort is huge, so there is a lot of walking if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi Wild_100, thank you for taking your time to share your feedback, I really appreciate it as it is a source for continuous improvement for us.
To make reference to the baby sitter, i am glad to know that we solved the issue, and you were able to enyoy your special night, nevertheless I apologize for the inconvenience this might have caused you.
Regarding to the wake up, I know that due to the great amount of pick up requests we handle, the hotel is always exposed to human mistakes and we are always in the best disposition to solve them immediately. This is why I want to offer you a sincere apology.
I thank you again for taking your time to review you vacation with us. Very best, Daniel – Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Where to start. Having never done All inclusive before maybe there are better places than this, but in terms of value for money and a greatr holiday, it was FANTASTIC! - please do not be put off by soem of the reviews on here,

Was it perfect? No. The negatives:

- bed linen is somewhat tired
- bedroom curtains are a little thin, meaning you are woken early by the sun every day
- the food at times is of average quality and on the buffet it isnt always piping hot
- there isnt a great deal to do on an evening after watch the sometimes average shows

The positives: a much longer list!

- the staff must come first. They are without exception, friendly, smiley, helpful and happy i0n their work. Yes, a little tipping is gratefully received but not necessary. a big mention to "Leydi" at the beach bar and "Antonio" at the theatre bar
- the rooms are very large and well equipped. who cares if the TV isnt flat screen? Is that why we go to Mexico?
- the bathrooms are very well equipped - not sure where the stories of 45 mins to fill the jacuzzi comes from
- the whole resort is very very well maintained
- the beach is fantastic - go to the left of the ruin and rocks in the sea are not a worry
- breakfast is fantastic
- the Japanese restaurant is good fun. The steak house and Brazilian are both good
- very handy for Akumal and Playa del Carmen by Collectivo form the end fo the drive.

Please, please, please do not worry if you are booked to go to the Grand Sirenis - it is fab

Room Tip: We were in 1344 - a bit of a walk but with all that food we were glad of the exercise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent an enjoyable week in the Grand Sirenis. In short the downsides: huge (I.e. It might be a very long walk from your room to the beach / restaurant, etc.). The concierge is more than useless, and most of the staff not high quality either (but that's the same in moat Caribbean all inclusive resorts, and not worse than in others). Finally, go sure that you plan well enough time at check-out day in case the people who help you carry your luggage run late. For all the rest the ressort is amazing. Huge, modern rooms with very generous bathrooms. Great food (e.g. T-Bones steak at the large buffet or hummer at the Italian buffet). A great beach where you might be able yo see turtles when snorkeling. A well-balanced animation program. And the nightclub is so far away from all rooms that it disturbs nobody. Definitely the best value for money place I've stayed in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from our first trip to Mexico and it was at The Grand Sirenis. We were worried due to previous reviews but knew that we both were pretty easy going. Besides anything is better than - 25 in Saskatoon!
The accommodations were very nice with a beautiful ocean view. Only complaint was partially our fault- the a/c was not working and we thought perhaps this is how Mexico is. However when we stepped into our friends' room the second last day we realized that wow! A/C does work well in Mexico! Although we brought it to the attention of the concierge it still wasn't fixed when we left.
Otherwise everything else was great. The food is not always the tastiest in the buffets but this is a huge resort and food is mass produced to serve many people. How else can they do it? It's what makes the ala Cartes special. There was something at the buffet for everyone's tastes every night, you just had to look for it. And because We knew our stomachs may be sensitive we stuck to what we knew which is important at all inclusives. We went into playa del Carmen twice and this helped to break up the buffet blahs.
The staff were great at the resort. They work very hard and are gracious to everyone even if they need to correct behaviour. These are diligent people most of whom are very respectful.
It was great to find a spot by the pool or the ocean everyday without having to worry about early riser "towel savers". Even though this still occurred there was still room at both spots for everyone to enjoy.
That being said- one piece of advice: if you order room service( which is actually quite good) be ware if you let the delivery person in your room. A few items of ours went missing after we spent the night in our room and having ordered food.
Other than that our first impression of Mexico was fantastic!
Thanks to the Grand Sirenis for making our trip wonderful!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.