We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the GS in Jan. This is our 5th all exclusive so we did have something to compare this resort to. I will split things into the good and not so good

Good
Ala carts - we tried the Japanese,steakhouse,Italian,Mediterranean
,Cajun
Pools -nod to the lazy river and quiet pools
Staff in restaurants,pools and transport
Rooms - large and well maintained. Although the first night while doing the bed bug check(there weren't any) A cockroach ran across the top of the bed. Some what freaked out but it is a tropical country and have seen plenty more in Hawaii! Note bath and shower area is open to room but toilet has its own enclosed room.


Not Good
Buffet -the worst we have had. Lots of recycling,no seafood other than small shrimp in one salad all week
Disco -bathrooms were dirty and staff unbelievably rude and arrogant- held a "drinking contest one night so they could all "win" and tie one on
Animal issues - lots of raccoons that are very aggressive due to the design of the hotel. Guests leave room service trays out in the open air corridors and the raccoons know this and come through every night making a huge mess
Beach- not the best we have experienced on the Mayan. Quite rocky and windy.

Room Tip: We found we could do walk ups to the ala carts if we were willing to eat early - before 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi KT324, I would like to thank you for your comments, as they always help us in improving our services to our guests.
I am glad that you enjoyed our variety in pools, and that generally staff at the hotel were up to the standard you expected.
However, I am surprised to read that you think that the buffet recicles the food, which is not the case. Actually, we follow a weekly meal plan, and we prepare all the food daily. This way, breakfast, lunch and dinner consist of a different combination of dishes every day.
Anyway, I thank you again for sending your feedback, customer comments are always welcome and appreciated. Best regards, Daniel – Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,518
    1,529
    629
    229
    176
See reviews for
1542
2315
64
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Am writing this whilst sitting sipping one of their fab cocktails. Was wary about comin here following all the negative comments onhere, but this hotel is fantastic the setting is breathtaking, the rooms are lovely, food is great...need I go on. Swam with turtles this morning right off the beach. Big thanks to the amazing staff who can, t do enough for you. Loved the whole hols. The only negative is the appalling bad manners of some of the other holiday makers but the hotel can.t help that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a mix of good and bad, this is no 5 star resort and we will not be going back.

The good, the pools and beach were awesome, beautiful and well kept. If you are going to try the snorkeling bring your own gear, the mask and snorkel they gave me were not cleaned from the previous user.

The food was alright, breakfast buffet had alot to offer but after 4 days it was bland, nothing special.

Lunch was great, dinners were ok, my steak at the steak restaurant was a joke 1/4 inch thick yup thats 5 star dining lol. The Brazilian was at best ok and we could not get into the Japanese restaurant.

We had a very special night planned, we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary on Valentine's so we met with the concierge and arranged for a baby sitter for our 2 kids. One of the concierges promised us that she personaly would be there at 7:45, she never showed up so at 8:00 we called the front desk. They could not find her and sent someone else. The concierge will also try to get you to go on some sort of time share selling scheme it went something like you get a $100 of a fourth restaurant I think the french if you sit through it, after we said no they called our room the next day and tried again.
The day before we left my wife went to the front desk and went over our departure times. At 5:30 am I awoke to the bell boy banging on our door waking up our two kids, he had the wrong time, it was supposed to be 11:30. Well the front desk must not have believed him so they called at 6:00 and woke the kids up again. Honestly, they have our flight schedule.

Well thats it, loved the beach and pools, food was ok, service for food and drinks was great. Service from the concierge and front desk was the worst we have encountered.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the pools and/or beach, the resort is huge, so there is a lot of walking if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi Wild_100, thank you for taking your time to share your feedback, I really appreciate it as it is a source for continuous improvement for us.
To make reference to the baby sitter, i am glad to know that we solved the issue, and you were able to enyoy your special night, nevertheless I apologize for the inconvenience this might have caused you.
Regarding to the wake up, I know that due to the great amount of pick up requests we handle, the hotel is always exposed to human mistakes and we are always in the best disposition to solve them immediately. This is why I want to offer you a sincere apology.
I thank you again for taking your time to review you vacation with us. Very best, Daniel – Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Where to start. Having never done All inclusive before maybe there are better places than this, but in terms of value for money and a greatr holiday, it was FANTASTIC! - please do not be put off by soem of the reviews on here,

Was it perfect? No. The negatives:

- bed linen is somewhat tired
- bedroom curtains are a little thin, meaning you are woken early by the sun every day
- the food at times is of average quality and on the buffet it isnt always piping hot
- there isnt a great deal to do on an evening after watch the sometimes average shows

The positives: a much longer list!

- the staff must come first. They are without exception, friendly, smiley, helpful and happy i0n their work. Yes, a little tipping is gratefully received but not necessary. a big mention to "Leydi" at the beach bar and "Antonio" at the theatre bar
- the rooms are very large and well equipped. who cares if the TV isnt flat screen? Is that why we go to Mexico?
- the bathrooms are very well equipped - not sure where the stories of 45 mins to fill the jacuzzi comes from
- the whole resort is very very well maintained
- the beach is fantastic - go to the left of the ruin and rocks in the sea are not a worry
- breakfast is fantastic
- the Japanese restaurant is good fun. The steak house and Brazilian are both good
- very handy for Akumal and Playa del Carmen by Collectivo form the end fo the drive.

Please, please, please do not worry if you are booked to go to the Grand Sirenis - it is fab

Room Tip: We were in 1344 - a bit of a walk but with all that food we were glad of the exercise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from our first trip to Mexico and it was at The Grand Sirenis. We were worried due to previous reviews but knew that we both were pretty easy going. Besides anything is better than - 25 in Saskatoon!
The accommodations were very nice with a beautiful ocean view. Only complaint was partially our fault- the a/c was not working and we thought perhaps this is how Mexico is. However when we stepped into our friends' room the second last day we realized that wow! A/C does work well in Mexico! Although we brought it to the attention of the concierge it still wasn't fixed when we left.
Otherwise everything else was great. The food is not always the tastiest in the buffets but this is a huge resort and food is mass produced to serve many people. How else can they do it? It's what makes the ala Cartes special. There was something at the buffet for everyone's tastes every night, you just had to look for it. And because We knew our stomachs may be sensitive we stuck to what we knew which is important at all inclusives. We went into playa del Carmen twice and this helped to break up the buffet blahs.
The staff were great at the resort. They work very hard and are gracious to everyone even if they need to correct behaviour. These are diligent people most of whom are very respectful.
It was great to find a spot by the pool or the ocean everyday without having to worry about early riser "towel savers". Even though this still occurred there was still room at both spots for everyone to enjoy.
That being said- one piece of advice: if you order room service( which is actually quite good) be ware if you let the delivery person in your room. A few items of ours went missing after we spent the night in our room and having ordered food.
Other than that our first impression of Mexico was fantastic!
Thanks to the Grand Sirenis for making our trip wonderful!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegreville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My family spent 7 wonderful days at this resort. This was our first family "sun and sand" trip and it definitely won't be our last. We were also able to meet up with relatives from Manitoba at the resort as well which was an added pleasure.

The trip began with us flying out of Saskatoon Airport on Air Transat to Cancun international. The Air Transat Crew were very nice and the 5 hour flight went pretty well. Our kids (ages 6 and 3)were very excited about the flight as it was their first flight and they were very amazed at the view out of the window during the flight.

Once we arrived in Cancun, the line up to go through security was amazingly long but it seemed to moved very smoothly. In the end, from the time we de-planed, to the time we boarded out shuttle was approximaately 1.5 hours which is long but with the number of people in the airport I felt this time period could have easil been double that.

To anyone who hasn't travelled to Cancun international airport (probably not many of you left), a little advice: after you get your baggage and are heading out to the area where the shuttle buses are located, you will be approached by many (and I mean many) locals who are more than willing to take your luggage and get you to your destination. Do not let them take your bags, no matter how convincing they are. I was informed that the agents who are to take you to your destination are not allowed in side the termial so these other agents trying to vie for your money are not to be used. Once we were outside the terminal (and the heat hit us) we found our travel agent rep and we were directed to the appropriate bus.

None of the comments made up to this point are in no way related to the Grand Sirenis Resort but just little comments on our experience prior to arriving to the resort.

The following are my comments on the resort itself;

The resort is an amazing design and beautifully groomed and clean. It is a very large resort which means a lot of walking but the paths are very lush and amazing to look at. It can be easy to get a little lost but you get your bearing very quickly. One thing my kids really enjoyed were the assortment of iguana's and other lizards that are all over the resort in plain site. The pools are very nice and a perfect depth for our kids (especially the pool near our room) and the swim up bar staff were very accommodating even when I ordered non-alcoholic beverages for our kids (they loved the Kids Cabana).

*Food*
The food is very good and there was many items to choose from. There were some items that looked fantastic but the taste was leaving us wanting more but the majority of the items were very good. Besides the main buffet on the second floor of the resort, there were many other "snack bar's" around the resort especially near all the pools. All of these snack shop have many meal items that do very well for us. We spent every morning outside the "El Rancho" by the pool which was very close to our room so everything was very convenient for us and the service by Juan was fantastic (our server every morning and did everything he could for us to make sure us and our relatives could be accommodated every morning - a total of 8 of us).

There are 3 a-la-carte dinners included in the all-inclusive price and we had many restaurants to choose from. We chose:

El Rancho - The steakhouse, The Bayou - the Cajun restaurant and The Ikebana - Japanese restaurnat - very good experiences with all three and would recommend them (especially the Japanese restaurant. All of these are located on the resort.

*Entertainment*
- the main beach is nice but be wary of the underwater rocky area about 15 feet from the shore line as it can make you lose your footing very easily
- side bay - there is a small by to the north of the main beach which is calmer and has more sand under the water for the kids (great for learning how to snorkel)
- Kids Club - there is one there but our kids did not use it as they were focused on the pools and beach
- Lazy River - this was a very cool attraction - they have a pool-like river that slowly lets you glide on a inflatable tube arond part of the resort. Very relaxing and the kids loved it
- Parasailing - i was able to do this on my day before our departure date and it was an amazing experience
- Evening shows - a different show every night which weren't bad but the pre-show seemed make-shift. A couple of nights there were flea-market vendors around the theatre site to which you can barter for Mexican merchandise which was fun.

*Staff*
None of the above items are possible with out the amazing staff who work at the resort. From the grounds keepers who maintian the beauty of the facilty to the Concierge's who are responsible for the comfort of the people who reside in their assigned buildings (Juan-Carlos and Castillo (cannot remember his full name)were fantastic for us). These people go out of their way to ensure you are not disappointed.

*Areas for Improvement*
- food in the buffets could be a little more flavorful
- pre-shows at the ampitheatre need to be a little less "make-shift". Always seemed to be kids kareoke.
- Costs of doing the tours were very expensive. I know that the resort doesnt control this but it seemed like all the tours were very pricey.
- I had problems sleeping on the bed in the room as it seemed a little hard but my family had no issues.


All in all, we really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely come back in the near future. Well done to the Grand Sirenis staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamsville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just got back from a trip at the Grand Sirenis, and we loved it. We were with two couples and it was just what we all needed. We didn't want to do any excursions but rather wanted to relax all week so we were happy that the resort was nice enough and had enough to do so we didn't have to leave the resort if any of us did want to do something.

The rooms were great - nice and big and clean and the maid always left towel art whether we remembered to tip or not. The buildings/architecture were beautiful and very clean feeling. We did not get the king sized bed we asked for, which was annoying, but that is just our luck. It seems like every place we have gone to has done that to us. We tried to switch but would have ended up in a room way at the back which would have been far too much walking so they pushed the two beds together and that was good enough for us.

Food was a very important factor going down here, and the food was okay. We managed to eat at 5 a la cartes (though we were only supposed to have 3). The Cajun, Steak House and Mediterranean were just okay. The Mexican was good. The Japanese was AWESOME and is a must-do. We really wanted to try the Italian and the Brazilian but couldn't seem to get into those. The buffet was alright too. All in all it was very edible, but to be honest we have had, and had hoped for, better food. We have been to Cuba a few times and it is miles better than that though, so we were happy enough! I should also mention that the snack bar near the beach had great burgers, nachos, fish and chips, etc. - we ate lunch there almost every day.

Drinks were for the most part good. At the bar in the theatre at night the drinks kind of seemed watery and tasted different than if you went to the lobby. Lobby drinks were usually very good. And the drinks served to us by the pool were usually good too. I don't know what people are talking about with regards to not being enough alcohol in them... there was plenty in mine!

The pools were nice. The big pools with activities were far too noisy for our liking so we stayed at the quiet pool (the U-shaped one). It was so gorgeous and feels like you have jungle all around you with the trees and rocks all around and the lizards coming out to sunbathe with us. There was so much beautiful wildlife! And it was close to the lazy river, which we enjoyed a few times as well.

Service was always good. Very friendly ladies bringing drinks beside the pool, very friendly bar-tenders and waiters in restaurants. Everyone was working very hard to help guests and everyone always greeted us with a smile.

We also went para-sailing right off the resort. It was very cool! Snorkeling just off the beach was the best we have seen for just being on a resort. Normally we have to make an excursion for that so that was a bonus. Plenty of fish and coral to see. We didn't see any turtles but have heard of lots of people seeing them.

All in all it was a fantastic trip. The only improvement I would make would be the food. Other than that, go and have a great time and don't let small things get to you and you will have an amazing time.

Room Tip: Buildings 10 and 11 are very close to the lobby, pool, and restaurants. We were on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.