We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sipping cocktails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“sipping cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Am writing this whilst sitting sipping one of their fab cocktails. Was wary about comin here following all the negative comments onhere, but this hotel is fantastic the setting is breathtaking, the rooms are lovely, food is great...need I go on. Swam with turtles this morning right off the beach. Big thanks to the amazing staff who can, t do enough for you. Loved the whole hols. The only negative is the appalling bad manners of some of the other holiday makers but the hotel can.t help that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,006
    2,592
    1,017
    363
    292
See reviews for
2,576
3,745
112
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,959)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a nice resort. The lazy river is great for kids. The food at the buffet is good and the beach food is quick and also good. There is a coffee house with fresh coffe and other goodies and icecream in three different areas. Shows were so-so. The beach is really great for all ages. Private and great for seeing fish and turtles. This resort is quite large and mirrors itself...confusing at first. We had two kids under 5 and they were pretty tired from all the walking. Very good resort, but thought the price was a little high for what was offered (overall package)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a mix of good and bad, this is no 5 star resort and we will not be going back.

The good, the pools and beach were awesome, beautiful and well kept. If you are going to try the snorkeling bring your own gear, the mask and snorkel they gave me were not cleaned from the previous user.

The food was alright, breakfast buffet had alot to offer but after 4 days it was bland, nothing special.

Lunch was great, dinners were ok, my steak at the steak restaurant was a joke 1/4 inch thick yup thats 5 star dining lol. The Brazilian was at best ok and we could not get into the Japanese restaurant.

We had a very special night planned, we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary on Valentine's so we met with the concierge and arranged for a baby sitter for our 2 kids. One of the concierges promised us that she personaly would be there at 7:45, she never showed up so at 8:00 we called the front desk. They could not find her and sent someone else. The concierge will also try to get you to go on some sort of time share selling scheme it went something like you get a $100 of a fourth restaurant I think the french if you sit through it, after we said no they called our room the next day and tried again.
The day before we left my wife went to the front desk and went over our departure times. At 5:30 am I awoke to the bell boy banging on our door waking up our two kids, he had the wrong time, it was supposed to be 11:30. Well the front desk must not have believed him so they called at 6:00 and woke the kids up again. Honestly, they have our flight schedule.

Well thats it, loved the beach and pools, food was ok, service for food and drinks was great. Service from the concierge and front desk was the worst we have encountered.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the pools and/or beach, the resort is huge, so there is a lot of walking if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi Wild_100, thank you for taking your time to share your feedback, I really appreciate it as it is a source for continuous improvement for us.
To make reference to the baby sitter, i am glad to know that we solved the issue, and you were able to enyoy your special night, nevertheless I apologize for the inconvenience this might have caused you.
Regarding to the wake up, I know that due to the great amount of pick up requests we handle, the hotel is always exposed to human mistakes and we are always in the best disposition to solve them immediately. This is why I want to offer you a sincere apology.
I thank you again for taking your time to review you vacation with us. Very best, Daniel – Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Where to start. Having never done All inclusive before maybe there are better places than this, but in terms of value for money and a greatr holiday, it was FANTASTIC! - please do not be put off by soem of the reviews on here,

Was it perfect? No. The negatives:

- bed linen is somewhat tired
- bedroom curtains are a little thin, meaning you are woken early by the sun every day
- the food at times is of average quality and on the buffet it isnt always piping hot
- there isnt a great deal to do on an evening after watch the sometimes average shows

The positives: a much longer list!

- the staff must come first. They are without exception, friendly, smiley, helpful and happy i0n their work. Yes, a little tipping is gratefully received but not necessary. a big mention to "Leydi" at the beach bar and "Antonio" at the theatre bar
- the rooms are very large and well equipped. who cares if the TV isnt flat screen? Is that why we go to Mexico?
- the bathrooms are very well equipped - not sure where the stories of 45 mins to fill the jacuzzi comes from
- the whole resort is very very well maintained
- the beach is fantastic - go to the left of the ruin and rocks in the sea are not a worry
- breakfast is fantastic
- the Japanese restaurant is good fun. The steak house and Brazilian are both good
- very handy for Akumal and Playa del Carmen by Collectivo form the end fo the drive.

Please, please, please do not worry if you are booked to go to the Grand Sirenis - it is fab

Room Tip: We were in 1344 - a bit of a walk but with all that food we were glad of the exercise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent an enjoyable week in the Grand Sirenis. In short the downsides: huge (I.e. It might be a very long walk from your room to the beach / restaurant, etc.). The concierge is more than useless, and most of the staff not high quality either (but that's the same in moat Caribbean all inclusive resorts, and not worse than in others). Finally, go sure that you plan well enough time at check-out day in case the people who help you carry your luggage run late. For all the rest the ressort is amazing. Huge, modern rooms with very generous bathrooms. Great food (e.g. T-Bones steak at the large buffet or hummer at the Italian buffet). A great beach where you might be able yo see turtles when snorkeling. A well-balanced animation program. And the nightclub is so far away from all rooms that it disturbs nobody. Definitely the best value for money place I've stayed in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from our first trip to Mexico and it was at The Grand Sirenis. We were worried due to previous reviews but knew that we both were pretty easy going. Besides anything is better than - 25 in Saskatoon!
The accommodations were very nice with a beautiful ocean view. Only complaint was partially our fault- the a/c was not working and we thought perhaps this is how Mexico is. However when we stepped into our friends' room the second last day we realized that wow! A/C does work well in Mexico! Although we brought it to the attention of the concierge it still wasn't fixed when we left.
Otherwise everything else was great. The food is not always the tastiest in the buffets but this is a huge resort and food is mass produced to serve many people. How else can they do it? It's what makes the ala Cartes special. There was something at the buffet for everyone's tastes every night, you just had to look for it. And because We knew our stomachs may be sensitive we stuck to what we knew which is important at all inclusives. We went into playa del Carmen twice and this helped to break up the buffet blahs.
The staff were great at the resort. They work very hard and are gracious to everyone even if they need to correct behaviour. These are diligent people most of whom are very respectful.
It was great to find a spot by the pool or the ocean everyday without having to worry about early riser "towel savers". Even though this still occurred there was still room at both spots for everyone to enjoy.
That being said- one piece of advice: if you order room service( which is actually quite good) be ware if you let the delivery person in your room. A few items of ours went missing after we spent the night in our room and having ordered food.
Other than that our first impression of Mexico was fantastic!
Thanks to the Grand Sirenis for making our trip wonderful!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegreville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My family spent 7 wonderful days at this resort. This was our first family "sun and sand" trip and it definitely won't be our last. We were also able to meet up with relatives from Manitoba at the resort as well which was an added pleasure.

The trip began with us flying out of Saskatoon Airport on Air Transat to Cancun international. The Air Transat Crew were very nice and the 5 hour flight went pretty well. Our kids (ages 6 and 3)were very excited about the flight as it was their first flight and they were very amazed at the view out of the window during the flight.

Once we arrived in Cancun, the line up to go through security was amazingly long but it seemed to moved very smoothly. In the end, from the time we de-planed, to the time we boarded out shuttle was approximaately 1.5 hours which is long but with the number of people in the airport I felt this time period could have easil been double that.

To anyone who hasn't travelled to Cancun international airport (probably not many of you left), a little advice: after you get your baggage and are heading out to the area where the shuttle buses are located, you will be approached by many (and I mean many) locals who are more than willing to take your luggage and get you to your destination. Do not let them take your bags, no matter how convincing they are. I was informed that the agents who are to take you to your destination are not allowed in side the termial so these other agents trying to vie for your money are not to be used. Once we were outside the terminal (and the heat hit us) we found our travel agent rep and we were directed to the appropriate bus.

None of the comments made up to this point are in no way related to the Grand Sirenis Resort but just little comments on our experience prior to arriving to the resort.

The following are my comments on the resort itself;

The resort is an amazing design and beautifully groomed and clean. It is a very large resort which means a lot of walking but the paths are very lush and amazing to look at. It can be easy to get a little lost but you get your bearing very quickly. One thing my kids really enjoyed were the assortment of iguana's and other lizards that are all over the resort in plain site. The pools are very nice and a perfect depth for our kids (especially the pool near our room) and the swim up bar staff were very accommodating even when I ordered non-alcoholic beverages for our kids (they loved the Kids Cabana).

*Food*
The food is very good and there was many items to choose from. There were some items that looked fantastic but the taste was leaving us wanting more but the majority of the items were very good. Besides the main buffet on the second floor of the resort, there were many other "snack bar's" around the resort especially near all the pools. All of these snack shop have many meal items that do very well for us. We spent every morning outside the "El Rancho" by the pool which was very close to our room so everything was very convenient for us and the service by Juan was fantastic (our server every morning and did everything he could for us to make sure us and our relatives could be accommodated every morning - a total of 8 of us).

There are 3 a-la-carte dinners included in the all-inclusive price and we had many restaurants to choose from. We chose:

El Rancho - The steakhouse, The Bayou - the Cajun restaurant and The Ikebana - Japanese restaurnat - very good experiences with all three and would recommend them (especially the Japanese restaurant. All of these are located on the resort.

*Entertainment*
- the main beach is nice but be wary of the underwater rocky area about 15 feet from the shore line as it can make you lose your footing very easily
- side bay - there is a small by to the north of the main beach which is calmer and has more sand under the water for the kids (great for learning how to snorkel)
- Kids Club - there is one there but our kids did not use it as they were focused on the pools and beach
- Lazy River - this was a very cool attraction - they have a pool-like river that slowly lets you glide on a inflatable tube arond part of the resort. Very relaxing and the kids loved it
- Parasailing - i was able to do this on my day before our departure date and it was an amazing experience
- Evening shows - a different show every night which weren't bad but the pre-show seemed make-shift. A couple of nights there were flea-market vendors around the theatre site to which you can barter for Mexican merchandise which was fun.

*Staff*
None of the above items are possible with out the amazing staff who work at the resort. From the grounds keepers who maintian the beauty of the facilty to the Concierge's who are responsible for the comfort of the people who reside in their assigned buildings (Juan-Carlos and Castillo (cannot remember his full name)were fantastic for us). These people go out of their way to ensure you are not disappointed.

*Areas for Improvement*
- food in the buffets could be a little more flavorful
- pre-shows at the ampitheatre need to be a little less "make-shift". Always seemed to be kids kareoke.
- Costs of doing the tours were very expensive. I know that the resort doesnt control this but it seemed like all the tours were very pricey.
- I had problems sleeping on the bed in the room as it seemed a little hard but my family had no issues.


All in all, we really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely come back in the near future. Well done to the Grand Sirenis staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.