We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NAndT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Akumal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NAndT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from our first trip to Mexico and it was at The Grand Sirenis. We were worried due to previous reviews but knew that we both were pretty easy going. Besides anything is better than - 25 in Saskatoon!
The accommodations were very nice with a beautiful ocean view. Only complaint was partially our fault- the a/c was not working and we thought perhaps this is how Mexico is. However when we stepped into our friends' room the second last day we realized that wow! A/C does work well in Mexico! Although we brought it to the attention of the concierge it still wasn't fixed when we left.
Otherwise everything else was great. The food is not always the tastiest in the buffets but this is a huge resort and food is mass produced to serve many people. How else can they do it? It's what makes the ala Cartes special. There was something at the buffet for everyone's tastes every night, you just had to look for it. And because We knew our stomachs may be sensitive we stuck to what we knew which is important at all inclusives. We went into playa del Carmen twice and this helped to break up the buffet blahs.
The staff were great at the resort. They work very hard and are gracious to everyone even if they need to correct behaviour. These are diligent people most of whom are very respectful.
It was great to find a spot by the pool or the ocean everyday without having to worry about early riser "towel savers". Even though this still occurred there was still room at both spots for everyone to enjoy.
That being said- one piece of advice: if you order room service( which is actually quite good) be ware if you let the delivery person in your room. A few items of ours went missing after we spent the night in our room and having ordered food.
Other than that our first impression of Mexico was fantastic!
Thanks to the Grand Sirenis for making our trip wonderful!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,950 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,460
    1,477
    615
    225
    173
See reviews for
1502
2264
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vegreville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My family spent 7 wonderful days at this resort. This was our first family "sun and sand" trip and it definitely won't be our last. We were also able to meet up with relatives from Manitoba at the resort as well which was an added pleasure.

The trip began with us flying out of Saskatoon Airport on Air Transat to Cancun international. The Air Transat Crew were very nice and the 5 hour flight went pretty well. Our kids (ages 6 and 3)were very excited about the flight as it was their first flight and they were very amazed at the view out of the window during the flight.

Once we arrived in Cancun, the line up to go through security was amazingly long but it seemed to moved very smoothly. In the end, from the time we de-planed, to the time we boarded out shuttle was approximaately 1.5 hours which is long but with the number of people in the airport I felt this time period could have easil been double that.

To anyone who hasn't travelled to Cancun international airport (probably not many of you left), a little advice: after you get your baggage and are heading out to the area where the shuttle buses are located, you will be approached by many (and I mean many) locals who are more than willing to take your luggage and get you to your destination. Do not let them take your bags, no matter how convincing they are. I was informed that the agents who are to take you to your destination are not allowed in side the termial so these other agents trying to vie for your money are not to be used. Once we were outside the terminal (and the heat hit us) we found our travel agent rep and we were directed to the appropriate bus.

None of the comments made up to this point are in no way related to the Grand Sirenis Resort but just little comments on our experience prior to arriving to the resort.

The following are my comments on the resort itself;

The resort is an amazing design and beautifully groomed and clean. It is a very large resort which means a lot of walking but the paths are very lush and amazing to look at. It can be easy to get a little lost but you get your bearing very quickly. One thing my kids really enjoyed were the assortment of iguana's and other lizards that are all over the resort in plain site. The pools are very nice and a perfect depth for our kids (especially the pool near our room) and the swim up bar staff were very accommodating even when I ordered non-alcoholic beverages for our kids (they loved the Kids Cabana).

*Food*
The food is very good and there was many items to choose from. There were some items that looked fantastic but the taste was leaving us wanting more but the majority of the items were very good. Besides the main buffet on the second floor of the resort, there were many other "snack bar's" around the resort especially near all the pools. All of these snack shop have many meal items that do very well for us. We spent every morning outside the "El Rancho" by the pool which was very close to our room so everything was very convenient for us and the service by Juan was fantastic (our server every morning and did everything he could for us to make sure us and our relatives could be accommodated every morning - a total of 8 of us).

There are 3 a-la-carte dinners included in the all-inclusive price and we had many restaurants to choose from. We chose:

El Rancho - The steakhouse, The Bayou - the Cajun restaurant and The Ikebana - Japanese restaurnat - very good experiences with all three and would recommend them (especially the Japanese restaurant. All of these are located on the resort.

*Entertainment*
- the main beach is nice but be wary of the underwater rocky area about 15 feet from the shore line as it can make you lose your footing very easily
- side bay - there is a small by to the north of the main beach which is calmer and has more sand under the water for the kids (great for learning how to snorkel)
- Kids Club - there is one there but our kids did not use it as they were focused on the pools and beach
- Lazy River - this was a very cool attraction - they have a pool-like river that slowly lets you glide on a inflatable tube arond part of the resort. Very relaxing and the kids loved it
- Parasailing - i was able to do this on my day before our departure date and it was an amazing experience
- Evening shows - a different show every night which weren't bad but the pre-show seemed make-shift. A couple of nights there were flea-market vendors around the theatre site to which you can barter for Mexican merchandise which was fun.

*Staff*
None of the above items are possible with out the amazing staff who work at the resort. From the grounds keepers who maintian the beauty of the facilty to the Concierge's who are responsible for the comfort of the people who reside in their assigned buildings (Juan-Carlos and Castillo (cannot remember his full name)were fantastic for us). These people go out of their way to ensure you are not disappointed.

*Areas for Improvement*
- food in the buffets could be a little more flavorful
- pre-shows at the ampitheatre need to be a little less "make-shift". Always seemed to be kids kareoke.
- Costs of doing the tours were very expensive. I know that the resort doesnt control this but it seemed like all the tours were very pricey.
- I had problems sleeping on the bed in the room as it seemed a little hard but my family had no issues.


All in all, we really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely come back in the near future. Well done to the Grand Sirenis staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamsville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just got back from a trip at the Grand Sirenis, and we loved it. We were with two couples and it was just what we all needed. We didn't want to do any excursions but rather wanted to relax all week so we were happy that the resort was nice enough and had enough to do so we didn't have to leave the resort if any of us did want to do something.

The rooms were great - nice and big and clean and the maid always left towel art whether we remembered to tip or not. The buildings/architecture were beautiful and very clean feeling. We did not get the king sized bed we asked for, which was annoying, but that is just our luck. It seems like every place we have gone to has done that to us. We tried to switch but would have ended up in a room way at the back which would have been far too much walking so they pushed the two beds together and that was good enough for us.

Food was a very important factor going down here, and the food was okay. We managed to eat at 5 a la cartes (though we were only supposed to have 3). The Cajun, Steak House and Mediterranean were just okay. The Mexican was good. The Japanese was AWESOME and is a must-do. We really wanted to try the Italian and the Brazilian but couldn't seem to get into those. The buffet was alright too. All in all it was very edible, but to be honest we have had, and had hoped for, better food. We have been to Cuba a few times and it is miles better than that though, so we were happy enough! I should also mention that the snack bar near the beach had great burgers, nachos, fish and chips, etc. - we ate lunch there almost every day.

Drinks were for the most part good. At the bar in the theatre at night the drinks kind of seemed watery and tasted different than if you went to the lobby. Lobby drinks were usually very good. And the drinks served to us by the pool were usually good too. I don't know what people are talking about with regards to not being enough alcohol in them... there was plenty in mine!

The pools were nice. The big pools with activities were far too noisy for our liking so we stayed at the quiet pool (the U-shaped one). It was so gorgeous and feels like you have jungle all around you with the trees and rocks all around and the lizards coming out to sunbathe with us. There was so much beautiful wildlife! And it was close to the lazy river, which we enjoyed a few times as well.

Service was always good. Very friendly ladies bringing drinks beside the pool, very friendly bar-tenders and waiters in restaurants. Everyone was working very hard to help guests and everyone always greeted us with a smile.

We also went para-sailing right off the resort. It was very cool! Snorkeling just off the beach was the best we have seen for just being on a resort. Normally we have to make an excursion for that so that was a bonus. Plenty of fish and coral to see. We didn't see any turtles but have heard of lots of people seeing them.

All in all it was a fantastic trip. The only improvement I would make would be the food. Other than that, go and have a great time and don't let small things get to you and you will have an amazing time.

Room Tip: Buildings 10 and 11 are very close to the lobby, pool, and restaurants. We were on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The review is an honest view of a 2 week stay at this hotel, its been my second time at this hotel after a stay in sept 2010.
The hotel does not live upto its 5 star rating, more like 3 star, 4 of us stayed at the hotel this time and the time before.
Firstly the food give us all at different times poorly tummies, you can see in resturant how the food is stored at room temperature and cooking utensils are crossed to other food, hot and cold.
The bed linnen sometimes was marked along with some towels that had not to be used as they were not cleaned properly. The other couple staying did not get their room cleaned every day, and the fridge was not re-stocked.
Some areas have been cost cut from our stay in 2010..no refreshments on arrival and the safe was very expensive.
The hotel needs to try harder!

Room Tip: end room, 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We left this resort on Feb 9th 2013 and at the time the check out guy said dont worry the bell boy has all your luggage and will take care of it all. Only to find out that when we got to Toronto one bag ( all the wife's stuff ) was still at the resort. We booked this vacation through westjet vacations and they said that the Hotel wont return there emails sent regarding the lost luggage. We had a lot of sentimental thinks in the suitcase including all the pic that were taken on the trip including pic from our tours not including the wife's things. Im hoping someone from this hotel reads this and sends me a response on the luggage and how we can get it back. Right now we are not to happy!
my email cuza5@hotmail.com
Keith Cuza

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very nice resort in a beautiful setting.Room was nice but location was bad.We wondered why we got stuck on the bottom floor of the building farthest from everything?Asked to be moved but virtually ignored us.Room was clean, nice bathtub (but it would have taken hours to fill at that rate, so I passed) Disturbing noise coming from room above...on third night i decided to call the front desk.....PHONE WAS DEAD ALL NIGHT!! Scary....what if? Buffet was OK once you learn how to work it! Not a place to try new foods......really bland....Breakfast can be good-fresh fruit, yoghurt,toast....only choose fresh made egg dishes! Lunch is also do-able. Most dinners were bad...it's the little things.Why offer beautiful big fresh prawns and then serve them with watery garlic margarine?? And nice fresh salads with very watered down salad dressings??? WHY? So dissapointing.Tried 3 of the other resaurants. Japanese was the best.Cajun food was very good but we were sold a $20 bottle of wine that was definitley refilled with home made!! Seriousley!....tasted terrible and full of floaties in the bottom (yes we finished it with difficulty) Maitre d just said "I told you you should get the $45 bottle".Meditereanan was UN-EDIBLE! Lamb kabob was GOAT! Seafood was so overcooked in the paella and rice was cooked in tomatoe juice at best...NO FLAVOUR! Sent both meals back and went to the Buffet.
Having said all this........it is a nice resort, great for small children,nice beach,and it would be so simple to tweek the food and get a rave review!! I hate winers and this is the first time I have EVER felt i had to give a poor review :(

Room Tip: I would love to know why some people get great rooms and others don't?? Luck of the draw? Woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi UmptinSlunEye, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I really appreciate it as it is our best source of information in order to improve our services. To make reference to the bottle purchased in the Cajun restaurant, I am very sorry to read that you were not able to enjoy it, but be assured that none of the a la carte wine is refilled with house wine, as you know we open the bottle in presence of the guest.
Regarding the buffet, I’m really sad to hear that you were not able to enjoy the food, normally we get very good comments about that and specially at the a la carte restaurants; even though I will personally communicate your feedback to our executive chef, so that any necessary improvements can be made. Thank you Daniel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

It was a great time when the family and I went here for an all-inclusive trip. The beach was clean and it was delightful.

The staff was super-friendly and their souvenirs were awesome.

The fact that they had a tequila store was cool too. WITH SAMPLERS!

The rooms were adequate and if you wanted, the pool with a lazy river can provide relaxation that somehow, the beach can't provide for you.

The servers keep on coming with your favorite drink and it was a fun time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.