We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Beach; Watch for Timeshare Pitches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delightful Beach; Watch for Timeshare Pitches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

It was a great time when the family and I went here for an all-inclusive trip. The beach was clean and it was delightful.

The staff was super-friendly and their souvenirs were awesome.

The fact that they had a tequila store was cool too. WITH SAMPLERS!

The rooms were adequate and if you wanted, the pool with a lazy river can provide relaxation that somehow, the beach can't provide for you.

The servers keep on coming with your favorite drink and it was a fun time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,115
    2,678
    1,058
    376
    293
See reviews for
2,674
3,832
114
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,038)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worthing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

After a long day of travelling, what a welcome sight this hotel was!!! Our rooms were huge, the double jaccuzzi bath, shower and loo were spotless. The "single" beds were like our double beds, and our friends had a "double" bed, which was more like a super king size!!! The mini bar and coffee was topped up every day and was free. Towels were plentiful, dressing gowns and slippers provided too. The reception lobby is huge, as is the whole area the hotel stands on.
There were several buffet restaurants during the day, with just about every type of food available, to cater for everyone's tastes.The staff were so friendly,bringing drinks to our table or topping up our glass of cold water. In the evening, there was a theme night in the main buffet restaurant most nights.There are also several a la carte restaurants, including Japanese, Italian, Brazilian to name a few!!!!! It was like going out for dinner but not having to pay!!!! There was an ice cream bar, with loads of different flavours to sample and a coffee bar, with different liqueurs to add if you want, again, all free!!!!!!
The pools were huge, with one classed as a "quiet" pool, to relax by, if you don't like music and entertainment. The swim up pool bar was a great place to meet people, and have a chat while cooling down and sampling the free cocktails!! And if you don't want to go in the water, there are staff that take your orders and bring whatever you want to your sun bed.
The entertainment team worked really hard and put on a show every night, first for the children, then the adults.
The beach was a picture, and there were always plenty of sun beds (free) with a buffet and bar service. The grounds are beautiful, and lots of walk ways through wooded areas too. Colourful birds, Raccoons and Iguanas all add to the scenery.
I could go on and on, but it's best you go yourselves and see. Anyone who complains about this place must spend their holiday looking for bad points, and can't enjoy their holiday!!!!! It's definitely the best, most relaxing holiday I've ever had.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have been 5 times to the hotel and love it all the staff are lovely we have had such great memories there.
food is wonderful even for fussy eaters and good for vegetarians
3 pools are great and the lazy river is amazing
akumal and xphuha beaches are fabulous beaches
playa del carmen is a great place to shop also down the road (just past the tennis court (ask bellboys for directions )) is a small shop run by a man called Phillipe and his family. they have great deals and lovely gifts. also there is bike rides at 10am and tennis also a great ceramics place to make some lovely gifts every Tuesday and Saturday at the shows there is a market. every evening there is a mini disco and a show during the day round the pool there is fun games that get everyone in a minute also there is a kids pool at the kids club by the beach

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just got back this morning after a week at the Grand Serenis and we thought the place was fantastic and huge (even the reception lobby was a big as an airport lounge)..modern/ very clean and some excellent food and top quality drinks with entertainment we never had the oppurtunity to use the spa but i believe it s fantastic. your allowed three visits a week to the 6/7 ala carte restuarants please try the japanese i thought it the best (book early as its very busy)...i want to go back asap to this resort and restuarant

Room Tip: try to get a top floor near the swimming pool all the even numbered rooms face towards the complex t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We returned to the Grand Sirenis for the second time after 2 yrs in January 2013 for my 60th birthday.
I think things have gone down hill at the Grand Sirenis since we last came, and I now would now rate this hotel 3 star not 5.
The most serious problem is the food hygiene (or lack of it) my son, wife and myself all were ill at times during our stay and it wasn't just us, as when we talked to a lot of the other guest they had been ill also and if you look at some of the other reviews on Tripadvisor you will see this.
I think the problems range from mixing meats, leaving meat/fish out on display too long instead of using refrigeration, not cooking food long enough, one day my wife selected a bagel with fresh salmon and cream cheese on it and the bottom of the bagel was warm!.
More minor niggles were having to pay 600 pesos for a safe (it was free last time) and the room service which was a bit intermittent, i.e. drinks and coffees not restocked, and not changing/cleaning the room at all one day.
I mentioned to the concierge about the missing coffees and these were brought to the room by a not happy maid.
A day or two later in the afternoon I found a very large cockroach on the floor in our room, both doors were closed and our room was on the 3rd floor so don't know how it got there?
Another afternoon when we returned to our room and i was unlocking the door I looked to my left and could see through a gap in the maintenance door which was slightly ajar there was a young guy in the wall gap which is behind our toilet, shower and bathroom, he had the white uniform of a cleaner on so don't know if he was a peeping tom (see other reviews) or if he was just skiving off, these maintenance corridors should be locked when not in use by maintenance staff but I saw very many of them open every day as we walked through the hotel corridors.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi bsmithuk1, as for the food quality it is very sad to hear that you think the hotel is not listed under the health and hygiene standards, it is important to know that we are certified with the Kristal award and have spent all performed health checks from travel agents positively. However, we are very sorry that we could not reach your expectations and that you have not had the vacations that you were expecting, which is why I give a sincere apology. It is important to know that this can not be a case of food poisoning; I have double-checked with the doctor and travel agent representatives to see if there were other reports of food poisoning, noting that there were no more than 5 reports of other guests with the same symptoms in the month of January. We would like to mention that in January we had more than 8.000 thousand guest. Here in the hotel, we prepare food for many people and it is done in the same place with the same products at the same time, so if there was any food poisoning all the food would be bad and all guests would be sick. I do not know if you went on a tour or ate something outside the resort.
Also we would like to take this opportunity to respond to your comment of someone looking through a peep hole. After being notified of the discovery of the hole in the shower the past December, we conducted an immediate and thorough inspection of every single room in the resort, and repaired the wall sealing in that particular unit. We can confirm that this problem has been taken care of and it will never be repeated. We have also incorporated more robust measures in our daily room inspections, and implemented closer supervision of our maintenance personnel to ensure this is an isolated incident. Rest assured, our first priority has been, and always will be, the safety, security and satisfaction of each and every guest. Daniel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned for 7 days at the grand Sirenis and it was amazing holiday !

The staff were excellent, food great- we booked into the Mediterranean a la carte, Italian and steak house they were also great.

We enjoyed lunch at beach bar, pool bar and main restaurant as well as ordering free room service.

You get a free pass to the spa which was fab !

Thomas cook rep Hayley was brill too !

Overall we would go back tomorrow, the only fault we could find was the resort shuttle services were not regular and reliable- could b improved.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Grand Sirenis is a fantastic resort! We arrived a day before the big blizzard in New England last week and couldn't have timed it better. We were greeted at the concierge with wine and were starved from our long days travel. Our concierge told us not to worry, our bags would be safe while we ate and they were! There is a lot of food at all meals and an enormous variety. We found the fresh fruits to be delicious. They truly have a huge selection of everything and by the way, neither of us got sick as some have said. I think it might be a stretch. Our bags were fine, they were taken to our building while we ate and brought right in to our lovely, superbly clean, junior suite. We were close to whatever we needed: pool, beach, lazy river, you-name-it. Every single staff person we came in contact with was terrific. We had cold beer and complimentary tequila waiting for us in our room when we first arrived with fresh fruit, bathrobes, and even slippers. The beach is beautiful complete with a Myan ruin. The snorkelingbig is awesome. Our last day the chef prepared a feast on the beach that was incredible. Huge shrimp, mussles, clams,basically a bouillabaisse made in front of us on the beach while a fabulous musical group played everything from Santana to Bob Marley. It was a blast. All I can say is give this place a chance, you will not be disappointed. They do whatever they can to keep you happy and happy we were. It was hard to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.