We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort makes for a brilliant vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic resort makes for a brilliant vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Overall, we were all exceptionally pleased with the Grand Sirenis. Resort was beautiful and very well maintained, rooms spacious (important for a family of five), staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, food was great and beach wonderful (photos on the site don't do the beach justice), nice sand, plenty of chairs/umbrellas for all and good snorkeling right off the beach (don't forget the water shoes though). For an accurate review of the resort in detail, check out "jtm111" review...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,251
    2,771
    1,097
    382
    298
See reviews for
2,752
3,962
117
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Food was pretty good I thought, only a few people in our group of 40 got sick from it over the course of the week! They will not tell you when you check in but the beach towel you have on your bed needs to be returned for a towel card or you will face a $45 charge. We left ours by the pool thinking we could just pick one up later on no problem however we had to take one when they weren't looking or pay around $90 for two towels probaly worth less then $10. Also key cards cost $5 each if you lose one and if they stop working you have to go all the way to the front desk. This wouldn't be so bad if it didn't involve getting lied to and then making the 5 minute walk. They claimed they could not bring one to us due to security reasons! I then headed over with my ID and upon getting to the reception had my swipe card rescanned with only a question of "what room were you in?" Nice to know I didnt need any personal info and could have stayed in any room. Otherwise pretty good food, great snorkeling and ground conditions as well as the pools!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Bartsy77, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. To make reference to the towel cards, it is standard procedure in the check in to inform about the use of the towel cards, even so we make sure that the information is written on the card it self.
To make reference of the room key problems, I would like to offer a sincere apology for that. Unfortunately we are always exposed to have technical problems. Let me say that the procedure of coming back to the front desk in order to get new keys was made for your own security, so that no one can get keys to enter a room except the owner of that room. When they rescan the key it shows automatically the room number, that is why we ask guests to come to the front desk with the original deactivated key. Hope you understand Daniel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Food excellent, So much choice.The 5 a la carte restaurants had fantastic service. The 3 pools and lazy river were spotless. Room included ensuite with jacuzzi bath, shower etc. 5 star service all the way. Would definitely return and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from our third stay at the GS. We were very impressed with the capital improvements that were made in just one year. They replaced the old wooden bridge with a beautiful interlocking brick bridge. We are walkers and walked the roads behind all the buildings. Last year the scenery wasn't up to their standard. Alot of debris and bad lanscaping. This year everything was clean and fully landscaped with beautiful shrubery and flowers. More "walkers" were seen every morning. We were in Bldg. 28 on the third floor. Beautiful view over the trees to see the water. Sunrises were breathtaking. Room great. Food good variety. Returning people may think the food is the same old same old. Our opinion is that they give the visitors what they want. They try different things and if the people don't like it they try something else. Can't please everyone. Our consierges were great as usual. We joined Serenis Premier Travelers last year (no it's not a timeshare) and met alot of others. It was a pleasant surprise to see them again this year. Met new people too. Great time together This could turn into an annual event Had our first massage. It won't be the last....The only thing that we feel that should be addressed is the confusion about the private Serenis Premier Traveler sections at the pool and beach. These places are specifically for the Premier Travelers and they are posted. There are cabana beds there along with upgraded lounges. However, there are also beds around other pools for everyone to use and because of this, non SPT vacationers come and use the private SPT area taking away the use of the amenity for those SPT's . A suggestion would be to remove the beds from the other pools to stop the confusion or have someone from the SPT staff "patrol" the areas more to explain the difference to those that feel that they can use the private SPT area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We, my family of 3, just got back from our stay at the Grand Sirenis on Feb. 3, 2013.

First, I would like to thank Apple Vacations for making everything so smooth and easy for our vacation. “Great Transfers to and from the Airport” Next, I would like to give a special thanks to some very good people at the Grand Sirenis: Freddie the performer, Ever our bellman, Rogerio our waiter, Daniela our concierge , and Johnny at the spa.

The Resort was beautiful and very large. There were no direct paths to anywhere, so there was “a lot” of walking through “mazes” of paths. It took me a while to figure out what paths to take to get where I wanted to go. All of the floors were beautiful, shiny marble, but were very, very slippery. The food was good, but I wouldn't say outstanding. The pools were beautiful but the water was too cold to swim in. The beach was beautiful. The drinks were good, but not very strong. The rooms were gorgeous, but I don’t understand the window between the bathroom and living area. The Spa was fantastic, but pricey. I loved the Water Therapy.

I loved the vendors who came out on Saturday night. I really loved all of the wildlife. The lazy river was fantastic.

Would I return to the Grand Sirenis? No.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This resort is good, but not a 5 star. It maybe was when it was new but now the furniture is getting old and tired and looking well used.
First, let me say that the Mayan Beach and the Riviera Maya are only different in where the accomodations are located. They share all of the common areas, amenities and restaraunts. So--whatever you read about one, applies to the other.
The food is good--especially in the ala carte restaraunts. We liked the Cajun, Brazilian and Steakhouse--in that order. Service is very good in all of these.
The two buffet restaraunts are from the same kitchen and there is a tremendouse variety of food for every meal. If you can't find what pleases you, you're not even trying.
Drinks are plentiful--as much as you want. Many have the fancy drinks wherever the bar is, but I opted for Cervesaz, which is Corona on tap. Good beer. The house wine served in the restaraunts are ok to good. You can order name brands from the ala cartes for extra $$.
The pools are well taken care of and are sparkling clear all of the time. The staff are allways cleaning them. There are three main beaches--see youtube for what they look like. They are clean and sandy. If you stay on the main beaches you're in sand. If you go elsewhere, you're on rocks, limestone and lava. Wear water shoes for that. Snorkeling is good right at the resort. Not a lot of coral, but many fish of all descriptions. I came across a 3ft. Barracuda while I was out--made me a little nervous. I used my own gear which I would recommend.
The entertainment was good--better than the average resort show. They have a large stage area for this and the show starts at 930pm. There are also a couple of lounge areas close to the main theatre.
The staff at this resort are first class. They're very eager to please, but don't gush all over you and want to be your buddy. The only exception was the buffet breakfast. Many of those guys weren't eager to be there and it showed.
Each accomodation building had it's own concierges and they were very helpful. If you need a ride, they'll call a golf cart for you or you can take one of the shuttles that are going around the resort. The resort is very large and if you have trouble walking, you'll need these.
The biggest complaint of this place was the window between the bathroom and the other part of the suite. It's quite large and in some suites there is just a hole. Makes for privacy issues. Our room had a large frosted glass in this hole except for about an inch around the perimeter so there was no issue. Make sure you get a room with the frosted glass if you can.
AC in the rooms was very quiet and as cool as we wanted it.
Overall, I'd recommend this resort, but again, don't expect a 5 star.

Room Tip: remember the glass in the window hole in the room. Don't expect an ocean view--they save those f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Great modern hotel... its huge! Long bus ride so be prepared. Beers and water are offered for a cost too... better than nothing!
Great staff check in, even though our room wasnt ready we placed bathing suits in the carry on so we were fine till it was.
Room was great when we did check in. It was our anniversary so we got a few freebies. Great view of the pool from the third floor. Lots of pop and water in the room.
We didn't have problems finding chairs by the pool. We went between 7 & 9a. You may have problems after 10a though.
The beds were hard but we still slept ok. We asked for a room away from stairs or elevators so that helped. And we always bring earplugs on vacation.
The lazy river was nice to have, as was the ice cream shoppe. It was great having the snack bar right by the pool.
One day the bathroom was in very poor shape. I even tried to tell the staff, but unfortunately there was a communication barrier. It was clean later though.
The coffee shop is fantastic!! The Spanish coffee is amazing!
The rest of our group arrived 3 days later for the wedding. I personally got married at a resort, so comparing the two came naturally.
There are lots of wedding options but unfortunately if you want any of them you have to pay. The wedding coordinator, Elizabeth was great though.
Almost 10 of us ended up going to Coco Bongo's and it was great! I would recommend it to anyone who likes clubs. We even got a private area instead of the floor because we paid for a vip package. This vip package is the only package they offer at the resort, so if you decide to go, you won't be disappointed. Franchesco and Ernesto were awesome bringing us drinks even before we asked, and about an hour before our bus was to pick us up, they started bringing us water and cleaning up the area. I definitely recommend to any younger groups!! Remember to get a $5 shot. The girls are hot and its worth it. If you don't feel like dancing, sit and watch the show. Its about 3 hours long!!
My husband lost his towel at the pool and the towel desk was happy to just give him a replacement no questions asked.
The beach was small for the resort size, but it was completely private. No one bugged you to buy anything while you sat, and there were no other resorts on the same beach.
The disco, gym and spa were far to walk to, but if you waited they had designated golf carts out to the area.
The spa was very pricey, but people in our group who spent the cash said it was worth it. I was planning an updo for our friends wedding and it was going to cost $120. I also remember looking at the prices and the water areas cost $45.
There was lots of foods to choose from at the main buffet. We ended up going to the steakhouse, the meditrainian and the mexican. We would recommend all 3 but others from our group didn't like the food so much at the steakhouse.
Its unforunate but the french or gourmet restaurant is at a cost. I would think that if you are paying for an all inclusive, it should be all inclusive.
There is a fake concierge desk in the main lobby. My understanding is that this desk is only for timeshare deals. After booking our a la cartes with the concierge in our building (2900's), we received 2 calls from the fake concierge, asking us to book our a la cartes... since we hadnt yet. Tricky!! They should really label that desk something else. Every building has a concierge desk. Book your a la cartes through them directly and as soon as you get there for best choices.
The welcoming tour is useful if youve never been to an all inclusive, are a bit worried about anything on the resort, or if you want to take an excursion. However if youve already been to one, this meeting is the same as the rest. All you need to leave the resort is the checkout slip from the front desk. You don't need anything from Air Transat or from the meeting.
Room service is at charge after 11p, and the better menu is at charge. Wifi is at charge too.
The peep hole incident came out the week we were there. We checked our maintenance room and bathroom right away. Staff were untold about the incident, and it was not mentioned while we were there. Since we checked our room, we didn't have a problem with it.
Fyi, it takes about 30 minutes to fill the tub for 2 people to sit in it.
Get to know Christian and Miguel at the pool (the entertainment staff)! They are both so nice, funny and honest. :-) Saret was our waiter while we sat in our lounge chairs around the pool. She is amazing and took care of our whole group very well. If you see her, try to sit in her section!!
The shows at night were horrible. Great for kids, but don't waste your time.
One last tip, they don't have umbrellas for you to use so bring one with you!
Safe travelling and have fun!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandmayanbeach, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi The_Wife_101, thank you for let us know about your experience in the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort and Spa, it is good to read that you have a good vacation with us and you enjoy our amanities. Regarding the French Restaurant, as you know, we offer seven all inclusive restaurants, and the reason why we decided to have the gourmet restaurant with an extra charge was to give the oportunity to our guest to have a private dinner in a restauran with no more that 10 people per sitting.
To make reference to the peep hole, we would like to take this opportunity to respond to the recent guest experience you mentioned. After being notified of the discovery of the hole in the shower, we conducted an immediate and thorough inspection of every single room in the resort, and repaired the wall sealing in that particular unit. We can confirm that this problem has been taken care of and it will never be repeated. We have also incorporated more robust measures in our daily room inspections, and implemented closer supervision of our maintenance personnel to ensure this is an isolated incident. Rest assured, our first priority has been, and always will be, the safety, security and satisfaction of each and every guest. Hope to see you soon. Daniel - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.